Help at our animal shelter in Crete, Greece

  • Favorito 493 vezes
  • Última atividade: 13 jul. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    READ OUR PROFILE CAREFULLY TO CONFIRM THAT IT SUITS YOU, WE CAN PROMISE YOU A REWARDING EXPERIENCE AND YOU WILL MAKE FRIENDS FOR LIFE!

    We are an animal rescue shelter in Crete, Greece, we have more than 250 dogs that need our care. Our beautiful dogs have been given a second chance at life and we offer them a safe, caring home. They have been rescued from troubled environments and off our streets where they were constantly starving and abused. I am one man that has dedicated my life to rescuing these dogs and improving their welfare. We are a donation ‘'not for profit organization only'’ and we are totally supported by donations from all over the world.

    Instagram: ask us for the link

    Facebook: ask us for the link :)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Ideas and skills are very much encouraged. Skills can be in construction, gardening, growing vegetables, picking olives, animal welfare, playing, walking and spending time with the dogs, any social media skills, building work, building fences and kennels.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We need help to manage the day to day tasks around the shelter, take care of our dogs, perform general maintenance on the property and enclosures, assisting with general housekeeping activities and cleaning the shelter. We are also looking to improve the shelters’ infrastructure and make our shelter run as smoothly as possible. We ask for your every day help in exchange for accommodation and basic food to cook your daily meals . We do not provide your meals, you must cook yourself! (we offer everything you will need for basic meals, for any further special requests on meals, you can provide them yourself).

    We would like you to keep in mind that there is no regular schedule. Caring for our dogs is time-consuming and unpredictable. Daily tasks will depend on the weather as well as the needs of the dogs. Keep in mind that they need to be fed at least once a day ,watered twice a day, and their living areas must also be cleaned at least every 24-hours (cleaning up after dogs involves removing dog poop from their living area but this can be rewarding as much as the dogs won't let you go).

    As far as it concerns the general maintenance, it includes tasks such as mending fences, maintaining dog enclosures and building new dogs houses. Sometimes the dogs will destroy their enclosures in an attempt to escape so we have to regularly ensure that they are safe and not able to escape or injure themselves on damaged materials. (This is something that may happen at any time during the day/night, mostly early in the morning) It will be good if you stay alert and help with that! Also managing the stock level of food required, some of our dogs have special requirements, that is special diets to control their health, keeping an eye on the stock we carry is very important.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Greek: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a small house set up which accommodates up to four people, it has a kitchen and bathroom. You will be sleeping in a shared room with 4 beds . Power at the moment is through a solar panels. With time the shelters infrastructure will improve. Currently we are building a second volunteer accommodation which already has a toilet and a some furniture and occasionally used by volunteers when our numbers overlap. we will expect the accommodation to be cleaned regularly, maintaining a clean and healthy indoor environment.
    We do also have a caravan with room for two to sleep… when our main container is occupied you will either stay in our caravan or second container.

    *Minimum stay 3-4 weeks.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Around you is nature and tranquility. Kalo Chorio (Taverne, Cafe) is 1 km away. It's near Gouves (3.5km away from the shelter) . Keep in mind that without a car, it is not much easy to move around! You can always ask to get a ride to Gouves, and we will try our best to arrange it.

    To get to the shelter you can take the bus to Gouves from the main bus station in Heraklion(approximately 30' minutes ride), from Gouves to the shelter the transfer can be arranged from us!

    The shelter is on the countryside so keep in mind that there will be rats and wasps around. But the rats leave the people and their stuff and food alone and the wasps are mostly there in high summer.

    A solar charger or a power bank for charging your mobile phone is helpful, although the phone can also be charged in the volunteer house.
    Contact us for accurate information.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Depends on everyday tasks, weather and the number of people, mostly about 25 hours per week. You can take a day off whenever you need it, please just communicate that before, so that someone else takes over your tasks.

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 798957627257

Comentário (36)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (4.8)











































Help our family with babysitting and tasks around the house in Heraklion, Greece
Look after my dog and enjoy my home near Thessaloniki, Greece