Thomas

  • França
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Medalhas (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Eu estou

    viajando

  • Descrição

    Vaccinated against Covid 19
    US citizenship

    I'm Thomas, I'm an engineer from France, and I'm taking a break from that field of work.
    I see this as a 6 months to 1 year period where I'm gonna meet many new people, learn plenty of new skills. I'd like to learn skills that could either help me in a future professional life, or in a future private life.

    My main interests now would be: good practices on how to grow vegetables, how to make cheese, how to live a more sustainable life

    I'm really interested in sharing the day to day life and tasks of locals, in order get a more in-depth feeling of what's life like in different places.

    I like to play music as well, I like it because music is everywhere and it's a great way to connect with people, sometimes without even speaking the same language. I enjoy singing, playing the guitar, percussion, and mouth trumpet (hah).

    In my free time I also like sports such as hiking, volleyball, tennis, frisbee, slackline. However I'm terrible at soccer/football. :D

    I've spent years (up until my trip, actually) living in shared houses, in France, in Argentina and in Ireland. I know how living as a community works and I take on at least my share of tasks.
    I enjoy cooking, and I like to spend some free time in the kitchen to prepare meals for myself and for others.

    I really like working as a team with farm owners and other volunteers.
    I don't mind working alone every now and then.

    My 6 experiences so far on a farm were:
    - 4 weeks on a sustainability and bioconstruction project in Tonila, Jalisco, México (via WorkAway) - September 2021
    - 2 weeks mostly working on strawberries in Atlixco, Puebla, México (recommend by previous farm owner, not part of WorkAway) - October 2021
    - 4 days in a greenhouse in Tlaxcala, Tlaxcala, México (recommend by previous farm owner, not part of WorkAway) - October 2021
    - 4 weeks at a goat dairy in Pie Town, New Mexico, USA milking goats every day with a machine or by hand, and making fresh unpasteurised cheese - November/December 2021
    - 4 weeks on a goat farm in Pinetta, Florida, USA taking care of goats, milking goats with a machine and by hand, making goat milk soap - January 2022
    - 4 weeks on a sheep farm in Scottsville, Kentucky, USA building a greenhouse, planning and putting up 700ft of fencing and a corral, building rabbit cages - February 2022

  • Interesses

    Praia
    Camping
    Esportes de aventura
    Esportes de equipe
    Esportes de inverno
    Ciclismo
    Dança
    Atividades ao ar livre
    Caminhada
    Fazenda
    Idiomas
    Arte e design
    Escrever
    Livros
    Música
    Culinária e comida
    Cultura
    Eventos e social
  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Tenho interesse em:  

    Ensino
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Vida na fazenda
    Manutenção geral

    Conhecimento de:  

    Hotelaria/turismo

    Poso ensinar:  

    Prática de idiomas
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    In previous experiences in Mexico I've learned how to:
    - use and maintain a gas-powered weed whacker
    - remove weeds by hand
    - plant fruit trees and protect them with mulch
    - take care of growing strawberries
    - compost
    - water plants

    Goats:
    - milk goats, with a machine or by hand
    - feed goats
    - make several types of cheese
    - make yogurt
    - make soap
    - assist with goat births

    Wood:
    - use a power wood splitter
    - use a saw
    - cut wood boards with a table saw and a cross-cut circular saw

    Driving a tractor
    Measuring and planning out new fences using an auger

    Also, from other past professional experiences I'd say I'm pretty good at:
    - listening to instructions
    - asking many questions from the start to be sure I'm doing it right
    - responsibly and reliably following instructions
    - suggesting new ideas for improvement

    I worked as an activity leader for kids in holiday resorts and campsites in France and in the US during 5 summers, I'm outgoing, trustworthy, helpful, and can adapt easily to tricky situations when needed.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Mais detalhes sobre meu interesse em idiomas
    I can give tips and teach some French and English. Maybe I can give tips to beginners in Spanish as well.

    Encontre um parceiro de estudo

  • Idade

    29

  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias
      No.

    • Dietas especiais
      No special requirements. I eat meat but often cook meals without any meat and don't mind not eating meat for a couple of weeks. I love cheese and dairy products. I like to taste new things while I travel. No allergies.

Comentário



Amigos

Fotos

Comentário