Help with moving/digging soil in my garden, experience remote beaches and wildlife in Port Hardy, Canada

Country

Canadá

atualizado  

Favorito 8 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    23/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I have a large lot in a small rural town where I garden and raise hens. I grow a lot of my own food and enjoy cooking creatively with what I grow. I am an artist, and although I have a broad range of skills, my work is primarily in print media. I am creative and a quiet thinker; I am also productive and outdoorsy, but knee problems limit my mobility. I love water and prefer swimming in cold water. I still work full time, but hope to retire in a few years. My focus right now is improving the drainage in my garden...after all, I live in a temperate rain forest, so a lot of water falls here! I would appreciate help with digging a trench, and my neighbours would appreciate it too!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Ajuda em fazenda

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I am very interested in learning about different cultures, and I would enjoy teaching English. I am also interested in learning French, and would especially enjoy the company of a workawayer who could exchange French for English skills, but I would be happy to provide a cultural exchange from anywhere. I have degrees in agriculture, anthropology and urban studies, so I have the ability to teach English.

    I live in a small fishing village in a beautiful and remote area of coastal Canada, and would love to host individuals who enjoy the outdoors. There are beaches, hiking trails, lakes, camping and boating within a few km of my home. There is dramatic coastal scenery wherever you look. My home is 1.5 km from the closest beach; but there are many beaches in this region.

    You will also have the opportunity to learn about the ancient culture of the local Kwakwa̱ka̱ʼwakw people who inhabited this land long before Europeans arrived in Canada.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I am pre-retirement and enjoy gardening, but I have knee and back injuries so I would like help with heavy tasks around the garden. This summer, my priority is to work on drainage in my yard, and I need a young individual or couple to help dig a drainage trench 12 meters long, and 60cm deep, and move the soil out of the garden beds that are in the way of the natural path of water in my garden. I prefer someone quiet and kind, and you must be physically fit, self directed and focussed, and able to dig and move soil in a wheelbarrow. You can help at your own pace as long as the task is finished before November, when the heavy winter rains start again. You may also be asked to cut lawn or weed whack during your stay. In exchange, you will get to visit one of the most spectacular coastal wildernesses in the world.

    I have a list of my own tasks more suited to my physical abilities, and am looking for someone with the ability to complete tasks that I cannot do myself.

    Potential workawayers will be interviewed via video chat to see if they would be a good fit.

    I have noted above I am looking for a minimum stay of three weeks, but that's mostly because travel is so difficult in this region. If you're travelling in the area anyway, shorter stays are fine, pls contact me. I am not interested in any stays over 6 weeks.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I am a native English speaker, and I am interested in learning French, but I enjoy learning about all cultures.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    I can provide a bedroom in my home with a shared bathroom. You would also be welcome to camp in my yard if you prefer; the bathroom in the house would still be shared. There is a fire pit in the backyard which can be used at any time, unless there are provincial fire bans due to forest fire hazard. I will cook dinner; I am an enthusiastic cook and make mainly vegetarian soups, stews(/curries) and salads. I will provide food for you to help yourself for breakfast and lunch. I have hens in the backyard, so there's often a supply of fresh eggs.

    I have two pet house cats, so would like workawayers who are respectful of cats. If you are allergic, then this opportunity may not be for you.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    You can make your way here from Vancouver either by air, or by ferry and bus. Car rentals are available up here, but if you arrive in your own car, there is plenty of parking. I do not loan out my own car, but there is a regional bus service that will allow you to get around locally. There is endless hiking and camping nearby, and excellent kayaking ( bring your own, there are no rentals nearby). If you prefer the slow life, comb some of the local beaches, or read a good book on the docks downtown. This is a quiet rural community, so If you're searching for urban excitement, this opportunity may not be for you. what you will find is stunning scenery; mountainous coastlines dotted with islands and wildlife. Bears, whales, otters and porpoises are common here.

    There are two small islands that you can visit that are accessible by bus and ferry: Malcolm island and Cormorants island. Both have very unique and creative histories; one First Nations, and the other northern European. Telegraph Cove is also a nice place to visit, and is the place to go if you want to make arrangements for diving, a boat tour, a whale watching tour or a kayaking trip. It is near the Broughton archipelago; an area of deep fiords, many tiny islands and bountiful wildlife.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I have Wifi available in my home

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    I have a large driveway with lots of parking, unfortunately a lot of it is on a slope, so a smaller vehicle would be a better fit. There is a free sani-dump at the regional park 5 km away. local bylaws prohibits campervan/motorhome stays over one month.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 2-4 focussed hours/day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 919715562757