Help me start an eco-project near Ourique, rural Alentejo, Portugal




Favorito 48 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas


 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

  • Descrição


    UPDATE: 2022

    Tree Planting

    I am a 55 year old English man from the UK who in his former life was a film producer and professional photography who decide to give up the rat race and in doing so spent the last four years traveling across Europe in my camper doing workaway but, more recently I have settled down in the rural Alentejo of Portugal.

    I have leased a small plot of land from a larger eco project to build my new life. The property is very remote and perfect for naturism. There are two natural lakes which lend themselves to the odd skinny dip when the weather is hot. I live there with my dog Rocky who is a little over one year now. Everyone around loves to socialise and swap stories but there is also lots of chances and places to get some piece and quite for reflection.

    I am hoping to plant new trees and plants this Autumn around the cabin to help it blend into the environment whilst using permaculture techniques. I live here totally off grid although I have electricity from the sun and water from a bore hole, we just have to be mindful how we use it. Everything we do we try to be eco friendly and think about the environment around us.

    Our neighbours are friendly and we often work together on the land or just enjoy each others company with some impromptu get togethers. There is a local town just 7 kms away with all the amenities you need and we often go down to the Algarve or West Coast for fun days out at the beach with other friends from the surrounding area.

    NOTE: Please be aware that this is a naturist project, you don't have to be a naturist but you should be comfortable with it. First time naturists are also very welcome.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I am English but was living in Wales before I started travelling again. In total I have spent many years traveling around the World and am open to all kinds of people. I am always open to new cultures and languages. And love to spend time with like minded people chilling with a beer or glass of wine whilst swapping stories.

  • Ajuda


    There are always many jobs to do around the place from finishing work on the cabin, such as painting to planting and ground preparation for planting. I would also like to build a decking area for my cabin plus an outside composting toilet so if you are handy with wood that would be a big bonus!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Interested in learning Portuguese.

  • Acomodação


    You will have your own bedroom in the newly built log cabin.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I live close (10 min by car) to a small town called Ourique which offers a supermarket, cinema and lots of little shops and cafes. From the property it takes approximately 50 min either to the Algarve or West coast where we often go at the weekends and you would be more than welcome to join us.

    The area immediately around the property is full of good walks and cycle tracks you can even arrange horseback riding at the local stables.

    I enjoy being at Monte Novo very much especially because it is a very peaceful place. It would be great to welcome people who like to live close to nature and enjoy the calmness of the Alentejo.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 981918238871