Joshua & Isabella

  • EUA & Austrália
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Medalhas (4)

Super Workawayer
Explorer
Facebook verified

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Nós estamos

    em casa

  • Descrição

    Josh is from Arizona and Bella hails from Adelaide. We spent 2021 living in our car on a work/holiday trip around WA and the NT. Before this we spent 2 years living in Utrecht, the Netherlands, where Bella studied sustainable development, and Josh worked at a restaurant. We both align with the philosophies of slow food, permaculture, and regenerative farming, and are very eager to begin putting our passions into practical use!

  • Interesses

    Montanhas
    Praia
    Naturaleza
    Camping
    Mochilão
    Fitness
    Yoga/bem-estar
    Ciclismo
    Atividades ao ar livre
    Caminhada
    Vida na estrada
    Trabalho beneficente
    Fazenda
    Jardinagem
    Sustentabilidade
    Animais
    Desenho e pintura
    Escrever
    Livros
    Música

    mostrar mais
  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Temos interesse em:  

    Vida na fazenda

    Conhecimento de:  

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Fazer companhia para idosos
    Projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Idiomas
    Ensino

    Podemos ensinar:  

    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Trabalho beneficente
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    Over the past few years we’ve gained experience with agricultural work. We volunteered on an organic urban market garden in Melbourne in 2020, and have learnt skills in no-till, regenerative farming.

    We have also spent time working on larger farms, where we drove front-loader tractors to move hay bales, and did harvest work picking oranges and grapes in Mildura and Margaret River respectively.

    Our interest in food security and leading a sustainable life style has pushed us to learn a variety of skills in food preparation, for instance preserving fruits, making jam, pickling, and making a variety of doughs for breads, tortillas, and even croissants! We've also made our own planter boxes using reclaimed wood, and gotten our hands dirty by starting a compost bin.
    .

    Joshua:
    I grew up on a large property in the south of Arizona, right on the border to Mexico. There my mother, a recent German expat, showed me the joys and excitement of a self sustaining lifestyle. We planted a big garden, raised different pets, a pig and a goose, as well as peacocks and lots and lots of dogs and cats. In my time as an adult I've had the chance to volunteer and work in many different fields that have all taught me new and exciting skills.

    I'm able to do lots of painting of walls and ceilings, having just finished a painting gig in Northern Arizona. I've done some construction work, including gyp rock installation and in-home remodelling, while I wouldn't call myself proficient in these, given the right tools and a point in the right direction I am a competent worker.
    I've also volunteered on an alpaca farm for a while, so some livestock skills are right up my alley. I have fun doing just about anything, but I'm also a very hard worker who enjoys getting dirty and working up a sweat.


    Bella:
    I am a recent graduate student from Utrecht University, where I completed a master's degree in Sustainable Development, with a focus on international development and food security. During this time I conducted 3 months of field work in rural central Mozambique, where I learnt about the way small scale farmers access and use family-run farm plots. This was a very hands-on experience, that involved me forming strong relationships with seven farmers and their families. These amazing farmers taught me a number of skills including cooking on coals, and planting/harvesting horticultural products with the use of minimal inputs and no mechanised equipment (using mostly hoes and bucket irrigation).
    I also have experience in construction, as I completed an internship at the Earthship Academy in New Mexico, which utilised a hands-on practical approach to learning.

  • Idade

    31 & 28

  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias

    • Dietas especiais

Comentário



Amigos

Fotos

Comentário