Join a Dutch family on their goat farm in Midi Pyrenees, South of France

Country

França

Favorito 626 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    25/09/2022

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We're a Dutch family (Elisabeth, Chris and our two sons Koen & Lucas) running a goat farm in the Gers, South West France. We have about 130 Alpine goats, 40 goat kids 6 billy's, 2 pigs (the local "Porc Noirs" -breed), some chicken, cats, a dog that eats the chicken, 50 ha of arable land and 20 ha of woods.

    We manage the farm in a sustainable way (Chris is an agricultural engineer with a specialization in organic agriculture) and try to keep farming and nature in balance. Our work differs with the seasons: In spring we have busy period with the lambing; summertime is hay making, harvesting cereals and seeding covercrops; in autumn the fields are preared and seeded for the next year.

    Beside the daily work (milking, feeding the goats, taking care of the other animals, the vegetable garden, repairing anything that breaks down) there are lots of projects (e.g. cutting firewood for the winter, breaking down a shed, building a chicken barn to painting the woodwork of the yurt, building an outdoor kitchen). And of course there is work on the land, however therefore you need to have some experience with tractors. Everything is possible depending on your skills and interests. In general its hard physical work but there is also plenty of time to walk/cycle/read/relax and doing nothing.

    Our farm is located in a very rural area but not isolated. There is a village at 5 min down hill by bike with shops, restaurants and a market every Friday. A larger town is at 20 minutes drive by car. The Pyrenees are at 80 k

    We provide three meals a day. Veggies come mainly from our own garden, meat from our pigs & goats, but we also like a good old pizza now and then..

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Feeding / milking the goats and bottle-feeding the lambs (in the lambing season)
    Helping out with all types of farm related work (adapted to your skills and interests)
    Repearing anything that breaks down (and over the year that's a lot)
    Working in the vegetable garden,
    Strimming, mowing, cutting / chopping wood
    Cooking
    Lots of (bigger and smaller) building
    Walking/cycling/readinng/relaxing and doing nothing.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will stay in a yurt or a caravan. There is electricity, water, an outside shower and a dry toilet. In the yurt is a woodburner. But of course you can also make use of a bathroom in the house and other house facilities.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    From the airport in Toulouse (Blagnac) you can either take the train or hitchhike to Auch. There we will pick you up.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 25 hours a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.7)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicação: (5.0)





















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 988953944244