Self-sufficiency town smallholding and Tearoom in the beautiful Poitiers Charente, France

Country

França

Favorito 432 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    23/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    154

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a registered Charity here in Charente, France.... we have recently found a house central to the 4000 population town which has recently become available to us....with the aid of workawayer volunteers we will be 'de-renovating' a part of the 350 year old house back to its original state, (circa 1880 >>1920..)......we will open a Tearoom and a traditional Shop and a Living Museum (circa 1880)....Therefore a part of the large townhouse will be lived in the traditional style of the Victorian era ie NO electric and NO running water just oil lamps and well water...

    The spotlessly clean upper part of the 4 storey house will be more in the style of the modern era but with period furniture.

    There will be from late March 2021 a Self Reliance School teaching the skills and traditions of the yesteryear...(Food Preserving, Curing Meats, Cheese Making, Home Baking etc) also a Tearoom and Traditional Shop and finally 4 letting rooms for long term guests.

    Or ethos is "If you can not grow it, rear it or make it, then source it locally" therefore we will have a vegetable and fruit garden and small town farm....

    Here we strongly believe in our project mantra "Rethink, Reduce, Reuse, and in the very last resort, Recycle" therefore please do not bring any plastic with you...we do not have any system for creating rubbish therfore we do not have a system for getting rid of it...!!!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I would be delighted to teach you the skills of yesteryear as every day is the main ''canning'' season for preservation of foods for the year and I would be delighted to teach you old & sure techniques...Maybe you could teach me a few....!!!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Dearest Workawayers,

    Bonjour, Bon Dia, Buenos Dias, Kaixo, Good Day, Failte, Hi....

    I really would like an extra pair of 'motivated' hands (not a problem for a couple of people)....from now ...

    Please include your Skype name or telephone number within your application email...Looking forward to welcoming you to my home...

    There will be a bread oven and another ancienne cuisineir for the preparation of all the food

    I will be needing willing motivated and talented hands to make this work.

    The work is approx 5 hours per day...no more...!!!

    All food is provided...

    Clean beds and bed linen available...

    I can absolutely guarantee:

    There will be as per the norm absolutely NO Illegal Substances on/within the townvillage/farm allowed (sorry...no exceptions whatsoever...!!!)
    (what everybody does outwith the townvillage boundary is totally private to them and absolutely nothing to do with me...!!!...)

    With all that said:

    I would be honoured and delighted if you could join me...

    The kettle (Cauldron...!!!) is a boilin'...!!!...the coffee cake is a makin'... when are you arrivin'...???


    In the past I have also been a volunteer myself, so I appreciate the 'other side of the coin'. Sooooo... I can promise you, good wholesome food (homemade bread and cakes and hearty healthy casseroles etc) a very clean bed (something not always set as standard when you are a helper...!!!)

    ...and also a maximum of 5 hours per day (either in the morning or afternoon...( You choose...) for 5 days only...(or if you wish you can choose to do the 25 hours blocked so that you can save up more days off to see more of the area...)

    Whilst in my home I am sure you would NOT expect me to be your mother/wife/servant, so I think it would be fair to point out that the normal day to day running of our very clean & tidy home is a joint effort on both sides...!!!...We are open to the public so everything all the time must be clean and tidy...

    Please note, I choose to live alone without a fridge/freezer/TV/etc etc etc or without a car, with the townvillage a mere 2 minutes walk away, the townvillage has the usual Church, Boulangerie, Charcuterie, Bar Tabac, Restaurants etc...(with gorgeous walks down by the river and the ancient neighbourhoods in the townvillage).

    I obviously use the traditional methods of living, as I strongly believe that ALL of 'our future lies in our past with the aid of the technology of today and tomorrow'...!!!

    Anyway... as they say back in the North (Yorkshire/Scotland and Ireland) 'Kettles on, what time are you arrivin'...???

    I look forward to welcoming you to my home.

    Warmest Regards

    Carmic...

    Please feel free to leave your telephone number in your email and/or your Skype name (if you have a European landline I will call you back...)

    I am soooooooooo looking forward to meeting you...

    xxxCCCxxx

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Double and single beds available in a modern caravan independent in the garden with bathroom and kitchen until March 2021 thereafter in the house...

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Please note, I choose to live alone without a fridge/freezer/TV/etc or without a car. But with the aid of the excellent French train system you will be only 30 minutes from the ancient interesting city of Poitiers...a couple hours from Paris and about an hour from Bordeaux...and La Rochelle is very close too...here is very central and accessible....

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 934869727927