Help with house restoration and gardening and share a healthy and fun lifestyle in Munster, Ireland

  • Favorito 482 vezes
  • Última atividade: 16 abr. 2024



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais



  • Descrição


    I have lived in this wonderfully peaceful and magical place with my family for 35 years, and I really enjoy sharing it with others. I have current restoration and renovation projects ongoing both in the main house and on the cottages in my yard so I would really welcome anyone with trade skills especially painting, carpentry and tiling skills.
    My grown up son lives in the UK and visits often with his friends. I am a retired psychotherapist and have an interest in yoga, meditation, drama, painting, reiki and ecological issues. I enjoy cooking , especially vegan and vegetarian dishes. We also eat High welfare meat. I am a big fan of Wim Hoff practices. We have a very productive organic vegetable garden so produce is fresh and plentiful. I have lots of wonderful friends locally and they enjoy meeting our volunteers. Belonging to a community is very important to me and I involve myself with the local artistic and drama community. There are also wonderful hiking opportunities can still be availed of nearby.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Workayers can enjoy involvement with our family , friends and community, sharing a healthy and fun lifestyle. This could include sharing cooking, learning about growing food organically. ,There are wonderful spaces both indoors and outdoors for yoga and meditation. the space offers amazing peace and tranquillity. There may be a possibly involvement in local drama and art projects, and historic walking tours. There are great local walks as well as some outings to local attractions. We are located 2 miles from the historic and literary village of Doneraile. It has so much to offer, a 400 acre wildlife park and historic house, a 9 hole golf course , playing fields, wonderful cafes and pubs and an art gallery. Check out Doneraile Estate and facebook page of visit doneraile website. While this will be my forth year to host workaways I have been a wwoofing host for many years and really enjoyed getting to know many wonderful volunteers over the years. Many of them have become involved in various community activities including taking roles in a short film and becoming historic characters in our local guided pressure of course! I belong to a theatre group in Cork and I am a volunteer gardener once a week in the iconic Blarney castle gardens. Our volunteers have very much enjoyed joining me on trips to Blarney and to Cork. We are quite near the Ballyhoura Mountain park, it has wonderful hiking and mountain biking trails.

  • Ajuda


    I like workawyers to make a minimum commitment of 4 weeks. This can be extended if circumstances allow.

    The help required is varied, help in the garden and restoration projects on the house and cottages. We are in need of painting, carpentry and tiling skill and generally any DIY skills are welcome.
    We grow vegetables organically for our own consumption. These need to be sown, transplanted, weeded, watered and harvested. We also require help with restoring and maintaining some woodland, chopping and stacking logs, planting a hedgerow and some tree planting. I plan to plant a wildflower meadow this year and repair old stone walls.
    We also need help with maintenance tasks such as painting, building some simple structures and general repairs. I would also be interested to hear from someone who is artistic with an interest in wood sculpture. I would love to carve some tree stumps but don't have the skill.

    It is a requirement that volunteers are considerate and respectful of in their interactions and behaviour with others and in relation living environment.

    It is really important that workawayers respect current government covid 19 guidelines with regard to cross contamination and observe stringent hygiene practices. At the moment I only accept workawayers who are already fully vaccinated and boosted as I am in a vulnerable age category with regard to covid.
    It is also important that workawayers are able to cook for themselves as generally speaking i only cook some meals for people .

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    Accommodation is the house or maybe in a cottage, it may be necessary to share a room. Couples and friends travelling together share a room. The house is almost 200 years old and very charming, however its facilities are not all that efficient so be prepared, bring warm clothes!
    There is a shared bathroom.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are situated 3 kilometers from the local village of Doneraile in north Cork which boasts many literary and historic links. It has a magnificent parkland desemne laid out in the Capability Brown style.. It has a vibrant artistic cultural life.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Our internet connection is reasonably good most of the time. However in stormy weather I leave it unplugged as we are subject power cuts .

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25 Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. I like to have a flexible approach maybe some weeks work the hours over 4 days and have 3 days off

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 947532646491

Comentário (16)


Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Come and spend time on our organic farm near Westport, Ireland
Looking for General help on our Small Holding and in our home, Galway, Ireland