John

  • EUA
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Medalhas (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Eu estou

    viajando

    Atividades em que tenho interesse:

    Hiking
    Swimming
    Museums
    Gardening
    Farming

  • Descrição

    I’m a "recent" graduate from New York University. After a couple years in Manhattan I was ready to get back into nature and for a change of pace. I first went to to the Big Island of Hawaii to work in agriculture and play in the sea. Now I am in the mountains of the South Island of New Zealand working as a ski instructor. I'm always looking for a new adventure and far corners of the world to explore. My fondest memories are of working at summer camp out in the woods of Wisconsin and living out on a ranch in the mountains in Colorado. I want to see it all and I'd rather see it by doing than by spectating.

    Workaway jumps out to me because of the human connection available as well as the connection with nature, instead of that to a hotel. Anyone can drop a couple hundred dollars and say they've "been" somewhere. I think immersing yourself is the only way to know what a place is all about.

    I’m always looking to be a part of a new process, learning what makes them "go", and I look forward to what that means in different parts of the world through different cultures.

    I love being outdoors all day and have yet to meet an animal I don’t love. The ocean is one of my greatest love but my hiking boots don't go unused. The world is pretty big and I want to see more than less of it. I grew up just outside Chicago in the Midwest of the United States and went college in New York city. I love the hustle and bustle of the city but it's not the whole world, my spirit for adventure yearns to see and do more. I'm young and have seen so many friends throw away their years of youth in jobs in small cubicles. There's nothing wrong with that but when I'm 60 I hope to be able to tell tales of adventure, hardships, distance places, and interesting people. I demand that my life be interesting. There will probably never be a biography written about my life (I hope there is) but if there is my goal is to make one worth reading. I look forward to finding those experiences.

  • Interesses

    Montanhas
    Praia
    Naturaleza
    Camping
    Mochilão
    Velejar/navegar
    Esportes de aventura
    Esportes aquáticos
    Esportes de inverno
    Fitness
    Atividades ao ar livre
    Caminhada
    Fazenda
    Animais
    Arte e design
    Artes performáticas
    Escrever
    Livros
    Culinária e comida
    Cultura

    mostrar mais
  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Conhecimento de:  

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Projetos ambientais
    Cuidar de animais
    Trabalho beneficente
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

    Poso ensinar:  

    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Fazer companhia para idosos
    Manutenção geral
    Vida na fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Ensino
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    A Bachelors Degree of Arts-Sociology (All that means is that I'm good in groups, communal living, tight spaces, etc)

    Farming (Planting, Harvesting, Weeding, Irrigation, Torching weeds, Machete)

    Social Media/Marketing (Ran the social media account of a 600 person college Model UN conference, $30,000 revenue)

    Working with kids (Worked at a summer camp with kids aging from 5-16)

    Arbor Skills (Chainsaw, log splitter)

    Can drive: Cars, Van, Pick up trucks, quad bikes/ATV, side by sides/UTV, tractors, forklifts

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

    Mais detalhes sobre meu interesse em idiomas
    I would like to increase my proficiency in French and Spanish primarily but am very keen to learn as much about as many languages as possible.

    Encontre um parceiro de estudo

  • Idade

    26

  • Algo mais...

    Everyone says it, I'm sure, but I'm looking for an adventure, a story worth telling. Those kinds of experiences don't come without a little bit of hardship, maybe a scrape or two. I'm the guy who isn't bothered by those things. I've always felt that attitude is a choice and as long as you've got a good one and some common sense the rest can usually work out. I'm determined not to be dead weight, it's my least favorite thing, so if I'm there, I'm making sure I'm an asset. I don't pretend to know what I don't, I've always said a stupid question is better than a stupid mistake. I don't like stupid mistakes.

    I grew up going to Wisconsin for the summer and fell in love with being on open water. It was just a lake but being in fresh water, on sailboats, near beaches, around water that didn't have chlorine in it made me realize I needed more. I have my PADI open water diver certification so I'm not a liability when it comes to feeling and being safe in the water. I'm always looking for a way to increase my interaction with the water.

  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias
      Nope!

    • Dietas especiais
      Nope!

Comentário


Amigos

Fotos

Comentário