CherylTettmar

  • Reino Unido
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Medalhas (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Amigos (1)

Assistir meu vídeo de perfil

Please accept marketing-cookies to watch the video.

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Eu estou

    viajando

    Meu próximo destino:

    Alaska, United States - desde Dez 2021 até Jan 2022
    Ver tudo
  • Descrição

    My name is Cheryl but my friends call me Pepper! I currently live in a beautiful open plan house, that I designed and helped build, on the edge of the Sinharaja rainforest in Sri Lanka. I went to that country as a Workaway volunteer 3 1/2 years ago and fell in love with the country and its people and decided to stay! I live at the edge of the rainforest in a tea plantation because I love being in nature. I cherish the intensity of the connection with the natural world when alone and deeply immersed in it. By sensing myself as so small in the vastness of the landscape and its silence, I get to experience a sense of inner expansion and unity with all that is. I have a sense of life as an inner journey that is furthered by life experiences and perfected in quietness and contemplation. My house has no walls (only a roof and a floor) which helps remind me that it is possible to live a life without limit and that I am connected and part of something so much larger.

    I spend my days being creative in ways that bring me pleasure: writing, art, crafts and growing things. In response to the Covid pandemic I recently began a practice of compassion and meta loving kindness. I have found it to be a truly beautiful heart expanding experience that has blessed me and allowed me to grow into a more loving, empathic human being. Although my house is fairly remote and I have no neighbours, I am part of a vibrant local community nearby and have developed close friendships and loving relationships.

    I am full of fun and most often say `Yes,' because this has brought such wonderful experiences and people into my path. I can laugh at myself and life, which is liberating and can sometimes be the very best response. I enjoy most the simple pleasures of healthy food, a beautiful environment and sincere, gentle friends. I am deeply happy as I have learnt the joy of simply just being and to see each day, all of the many wonderful things to celebrate and be thankful for.

    I love meeting new people and seeing how quickly strangers then become close friends. I embrace change and the unexpected as I have found that surprises bring the greatest joy and personal transformation. In a spirit of gratitude I welcome each day and see myself as part of a beautiful whole. I love sport and outdoor activities and I am strong, fit and healthy, with lots of energy and enthusiasm for life. Doing a job well gives me pleasure and achieving a task with others brings me joy. I love spontaneity and finding solutions to challenges. However, my true love is stillness and quietness, wherever it may be found ... usually in the natural world, which is where I feel most at home. I am kind and thoughtful and really enjoy supporting and inspiring others - which as a teacher I have been able to do.

    I have travelled lots in one of my favourite ways - by bicycle! This includes a ride from England to Australia in 1995-96. I have also walked many mountain ranges across the world, toured in a camper van around Scandanavia and explored the National Parks of Spain by motorbike. Most of these trips have been solo and included wildcamping where possible.

    I have published two books and although I don't see myself as a writer, I love to communicate with people. I love sharing stories and people's passions and dreams. I think in a `curly' way and am interested in so many things that I never get tired of learning - I love new challenges and being shocked out of my comfort zone (if I was ever to allow myself to slip into one!)

  • Interesses

    Montanhas
    Naturaleza
    Camping
    Esportes de aventura
    Fitness
    Atividades ao ar livre
    Caminhada
    Fazenda
    Jardinagem
    Sustentabilidade
    Mascotes
    Arte e design
    Desenho e pintura
    Escrever
    Livros
    Música
    Culinária e comida
    Vegetariano/vegano
    Política/justiça social
    Cultura

    mostrar mais
  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Tenho interesse em:  

    Vida na fazenda
    Projetos ambientais
    Trabalho beneficente

    Conhecimento de:  

    Jardinagem
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Projetos artísticos
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    I am artistic and enjoy being creative - I love to express my joy of life and being alive, in paint, collage and creative writing. I have shared this delight with others in small groups I have organised for local people in the communities I have lived in. I am passionate about food and have learned the culinary skills and secrets from the countries I have lived in: India, Mexico, Spain, Sri Lanka and France - for me cooking is an art and a pleasure.
    As for other skills ... well, I feel that I have developed the most important skill: that for realising a peaceful, joyful, happy life and the way of connecting with others who have discovered this too ;-)

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Idade

    57

  • Nacionalidade

    British

  • Algo mais...

    I joined Workaway because I love travel and enjoy sharing ... work, food, friendship etc with people. I'm excited about the friends I will make, the challenges I will experience and the opportunities that will open up for me.

  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias

    • Dietas especiais

Comentário



Amigos

Fotos

Comentário