Work in olive grove building and gardening in Preko, Croatia



Favorito 97 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 7 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

  • Descrição


    I am a mom of three kids, and a granddaughter. We are fixing up our olive grooves so we can produce olive oil for our personal use, and to share with family and friends. We just extended our land and need help in fixing up the terrain so it is more accessible. The task is not easy, there is a lot of hard work to be done. All the old olives are overgrown with weeds, especially rough bindweed/sarsaparilla, or known as Mediterranean smilax (if you don't know the weed, look it up, because this is what we have to deal with). Knowledge of a chainsaw or handsaw is also needed, if you don't know how to use one, garden scissors will get other jobs done.
    If the weather is good we will start working on building a small house on the land for storage, so if you happen to stop by in the early spring and have building knowledge we would love to get some experience from you to help us with this task as well.
    We use olive oil in all forms to cook with. In exchange for your help, we will prepare authentic Croatian meals for lunch or dinner. We offer room and board with one cooked meal in exchange for your help. Depending on the weather the tasks can only be done during the day from 10 to 16 in the winter months, spring and summer are different, we work early mornings or late afternoons because the days are longer. We never work Sundays if possible. We are flexible to the days you would like to use to look around the island or the city of Zadar. You will stay in an very nice apartment overlooking the Adriatic Sea, and if the weather is good you can go swimming every day.
    Join my family to experience real Croatian life on the island.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Work awayer will get to learn the Croatian culture and cuisine. They will experience the lifestyle of a family living on the island, learn the language and also be a part of our family. Weekends we can arrange to drive you to different locations for some hiking, the island has the best views form the hill tops, also the best sunsets.

  • Ajuda


    We are working in our olive groves. The tasks needed are getting rid of weeds, using handsaw or garden scissors, shoveling some soil around, and basically doing tough garden labor. If it's during the olive picking season, you will get to pick olives as well. Olive picking season is done in November. If you are joining us in spring we will be working on our small house in the olive grooves as well. So some knowledge in building is needed.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Croatian: Fluente
    Italiano: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I would love to learn Italina and French, my husband would like to learn Russian.

  • Acomodação


    Separate apartment, sleeps 2, terrace overlooking the sea and ferries.

    Since we also have our jobs that we have to do, we can offer one to two meals a day depending on if we are working. The meal will be either lunch or dinner, this is the way we eat as well. The rest is usually dry sandwich meals. We always have one cooked meal a day. We eat a lot of fish, vegetables and meat, and we are very flexible to prepare different meals depending on dietary preferences.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Since we are on the island, you can visit Zadar and its many sites, the sea organs and many mesueums, and Churches. Plitvice National Park and Krka lakes are lovely to visit. Sundays we do not work.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We are on the island and the wifi connection is not like the city, please keep that in mind.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    WE have free parking on our land.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25 hours/week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 955494225483