Help with outdoor projects and immerse yourself in the Australian bush on my property at Shark Creek, NSW, Australia



Favorito 22 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Descrição


    Hi team I have a 100 acre property at Shark Creek (30 minute drive to Yamba/Angourie and 1.5hrs from Byron Bay, or 2hrs from Coolangatta airport). We are completely off-grid and currently finishing off a the main dwelling and developing our gardens using permaculture principles.

    In the main house area I have a shed I share with my pooch Boomer (pictured), we are 3/4 way through renovating into a house and a couple who are friends have their caravan camp set-up in their own section a few hundred metres away from the main house.

    We are in the middle of the bush and feels a million miles from civilization, but still only 15 minutes off the main highway and 15 minutes to Maclean that has everything you may need supermarket, post office, fuel, hospital ect.

    Looking for chilled but productive and motivated people who want to escape the rat race for a bit, enjoy some time in the bush, help with some fun gardening and building projects and hopefully make some good friendships along the way.

    This is my second summer on the property and the garden is coming along nicely with abundant herbs, tomatoes, sweet potatoes, pumpkins, corn, cabbages, beets, rockmelons, cucumbers and a lot more.

    We also have big dam to cool off in after a day in the garden.

    This workaway is perfect for someone travelling in a van or self contained vehicle up or down the East Coast and want to spend a bit of time in the Clarence Valley. You will have full access to the bathroom with hot showers, toilet ect and outdoor kitchen/BBQ area. We also have small solar set-up for your power needs.

    Within 30 minutes we have some epic waves in Yamba and Angourie, national parks like Yuraygir national park that have beautiful coastal hikes and lakes and amazing secluded surf and camping beaches at Redcliff, Brooms Heads and Sandon River.

    We are surfers so can show you some of the local spots if you're keen and love to have fires in the evening so you're welcome to do your own thing at your little camp or com up for a feed and a fire.

    As the property is a pretty basic set-up which requires your own camping or van set-up and the only food provide is the veges, herbs and fruit out of the garden you will only be required to do 2hrs work per day or 10hrs per week leaving plenty of time to explore and enjoy the property and the local area.

    Shoot me a message if this sounds like something you'd be interested in.


    Jimmy :)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    On this workaway you will really get immerse yourself in the Australian bush, we have daily visits from kangaroos to dams, kookaburras and pother amazing birdlife as well as the odd family of Emu's that visits every now and then.

    Hiking trails start right from the back door and you can explore some of the well known local track or make through the tracks that run behind the property up to scenic views from the mountain tops.

    I've been study permaculture for 3 years, and over the last 18 months implementing these principles into the property so you can get some great hands on knowledge of growing food, water harvesting, organic soil buidling, composting and all elements of off-grid living ect.

    I'm also an experienced carpenter so you may learn a few skills if we tackle any building projects.

    Myself and Vinnie (my mate who lives on the property with his partner China) are both musicians so a few jams around the fire is never too far away and Cjina is also a dog breeder so if you love animals you'll love visiting their camp and all their little pooches.

  • Ajuda


    Work will mostly involve garden and general property maintenance, potentially some building projects if we are doing any at the time.

    We'll also be trying to make best use of any abundant produce from the gardens by pickling and making sauces.

    If you bring gardening experience that's great.

    Any building experience is also a bonus but mostly just looking for someone who doesn't mind getting their hands dirty and motivated to help out as I building this property into an abundant off gird wonderland.

    I have done Workaway myself before buying this property and loved it, learnt so much and had some great experiences so I hope to provide the same experience for you.

    As I'm just getting started as a host initial stay will be a week maximum just to get a feel for it. Can always extend if it work for both of us.

    As the property is a pretty basic set-up which requires your own camping or van set-up and the food provided is the seasonal veges, herbs and fruit you can pick out of the garden you will only be required to do 2hrs work per day or 10hrs per week leaving plenty of time to explore and enjoy the property and the local area. Happy for you to do 2 x 5hr days or any other combination as not looking to be a boss just to a helping hand for currents projects.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    This workaway is ideal for soomeone with their own sleeping arrangement whether in a van or setting up your own small camp site.

    We also have tents, swags, gazebos and bedding for anyone who needs this supplied, so you can set-up your own little camp site on the property.

    We have plenty of beautiful, open grassland to enjoy the days at your camp, a dam for swimming, big open fire pits, plenty of tank water and a small solar system for your power needs.

    You will have full access to the shower/bathroom in the house and also the fridge.

    I also have an instant hot water shower set-up available if you want to set-up your own private outdoor shower and hot water supply at your camp.

    The outdoor kitchen/bbq area has everything you need for cooking.

    You will have full access to the garden produce which atm provides all our herbs, some veges, salads and fruits daily but you will need to supplement that with some of your own groceries. I'd say I eat about 25% of my daily food from the garden and this is growing each month.

    Internet access is perfect if you have Telstra (I run my business from here hot-spotting off my phone) Other providers can be bit slow but you can always find some reception.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I run a digital marketing business so some days I'll be in the garden or working on projects with you and sometimes will be focusing on computer work.

    Other than that we enjoy surfing, playing music, having fires and just enjoying the slower life surrounded by animals and nature as we work towards the vision for the property.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 2 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 811546887999