Help is needed in a small permaculture Foodforest in Suriname

Country

Suriname

Favorito 102 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    15/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 16 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello everybody, I'm Brigitte, original from Switzerland. 15 years ago we read the first time about Suriname, about the greenest country of the world with a still forest cover of more then 90%, situated north of Brazil between French Guiana and Guyana. Suriname has half the size of Germany with half a million inhabitants, and these inhabitants came from all over the world: Amerindians are the original inhabitants, than there are descendants of the African slave trade living in the jungle or on the cost line, Creole people, Javanese and Indian people, Chinese who came in the 18th century, Libanese, Portuguese, Turkish, Brasilians, Boeroes, the old Duch families and European...
    We found a 2 hectare place about one hour ride from Paramaribo, the capital of Suriname. This place is surrounded by other 2 hectare-pieces mostly owned by Javanese families, small scale farmers.
    A quart of our land is still virgin jungle with all sorts of flora and fauna.
    Sins 2010 we live here for good a more or less self-sustained life, planting vegetables and flowers, have chickens, and are developing a garden, where we guide visitors to explain the exotic fruits and herbs...
    We produce different preservatives, depends the harvest: dryed bananas, jackfruits, leaves and herbs, teas, seasonings, cacao nibs and powder, different jams, sirups, juices, mostardas, „rumtopf“ – a never ending experimental process...

    Unfortunately my partner passed away in march 2018 and sins than I try to realise our dream of a permacultural, experimental paradise with my friends here in the neighbourhood and I’m looking forward to get visitors and helpers from whole over the world, helping with everdays work, maintenance and with all sorts of little projects.

    There are two houses on the place, one was the original small plantage house what became my "living room", the other house has 2 stores with each one room, there is one kitchen on the ground floor.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Living in the district means decelerate life. Everything goes a bit slower. Getting your soul back to nature...
    In this tropical climate it is the most luxurious feeling to be outside on the terrace. Listen to the sounds of nature. surrounded by trees and flowers.
    Mostly we will be woke up by the song of the howlermonkeys. There are lot of birds singing in the morning, sometimes we got visitors like anteaters, sloths or capucine monkeys.
    We life at a unpaved road ca. 2 km from the main road.
    Ca. once a week I drive to the city to do the necessery shoppings.
    You can also just relax in the hammock, reading a book or listen to the sound of nature...
    If you like to make tours we can help you to find a nice trip or you just ask in town at the tourist info.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Mainenance, reparation, preparation:
    Everydays work is taking most of the time if there is lack in helping hands, so the special work just keeps waiting to be done.
    Depends your preference you are welcome for all sort of work, if its cleaning the leaves, brooming the terrace, or mainting the gardenbeds, mowing grass, harvesting and producing jam or prepare for drying - every help is welcome.

    finishing little projects - starting new projects:
    If you are talented in construction work there is a chicken ren to be finished, a treehut to be build, a jungle trail to be explored .... If you like to paint a house, your also welcome.
    I also like to set up a website, but need some technical help.

    Planting in tropical climate:
    As a permacultural foodforest and garden we will not use chemicals in the garden. Organic farming in tropical climate seems a challange. Everything I learned so far I will share with you and if you have experience your are most welcome.
    I plant mostly heirloom seeds and try to keep the seeds for next round. Some produce good seeds, others are not happy in this humid, warm climate...

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante
    Italiano: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    I can offer an apartment with a double bed, kitchen and bath toilet, this is for a couple or as a shared room with a spare bed for maximal two persons.
    There is 110 and 220 volt and Wifi.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The work scheme:
    5 h a day, 5 days a week or a total of 25 h per week
    Food and drinks are included on a vegetarian, non alcoholic base. We will try to eat as much as possible from the garden.
    We can either prepare or cook together or individually
    Meals on free days are not included.
    All additional food can be bought at the nearby Supermarket.
    There is a Bed and Breakfast in the neighborhood providing nice tours to the interieur.
    Public transport to the town is on the three times a day.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week or total 25 h per week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)













Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 976935388991