Help a big family living in an eco-village with building a house and gardening in Viseu, North Portugal

Country

Portugal

atualizado   Última hora

Favorito 819 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    05/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    58.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
Este é um anfitrião de última hora. Eles nos informaram que precisam de ajuda imediata e também para outras datas ao longo do ano.
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello everybody! We are a big family that 11 years ago bought, together with several other families, a land to make our dream come true: live in harmony with nature and with each other, creating a little paradise to raise up our children. All these years we have been creating spaces.
    The quinta where we live together is a very special place: it is big and wild, has a beautiful river, pure air and water, and is surrounded by only more wild nature. We are totally off-the-grid: our water comes from a nearby spring, we use only renewable energies as a source of electricity, and we have compost toilets.
    Oraibi, a part of the whole community, works like this: We are a big family with small children, trying to educate them, build a bigger house and get sustainable, everything at the same time :) So a lot of things (and life force) going on here...

    This summer in Oraibi we will be (finally!) finishing our new house. (Well, we thought the same last year, but we didn't fully get there... so this year IS the year!!! we will finish it!! - we hope ;). We could get it quite far last summer (thanks to everybody that gave a hand! :) but we still have many works to finish... from mounting doors and roof windows, to rendering the already-made walls and building up the last interior walls. We must say there will be lots of rendering coming this year... good news is that this includes the "final render", the one where you can make it artistic and beautiful. So brave renderers who are as well artists, ready to work with clay and color tiles to create organic-looking beauty on the walls, are also very welcome ;)

    We can host people this year from more or less the 7th of June, until end of September. We are flexible to host a very small number of volunteers from mid May or so, but we will be just having bigger groups from June onwards.

    The most important thing we search in volunteers is good energy, a kind heart, and a strong will to help move forward. Even if a person doesn't have much experience, they can do a great job by really wanting to do his/her best and putting lot of motivation, interest and love in the task at hand.
    Just in a few occasions during these seven years of volunteering, we encountered volunteers with which the convivence didn't flow harmonicaly. With the time we learnt to ask the person to leave, to protect the good energy of the working group.

    We have a quite old (and amusing) camper van where two or three people can sleep; but this year we are low on other sleeping spaces (we have given away our old big caravan... sorry... but it was for a good cause :)
    We have a couple of tents that we can borrow, but it is not enough to accomodate everybody. So most of the people will need this year to bring a tent (or a car/camper/caravan where he/she can sleep).
    Other things you will need here are a torchlight, a GOOD WARM sleeping bag and WARM clothes (yes, also if you come in July ... the nights get quite cold in the summer ;) , and some proper shoes.

    We have a beautiful summer kitchen that will be used as a common kitchen, where we will share three (vegetarian) meals together a day (and always coffee, and sometimes, cake... :)

    One more thing is that we put a lot of care in creating a group that we think it will flow together (as difficult as that might be just by reading emails and profiles... but we try anyways :)... a group in which our family can also exist and be part of. That means, we might not accept people that we have the feeling they will bring a specific vibe or attitude that doesnt fit with our values (like an "extreme party" mood). And sometimes we are not available to have people, maybe because we are hosting our maximum amount of volunteers, or because we are closed (usually it says which months we are open in the calendar). In those cases, we usually not answer to the mails - that's why our reply rate is so low lately, after many months of recieving requests when we were closed... Sorry about that... but if you saw the amount of things there are to do here all day long, you would understand there is not much time to sit in the front of the net to write mails. We usually just answer the mails that wake up our interest. Don't take it personal, please! If we don't answer you, we just have too much to do! We still appreciate a lot that you wanted to help us, we wish for you lots of love and light for your way, and that you find your perfect volunteering place in Portugal :)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will experience how is the life of an of-the-grid family and the magnificence of creating things with your own hands. You will learn about natural building - how to build a big family house (wooden structure, straw-clay walls, roof) from scratch.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We basically need very motivated volunteers that want to give a hand with finishing the process of building this crazy house... and of course, also giving a hand with any other funny ideas that might arise in the moment (we are quite "creative" sometimes), like building a rocket mass heater or taking a caravan out of a house - two thought-in-the-moment ideas that came last years on an inspired moment ;)

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Português: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Right now we can offer accommodation in an old, quite amusing, camper van. We also have a couple of tents where we can host people, but it is not enough for everybody. So if you can bring your own tens, it would make it much easier to host you!
    We have a summer kitchen that will be used as a common kitchen, where we will share vegetarian meals together.
    Given that the work can be physically demanding, we try that the meals cooked are fullfilling enough for everybody. Having a vegetarian menu, this means that milk products and eggs are used on a regular basis. There is not much extra time to make special dietary requeriments, so if you are lactose/gluten intolerant or an inflexible vegan, maybe this is not your place. Sorry :P

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are in the middle of nature, so not many man-made local sights or available transport around here... not even a small shop (so please if you smoke, bring an amount of tobacco that goes at least for two weks - and lighters!!! ;). But amazing wild nature around, to admire and enjoy! :)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (4.8)

















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 998762776613