Off grid in a beachside forest - Rocha, Uruguay



Favorito 128 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Super Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

  • Descrição


    Hi, my name is Santiago. I am currently living off grid in a forest by the beach near the town of La Pedrera, Rocha. I have been working on my cob house mostly by myself and i would like some help to finish it. I have attached some pics so you can see the process of building, by the time you get here the walls will be higher up, I will be using scaffolding so extra hands will make the work more fun and easy. I have done many construction courses and attended cob schools abroad, I often do consulting for other builders too so if you are looking to learn how to build your own house some day, you will definitely walk out of my property with this knowledge. I am also into gardening, surfing, meditation and yoga.

    As for accommodation, there is a 2 bedroom wooden cottage at the property. It has a bathroom with a hot shower, kitchen, fridge, wifi (evenings) and two decks overlooking nature. You would be staying here, sometimes sharing the house with other volunteers, 4 people max in the house. The cabin runs on solar power so you have to be mindful with your power consumption.

    As for food, it's on you, I would like it if you could take care of yourself for breakfast and lunch, of course we will share some meals and I will cook some diners for you (I worked as a cook many years in Costa Rica) but we usually rotate the dinner duty among the group, this has been working out great, everybody comes up with wonderfull dishes.

    You won’t be required to work many hours a day, 3 hours would be enough to help me a lot! the rest of the day you can enjoy the beach or anything else you like to do, but we can always talk about this before you come. I have a truck so we will be able to go shopping as well as surfing or any other activities you would like to do in the area, it can’t be all work!

    I myself have traveled the world and volunteered in many projects so I know what is like to be in your shoes.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos artísticos

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    At my place you can learn about construction as well as gardening, cooking, meditation and yoga. If you wish, you can practice your Spanish with me, i am also a fluent English speaker. Rocha is a great place to meet the Uruguayan culture, the area is almost untouched by outside influence so people talk and behave very much in same manner as they always did. People here are very kind and it's a great place to get a feel of the south american culture and ways. I have also traveled the world so i'll be able to relate to you as well and provide a bridge between you and the locals. More so, the area hosts a lot of expats from different countries and backgrounds which make the socials very enriching.

  • Ajuda


    The most important help i need is with the construction of the house. Mainly i will be asking you to help me make the cob mix to later put it on the walls. Making cob basically involves dancing on mud barefoot, it's a fun cardio workout. I'm at a very fun and creative stage of the work, where all the niches and shelving are coming to life. I have marked the "art project" box above because the house it self is a huge sculpture, i will benefit from your creativity and suggestions. Other locals help me with the house as well so you will be sharing the work with my neighbors and meeting new people all the time. i will be working with you at all times.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação


    Wooden cottage in nature with 2 bedrooms, a bathroom with hot shower, kitchen, fridge, wifi (evenings).

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    As for your free time, there are plenty of things to do. you can relax in nature, hike in the moon valley (a natural reserve 1 block away from my place), bike, surf, fish (i have fishing rods and surfboard). Also the town of La Pedrera is close by and very beautiful. We can also take tiny trips, there's lots of sights nearby as well as friends in other properties around Rocha who are working in their own projects, different from mine and very very cool.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 837236283718