Fun, Energetic first mate needed || San Blas Islands, Panama



Favorito 499 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

  • Descrição


    I’m looking a first mate for my boat in San Blas Islands December 2021-May 2022. We do sailing tours though the islands that focus on teaching people that the simplest things in life can be the most fulfilling and beautiful. Whether its catching and cleaning a fish for the first time, making coconut milk, or lifting up the sails and feeling the wind take us away.. Almost everything we do on the boat is simple and artful. Guests may come just for a vacation, but they always leave with a special knowing that life can be lived very well even without all the common luxuries available in our countries. That’s what we do – we are spokesmen of the simple life in the sea.

    About me
    I’m James, 27, skipper and owner of Thyra, from small town Iowa in the USA. I left university to travel at 19 and spent years traveling by bicycle, motorcycle, car, train, motorhome until I went on my first sailboat in 2016 in Baja, Mexico. When the captain turned the motor off and lifted the sails I was absolutely enamored and knew that this was the way I wanted to travel. 6 months later I had bought my first boat – a little 27’ full-keeler in Puerto Rico where the previous owner agreed to give me a week of sailing lessons as part of the package. Soon after I sailed to Colombia and then onto Panama where I discovered the San Blas Islands almost by mistake. Since then I haven’t sailed anywhere else! The Islands, animal life, variety of anchorages, sailing community, and maybe most importantly – the wonderful people who live in San Blas – have kept me coming back year after year. I’m a real lover of adventure, simple things that work well, hearing stories of others, family & friends.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I will teach you absolutely as much as you care to learn in regards to sailing, self-sufficiency, language. The more you know, the better help you can give and we all know that the world is in fact round. I will cover your living costs while aboard (whether we have guests or not) and you will receive $25USD/guest/day. I hope to work at least 15 days of the month. It’s not the most money in the world, but the experience is absolutely without price and you’ll walk away with plenty of new knowledge and confidence.

    Just a few things more to note.
    -Nudity is normal aboard
    -Alcohol is consumed moderately, other drugs are NOT consumed.

    Thanks for reading!
    Include a Bio of yourself, address the character traits and abilities, and response to the questions presented below.

    1. What do you hope to learn living aboard a sailing boat in San Blas?
    2. Why do you want this position?
    3. What is your best ability you can share aboard?
    4. How do you feel best supported (in work or relationships)?
    5. What makes a good captain?

  • Ajuda


    About you
    I’ve broken the requirements up in to two parts – Character traits, and abilities.

    Character Traits
    -Hard working & efficient

    Abilities (listed in order of importance)
    -Great cooking with simple ingredients
    -Yoga instructor (or ability to lead small classes)
    -Bi-lingual (Spanish & English) Any other languages also a plus
    -Sailing experience

    Your role aboard will be a dynamic one with a little bit of everything. Keeping a positive attitude and working as a team is essential to the morale of the boat. I generally am responsible of the heavy lifting, engine/systems maintenance, and decisions in regards to navigation. Below are your “general responsibilities:

    -Cook 2 meals/day
    -Help lifting up anchor & sailing
    -Preparing beds for guests
    -Organizing food stores
    -Organizing beach activities (ie. cooking with Kunas, Yoga, etc.)

    We Always work towards the goal of maintaining a safe and positive environment on the boat. This is necessary for us, the guests, and the boat to be happy :)

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    Thyra is a Custom built 40’ sailing boat from 1962. She’s very cabin-like inside with beautiful woodwork and bronze finishes. Very beamy and tall ceilings make her the ideal comfort-cruiser for exploring the Islands of the Caribbean. Forward is a large private cabin. Midships has 1 single bunk, and 2 doubles. We have up to 4 guests on the boat. The galley is equipped with plenty of storage, cooking gear, stove & oven, refrigerator. 1 bathroom. Outdoor shower on the stern.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is nothing but time here in the islands. I spend my days cooking, cleaning, fishing, swimming, kayaking, and visiting neighbor boats.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 937397313529