Family-run hostel in safe beautiful mountain town. Brazil



Favorito 16 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

  • Descrição


    We are a house that supports and accommodates pilgrims that come to this region to do the Caminho da Fé, a pilgrimage done by followers of the Marian branch of the Catholic Church. It is based off of Camiño de Santiago de Compostela in Spain. It's a hostel-like environment that offers all guests complimentary breakfast. We are a family of 5, dad Fabio, mum Angela, and sons Fabio (22), Daniel(20), and Thiago(17). We take turns doing breakfast or other shifts, but we've also got extra help at the hostel. Although our guests are faithful and us parents share in their faith, we are very open-minded and accept and are delighted to talk to people of all religions, beliefs and faiths, so feel open to approach us regardless of your faith or lack of it! We are located in Campos do Jordão (campos do jordao), a winter resort town located in Serra da Mantiqueira, up in the mountains of the state of São Paulo but also very close to Rio de Janeiro, with connecting buses coming in hourly to nearby towns and cities, and a daily bus to and from Rio. Fabio is a dentist and Angela is a teacher and director at a school in Taubate, she can give you a lift to and back if you want to see another bigger town. Campos itself is beautiful with thriving nature, and amazing fresh air despite there being good infrasctructure. There's a very touristy neighbourhood called Capivari, where the architecture is based off a Swiss village, with nice restaurants, bars, and shops. In our town we have breweries, chocolate factories, and lots of nature.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Practising languages is something we need and want. Mainly English, but also French, Spanish, Italian... Our sons speak better English but we're looking to improve, so although we try and are very happy to try to converse, we (Angela and dad Fabio) we're not super fluent. We can show you around Campos do Jordao and Serra da Mantiqueira, offer rides and days out, show you our culture and way our life, our food, our interests, and at the same time you can show us about your culture! We love cooking, we love to eat different foods, and grab a nice drink on weekends... Our sons love video games and are very interested in American and Japanese culture. We have family living in Norway so we have travelled. We really are in for the cultural aspect, we are waiting to meet you!

  • Ajuda


    We mainly need general maintance work, we have a few spots and walls that need a coat of paint. We do have ladies that help with cleaning, so even if you during an emergency may have to help with cleaning, it's not the main thing that there is to do. It's mostly general maintance, repairs, odd jobs, and anything else you'd like to bring to the table. Have a special skill? Tell us about it! We need some help at the hostel but this is no ordinary hostel, we don't rely on volunteers, we mostly want to have people over for the cultural benefits! We also love practising foreign languages, especially English, but also French, Italian, and Spanish. If you speak enough Portuguese you can also do shifts when pilgrims and checking in.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    We sometimes can offer private accommodation if there's not that many guests, but it's always a bunk bed in shared bedroom - again, if there are many guests you may have to share the bedroom, as our sons sometimes do - and all facilities available to you. There's internet, washing machine for your clothes, and even a bike if you want to ride it around town. We can give you a lift around if we're not working! You can eat breakfast at the hostel with the guests, lunch will local food delivery but we can buy you supplies to for you to cook your own food, the boys always eat there so you'll have company. We also offer dinner, which can be on your own, we can arrange for special evenings with our friends - who also speak a bunch of languages - or we can cook for you, or you can cook for us... Just don't worry, you'll always have access to the pantry and the fridge, you won't go hungry!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Around us we have Capivari, a touristy village, we are located in Serra da Mantiqueira, a beautiful untouched forest, the climate here is very different from the rest of Brazil. We have untouched woods, ecotourism parks, a cable car, trains, lots of nice little things to see, stunning nature and a very safe town. It's always brisk, sometimes foggy but during the day the sun can shine bright. The cuisine is very strong in the region, with fondue being the main dish, and there's an abundance of ecoturism for you to do with trails, trekking, etc. There's buses running around the town, but you also will have access to a bike, we can drive you around if not busy, and if you are coming from other places in Brazil, we have direct or connecting buses from lots of towns, including a direct bus from Sao Paulo and Rio de Janeiro, and also to the airport of Sao Paulo.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 874142155325