Experience three U.S. States with this flexible homestay in Arizona, USA



atualizado   Última hora

Favorito 985 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Este é um anfitrião de última hora. Eles nos informaram que precisam de ajuda imediata e também para outras datas ao longo do ano.
  • Descrição



    KEY DUTIES: Special-Needs Dog, German Tutoring, Housesitting, Yardwork/Landscaping.
    KEY BENEFITS: Private Bedroom, Full House Privileges, Free Breakfasts, Grand Canyon Camping, Colorado River Kayaking, Scenic Roadtrips, English Tutoring.

    This is a basic homestay opportunity for young travelers in my Western Arizona residence. Bullhead City is a water-recreation destination on the Colorado River. Laughlin, Nevada, is across the river; California is 18 miles downstream.


    I'm a tax attorney for a major consumer-based finance company. I am also a Certified Financial Planner. I have worked from home for many years (even pre-COVID), and have a relatively flexible schedule that enables me to have ample time to spend with my guests.

    Before relocating to Arizona fourteen years ago, I lived in Manhattan and worked as an attorney for one of Europe's largest investment banks. I have also taught economics, finance and business ethics at the college level.

    I have a B.S. in Business & Economics, an M.A. in Economics, and a J.D. (law degree), which I earned at age 36.

    Two years ago I moved from Phoenix to Bullhead City to be closer to my aging parents, who live in Las Vegas. My father was recently placed into memory care.

    I live a modest, minimalist (yet comfortable) lifestyle in which my primary leisure activity is escaping into nature. This can mean scenic drives, hiking, kayaking or other serene, slow-paced outdoor activities. If you've read Thoreau or Emerson, then you'll have an idea of how I live.

    I'm an avid chess player and a less-avid video gamer. I follow European soccer, especially the Bundesliga. My favorite team is Borussia Dortmund. My favorite player is Julian Brandt.

    I have been an active host using similar websites for many years. I always enjoy having interesting young people from around the world staying with me, whether for culture and language exchange or to take on various projects.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Besides structured assistance with your English if you like, I can offer the following:

    --Guests who stay at least one week get an overnight camping trip to the Grand Canyon and a morning kayaking on Lake Mohave (part of Lake Mead National Recreation Area), weather permitting. Many other destinations, either as day trips or overnight camping, are possible (I have a six-person tent for guests while I sleep in the minivan with the dog).

    --An in-depth introduction to U.S. law, courts, legislative processes and jurisprudence for those interested in comparative legal systems. My particular areas of interest are constitutional issues, individual rights, and tort law.

    --I taught college-level economics and finance, and was an investment banker for many years. I would be happy to share my knowledge and expertise in these fields (e.g., how U.S. financial markets work, how securities are valued, and how macroeconomic policies are implemented).

  • Ajuda


    I am very flexible about the ways my guests can contribute to my home, and I can always find a way for you to earn your stay. If you have any special skill, then bring it!

    Some specific ways to help:

    --My dog Ivan, thought to be 10 years old (I've had him for five), was very recently diagnosed with age-related spondylosis and IVDD (both spinal issues). He can walk, but not for long distances as we used to do twice a day. I don't have the time to harness him up and walk him repeatedly for short durations throughout the day -- which is where Workawayers can be a huge help to me and to him. Ivan is a male mixed-breed, about 45 pounds / 21 kilos, neutered and otherwise healthy. He is super-friendly and very well-behaved on the leash.

    --Since traveling with the dog is problematic (and impossible for overseas destinations), I am always looking for house- and dog-sitters.

    --German speakers always move to the front of the line!

    --Guests hoping to improve their English can let me practice my tutoring skills on them.

    --Artists can create something for the house (I will cover the cost of all materials).

    --Astronomy enthusiasts can share their knowledge (I have a 70mm refractor telescope, and my area is elevated and has very little light pollution).

    --Have a favorite board, card or online game? Teach it to me!

    --I have some A/V projects that involve my early (pre-digital) travel photos and videos.

    --If we roadtrip together, then you can help with the driving, campsite set-up, etc.

    --I am working on beautifying my backyard and would love to set up a flower garden and possibly an herb garden.

    --I have converted my garage into a recreation room (sometimes called a "man cave"). Still under construction; help always needed.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    My German proficiency is around B1, maybe B2 on a good day. My command of grammar rules is excellent, but my vocabulary is relatively weak. I have been trained in Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) and have assembled a collection of materials (books, videos, websites) to help intermediate speakers improve their English. As an intermediate speaker of German, I fully appreciate the challenges of trying to reach fluency of a second language.

  • Acomodação


    Spare bedroom in private home. There is a full-size bed (and a folding bed for a second guest), and a desk suitable for laptop use (a great set-up for online learners and digital entrepreneurs).

    You have full access to the kitchen as well as the living room, laundry room and backyard. The large-screen TV has a Roku with Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, Disney+, ESPN+, and many free channels. I also have an Xbox Series X with Game Pass and an Oculus Quest 2 VR headset.

    There is top-tier wi-fi throughout the house.

    The (unheated) community pool and hot tub are available year-round.

    For bicyclists, I have a men's hybrid touring bike in very good condition that you can borrow (though my area is quite hilly).

    Parking is not a problem, if you happen to have a car.

    You can reach my general area by inter-city bus (Greyhound or Flixbus) or train (Amtrak).

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...


    Millions of people make their way to our desert community annually to enjoy the Colorado River, Lake Mohave and the warm seasonal temperatures. Across the river, Laughlin, Nevada, provides year-round casino entertainment. If you’re over 21 and would like to learn how to play casino games like blackjack or craps, I am happy to teach you.

    River recreation options include swimming, boating, canoeing, kayaking, stand-up paddleboarding, jet-ski rentals and fishing, all at Big Bend of the Colorado. On the other side of Davis Dam is Lake Mohave (my preferred kayaking destination).

    Longer-term guests get an overnight trip to the Grand Canyon. We'll travel very briefly on America's historic "Route 66." Petrified Forest National Park is also within reach.

    In Nevada, Hoover Dam and the Pat Tillman Bridge are 90 minutes away, and the Las Vegas Strip is only 45 minutes further. If casinos are not for you, then we can visit Valley of Fire State Park and the Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area, both north of Las Vegas.

    In California, Death Valley and Joshua Tree National Parks are both accessible by car. Numerous camping and hiking options abound throughout the Inland Empire region, including Dead Mountains Wilderness Refuge, Lake Arrowhead and seven California state parks. The vast Mohave National Preserve offers hiking, camping, scenic drives and wildlife spotting.

    (Want to add a fourth state? Let's go to Zion and Bryce National Parks in Utah.)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    As someone who already worked remotely pre-COVID, my home has always been well-configured for telecommuters and remote learners. I have excellent high-speed Internet and wifi, a land-line telephone, a spare desktop computer, a printer and scanner. You will also have all the privacy you need in the guest room. If you are studying online, I will totally accommodate your coursework's schedule and time requirements.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    I can easily accommodate a car, minivan or campervan. A larger vehicle such as an RV might pose some challenges, but we can figure it out.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    1-2 hours per day , 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 967695273928