Come help us with our off grid land cooperative in Canada




Favorito 670 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

  • Descrição


    Thanks for checking out our profile!

    We live on an off-grid land co-operative of 88 acres. We produce our own electricity using a micro-hydro system which is currently generating 8 KW and is shared by us and the 5 other households on the land. The land co-operative is not a commune, and while we sometimea work collectively on projects, we all have our own houses and acre of land. We strive for low-impact modern living in intentional community. We do our best to become more self-sufficient day by day. This means that we:

    -Raise Animals for Meat and Eggs
    -Cook using organic ingredients where possible
    -Cook from scratch when we have the time
    -Grow as much of our own food as possible
    -Preserve as much of our own food as possible
    -Raise animals for food. Therefore not suited to hosting vegetarians or vegans...sorry guys, but animals make up a large part of our diet :)
    - Do our best to learn new ways to make the things that we buy.

    We have a large community garden which is not certified organic, but we follow organic gardening principles and beliefs. We focus on organic growing methods such as hugelculture and permaculture although we are always interested in learning about new ways to grow all kinds of things

    You will be expected to know how to prepare your own breakfasts and lunches. We don't usually eat breakfast but you are welcome to use what we have for yours. Make yourself at home! We don't generally eat at normal times of the day. Some evenings we will eat at 6pm. Other evenings we will eat at 10pm (sometimes later) if we take a day off to hit the river or lake.

    We can comfortably host 2 people indoors, but typically only take on one person at a time. We typically don't have enough work for more than one person. This year, (2019) we are looking for 2 people to stay longer term. We need one person who is good at cooking and cleaning, whose main duties will be keeping up with the house. The other person should be handy, able to work independently, problem solve, and use a variety of hand and power tools without supervision. This does not need to be a couple, we have 2 bedrooms available.

    We have 2 goofy dogs, 2 lazy/fat cats. We do not accept other pets on the land.

    Public transit is available nearby and can easily get you to Nelson. If you've not been to Nelson, it's a very unique, eclectic, artistic and vibrant community! There's none other like it in the world I'm sure!

    We are situated on a mountainside in the forest and there are plenty of little walking trails. We usually ask that you be comfortable with nudity as our community is clothing optional and many people refrain from wearing any clothes especially in the hot summer months. That includes us! You are encouraged to embrace your natural side too, but certainly not mandatory!

    Bears, cougars, deer, moose, elk, skunks and many other critters live in the forest with us. Being 'bear aware' is especially important in the spring and summer. Problems with wildlife are rare. But wildlife can be a reality of living in the forest! Animal sightings are rare but they do happen. We hear them more than we see them.

    Work we are currently doing revolves around renovating our house, general household maintenance and building. We have some other large projects on the go as well, but our main focus is completing the work in the house. You are also expected to help with cleaning, cooking and general day to day work around the house. You are expected to work about 5 hours a day, 5 days a week on average. On the days you are "off", you are responsible for your own meals.

    Everybody on the land is very friendly. We just know that you will love it here! There will be lots of time for play - the Kootenays is a great place to play outside!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Ajuda


    Generally speaking we will need you to help with:

    -Any projects we have during your stay; Building projects, digging holes for fenceposts, building garden beds, renovation tasks.
    -Household chores; dishes, cleaning, preparing food, etc.
    -Caring for the animals; feeding, watering, cleaning barns, butchering, etc.
    -Clearing forest for wildfire protection. Cutting dead trees and moving the dead branches to a pile.

    If the weather is hot we work as much as we can before it gets too hot to work. If it's too hot we will take a siesta or hit the river or lake to cool off. Help with household chores like dishes, sweeping the floors and preparing food is required. Our days aren't totally scheduled and plans change at the last minute all the time. Schedules don't really work around here.

    It's good if you can ask 'how can I help?' if you don't know what to do. We can either find something for you if you are looking or just tell you to relax.

    We are open to learning from you and your skills just as we hope you would be open to seeing the benefits of our way of life and learning from us! Be willing to teach us something if you see where we can improve! Many helpers have taught us better ways to do things. Don't be shy! But be willing to listen to us too!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    We have 2 bedrooms available in our home but there is also plenty of space to go camping on the land. We are off-grid, and although we are close to neighbouring towns, we ARE in a remote location.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Because of our remote location we do not have septic or sewer. We use an outhouse. Trust me, it's not that scary. If I can do it, you can too!

    Proper footwear is going to be important. If you show up with running shoes/skate shoes/sneakers/sandals - expect to get wet, muddy feet.

    Our community has several bee-hives. If you are allergic - please come prepared to deal with a sting.

    We will often take our volunteers hiking, floating down the river, to hotsprings and sightseeing. Even though we do these things occasionally, they are weather and time dependant. We usually work hard on projects when we have the time off, but we spend a lot of time relaxing and enjoying the incredible home we have as well.

    We are open to people who are trying to learn better English. However, if you don't understand something - tell us you don't understand. You can't help us if you don't understand our instructions - and we can't help you learn English if you won't tell us when you don't understand.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours x 5 days

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 965965789131