Stay with us and our animals in a beautiful old house and gardens in Saint Marcet, France

Country

França

Favorito 323 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    02/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 32 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello
    We would like help from volunteers to renovate and maintain a beautiful old Maison de Maitre and gardens in Saint Marcet, a small rural village in Haute Garonne, South West France, 1 hour south of Toulouse.

    18 years ago we fell in love with this beautiful house despite the work it needed. For us the amazing space and rural location was perfect for our young family. Its been our greatest pleasure bringing up our 2 daughters with the freedom and relaxed lifestyle we have found here.

    However whilst doing this we haven't managed to get as much work completed as we would have liked. But now our girls are 'all grown up' ..... well kind of ...... the time is available to get on with the renovations.

    Brian is retired, loves all sport and in particular Rugby. He has experience with renovation of both houses and gardens and there is always a DIY project on the go which can vary between making cupboards, decorating, and garden work.
    I, Caroline, enjoy undertaking the renovation work in the house and garden too. I am interested in Permaculture and Eco living. Cooking, anything crafty and animals are also my passions and my hobbies include sewing, stained glass, pottery, willow weaving and art.

    Our daughters, Harriet, 27yrs, lives and works in Montpellier, and Alana, 22yrs, lives and at University in Toulouse. Both pop home occasionally.

    We have some lovely pets; our 3 dogs are Mowgli 11yrs, Lilly 4yrs and Teddy 3yrs. We also have Matilda and Harry our cats as well as miniture goats and chickens. Occasionally horses and donkeys come to help by eating the grass in our fields .... there is a lot of land that gives us great privacy !

    We love being outside in the gorgeous weather we are lucky to have in the Summer months, so if you like the idea of coming to Saint Marcet, sharing a glass of wine alongside a good home-cooked meal in exchange for some help, then we would love to meet you.

    PROJECTS CURRENTLY BEING UNDERTAKEN DURING AUTUMN 2022

    * General Garden Maintenance, pruning, planting of shrubs
    * Tree and hedge trimming
    * Cutting down brambles
    * Help with fixing fencing
    * Renovation of furniture (sanding, staining, painting and upholstery)
    * Caring for animals and their accommodation

    * Current indoor project is complete renovation of a room including new ceiling, rewiring, plaster work, sanding, painting, cupboard building.

    PLEASE NOTE: Previous experience of using petrol equipment like a brushcutter or chain saw would be an advantage if you are wanting to be involved in bramble, tree, and hedge work. Brian is extremely experienced in these areas and will be happy to teach and work along side you.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Improve their language skills, we are predominately an English speaking family. Brian is fluent in French so would be happy to help with French. Caroline would be able to help with English.
    Learn to use DIY and renovation tools and outdoor machines.
    Renovation of furniture and a variety painting techniques
    Learn concepts of permacultural living, recycling, upcycling of furniture and renovation ... (and real cycling if you fancy riding a bicycle up and down the hills ! ), knowledge of plants, propergation and other general gardening skills.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for workawayers to help with both indoor and outdoor projects and have listed those currently being undertaken above.

    PLEASE NOTE: Some of the help required is physically demanding so you need to be fit, and have experience working in outside environments.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ You will need to have your own suitable outdoor clothing, work shoes, gloves etc *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    It is important you can work independently and without supervision at times but only with things you are comfortable undertaking. You should be someone who likes the countryside, rural locations, the outdoors and animals.

    In the Summer it can be VERY hot and because of this we are happy to be flexible with working times ie. to work early morning and late afternoon/early evening.

    Some of the outside work will require the use of electric and petrol tools for which we can give training if you are unfamiliar with these. Examples of the equipment we use are ride on mower, hedge cutters, brush cutter, chain saw.

    Help with caring for the animals, some general household jobs, food shopping and cooking are all things you can be involved with if you need a change from working outside.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We currently offer:
    A bedroom with a double bed and a sofabed.
    There is use of two shared bathrooms.
    There is also plenty of room outside should anyone want to camp or come with their own motorhome.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live in a rural farming community area and the village is small with a church, a local baker, tennis courts, a small fishing lake and a very large village hall that occasionally has an event or two happening.

    We have bicycles available to explore the area although they are not new and it is pretty hilly around here. There are some lovely places to go on walks.

    When possible we are happy to take you to and from our nearest towns Saint Gaudens or Boulogne sur Gesse which are approximately 10kms away.
    The nearest main line train station is in St Gaudens and there is a cheap bus service to Toulouse running from Boulogne sur Gesse.

    Local towns have all the shops and amenities you may need, lovely lakes, walks and markets to explore and offer rail and bus links to bigger cities such as Toulouse, Tarbes and Pau.

    The Pyrenees are an hour away by car and of course public transport can take you to lots of different areas there, where you will find lot of activities, including mountain trails for walking and cycling. There are also many places for canoeing, rafting, paragliding, tree climbing adventure parks, Balnea Spas around the villages between us and the Pyrenees.

    Spain is just over an hours' drive away if you fancy practising another language !

    Nearest Airports are Toulouse, with budget airlines Easyjet and Ryanair flying in and, Tarbes-Lourdes-Pyrenees (sometimes just known as Lourdes) with Ryanair flying in. There are many other airlines that connect with Toulouse.

    There are train links from both Toulouse and Tarbes to Saint Gaudens and a bus link from Toulouse to Boulogne sur Gesse.
    We can collect you from Saint Gaudens or Boulogne sur Gesse.

    Car shares are often available through blablacar

    Coach/buses to and from Toulouse through megabus, flixbus and ouibus. All offering cheap deals from city to city.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    The bedroom available has an area with a sofa and desk to work from and has Wifi access.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a large gated driveway 20 metres off the road suitable for motorhomes

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We can accept pets but they need to be house trained and able to get along with dogs and cats as we have these ourselves. Prior discussion and agreement is required before we can agree the acceptance of any pet with a host.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicação: (5.0)





















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 927722941526