1 / 5

Help in and around our home on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada

  • Canadá
  • Favorito 252 vezes
  • Última atividade: 20 set. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo



  • Descrição


    We are a retired couple, living in a beautiful seaside community on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, 35 minutes drive or 50 minute bus ride to a ferry (40 minute ferry ride) to downtown Vancouver. Our home is on Porpoise Bay with 2/3 of an acre of trees, shrubs, flowers and vegetables.

    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ We are non-smokers & do not want workawayers who smoke or wear scented cosmetics. We have wifi available, but we ask that you NOT be on your phones while working. (We do not have data for streaming movies.) Cable TV is available in your bed-sitting room.

    We need vegetable & flower garden work and help around the house. Some experience with interior house painting is one job high on our list. Exterior & interior cleaning & tidying and cooking (we can take turns but if you really love it you can do it all :0)! Penny is vegan: John will eat fish but we pretty much follow a plant based diet -- cooking fish is OK but other meat is not cooked in the house. We have a BBQ on our attached deck where you can cook (poultry/pork) and clean the BBQ.

    Penny has taught English as a second language and speaks Spanish badly. John, -- a singer/songwriter has an English major degree (a while back) and is also capable of helping with English. He no longer hears well (life as a musician) so slow, clear speech is appreciated and certainly helps learning.

    We like a workaway of one to two weeks but are flexible depending on your circumstances & ours at the time.

    We have kayaks and a SUP for your use. They can be launched right here below the house. We have equipment for tennis, pickleball and other sports equipment and are in easy walking distance to a large wilderness park with huge Douglas fir trees and many other species. This area is known for outdoor activities and visits from animals, mainly deer, racoons, black bears, and elk.

    The bus is a few blocks from our house & connects to many places of interest on the Sunshine Coast. We'll take you to special places not accessible by bus if you like. Some workawayers just like to swim, kayak, hike or relax up on their second floor sundeck overlooking the sea.

    Sechelt is partially located on a First Nations Land so there are aboriginal people & places of their culture to visit, a small museum and various cultural events. We have a good library, movie and live theater, some sort of festival or happening almost every weekend. There is also golf, racquet sports, swimming in lakes, swimming in the ocean inlet we live on, many, many hikes. Sechelt is located on Georgia Strait, (now renamed the Salish Sea) plus a lovely indoor pool in town. There are markets and small malls plus waterfront walks in both lower towns (Gibson's and Sechelt) + other marine attractions, plus the world famous Skookumchuk rapids.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Travellers can learn and/or improve english, the history of this area, much about the First Nations people who settled this land centuries ago -- water sports, hiking and a deep connection with the natural world. If the timing works they can also visit the famous Skookumchuck Narrows.

  • Ajuda


    Outside: Gardening and General Maintenance, which could include moving soil, pruning trees, weeding, vegetable garden maintenance, help with small construction projects, house & carport painting. A person should be comfortably able to lift a small bag of concrete in and out of a wheelbarrow, for example.

    Inside: Help with indoor painting, cooking, cleanup, vacuuming, general & special housework.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I would like to improve my very poor Spanish.

  • Acomodação


    We have a waterfront home and you'll have large, oceanfront upstairs bed sitting room with a balcony overlooking Porpoise Bay. The room has a sofa, a TV, two comfy beds (or one kingsized bed). Almost exclusive use of a large upstairs bathroom tho' we occasionally use the soaker tub. Workawayers are free to use the rest of the house most of the time as well as the garden areas, large deck attached to the house and a deck down by the sea.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is a bus stop a few blocks from our home. The bus goes directly to the town of Sechelt, (15 minute walk, 10 minute bus ride) where a transfer can be made to Halfmoon Bay to the north and to the south of this peninsula two other interesting small towns, many hikes, beaches and to the passenger/car ferry (about 50 minutes by bus and a 40 minute beautiful ferry ride across the Salish Sea to West Vancouver, then bus into Vancouver or north to the Squamish, Whistler sports areas.

    When we can we will drive you to Sechelt or other places.

    The Sunshine Coast is one of the most beautiful unspoiled areas in the lower mainland of B.C., featuring untold opportunities for hiking, water sports, biking, fishing, cross country skiing. Our area is known world wide as a prime scuba diving venue. Skookumchuck narrows, a world renowned tidal phenomenon is a one hour drive + one hour hike away -- passing beautiful clear lakes along the way.

    The city of Vancouver (40 minutes by bus/car plus 40 minutes by ferry) is a world class city worth going online to check out. The towns of Whistler & Squamish are +/- three hours away offering wonderful skiing, mountaineering, rock climbing and partying -- you do need a bit of money for the skiing and partying!

    One could also just lounge on one of our large deck overlooking Porpoise Bay or one down some stairs by the ocean and one off "your" room just to "contemplate your navel" - a local expression for relaxing that I hope doesn't offend anyone.

    Yes, those are deer in our yard, they're not always here and the only thing they harm are our veggies & flowers and occasionally eat bark from trees. We don't know of anyone who has been injured by a deer. The opposite isn't true.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We don't know what this means, but we so usually have good internet access.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We could accept campervans, likely up to 20 feet in length. This would have to be discussed. We could provide it with electricity but likely only cold water???

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais


  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Five hours a day, 5 days a week or a flexible schedule that suits both parties

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 847861619292

Comentário (10)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Come work with us and discover our family and community life in Quebec, Canada
Join us for a homestay experience and Permaculture project with our family from Nicaragua in Quebec, Canada