Help us with renovation projects and growing food in the beautiful Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 34 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    19/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    My toddler daughter and I live in the beautiful sunshine coast of B.C. where we run our family farm surrounded by forest.
    I work as a carpenter, we build Natural Building houses with a team of friends. I love the life style of living in a farm, eating balanced organic meals, and breathing fresh air.
    I love traveling too, so I know how valuable is to be in a new place with locals.

    Our home is 20 mins north of Powell River, and 8mins south from Lund. It is somehow remote, although we have close neighbours and share our land with a wide variety of wildlife like bears, cougars, deers, etc.

    We grow most of the veggies and fruit that we eat during the year. We also love gathering seasonally for berries, mushrooms or sea creatures.

    Usually we have several projects going on; clean up, pruning, fencing, planting trees, maintenance of buildings, roads and trails, canning food, brewing some goodies, etc.
    We have a trailer for hosting workawayers/wwoofers/friends/family. It’s cozy, perfect for one or two people; washroom and laundry in the main house.

    Our diet is omnivore. We eat mostly organic food. Cheese, pasta, flour, and grains (except for organic oats) are the only things we don't get organic.

    We expect our guests to help us about 5hrs per day, 5 days a week, flexible schedule. We can arrange the days off to work out with your plans of camping or exploring around, but I mostly prefer if you take off Thursdays and Fridays.

    We don’t smoke, so no smoking inside the buildings please.

    We would appreciate if you avoid using incense, perfumes, and anything that has a strong fragrance.

    Our area is rich in places to explore (check out the Sunshine Coast Trail). We recommend you to stay at least 3 weeks so we get to establish a rhythm of work and a relationship, plus you get to wander around the beautiful place we live in.
    Best activities here are: hiking, swimming, fishing, kayaking, having a beer with your host, etc. If you have a car there are more chances to get to lakes, rivers, beaches, etc. If we have the chance, we will take you to some of these. In town there are concerts or parties where you will get the flavour of the lovely community that we live in.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I know how significant is when you get to share and learn from locals when traveling. I think that's the priceless and best part of going out of home. I would like to offer that experience to you, while I get a hand for getting some things done.

    I'm from Colombia, my daughter is Canadian. We speak Spanish and English, and we love eating organic and balanced meals. Most of our diet is locally grown, by ourselves or by our neighbours; or wild harvested like mushrooms, berries, fish, etc. We will share with you our eclectic way of life, our love for latin contemporary music, our passion for the ocean, boating, picnicking, and so on. I'm also a stone carver, mostly marble/

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    There are several ways you could help us:
    Depending of the season we do seeding, planting, weeding, harvesting, cover crops, fencing, winter garden, etc.

    There are different buildings in the property that need different levels of renovation.
    Currently we want to renovate the insulation of the main house, and at some point this year renovate the mobile chicken coop for having it ready for the winter.

    My daughter is 2.5 y/o, if you like kids, you might love to take care of her while I do the work.

    We share cooking and cleaning up the kitchen for every meal.

    We expect from workawayers being openminded, kind and physically active.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    *Our farm is a Fragrance Free.

    19feet Trailer with queen bed and double sofa bed. Shower and laundry room in the main house. You will have privacy. The plan is having the 3 meals together, we cook and clean together too.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Around our place, are several trails to explore the area, like the Sunshine Coast Trail, which is a great attraction for outdoors lovers. Exploring around by boat or kayaking is highly recommended, check Desolation Sound and Powell Lake.
    Public transportation is not easy, best way to get here from Vancouver or from Vancouver Island is hitchhiking or driving. We can arrange pickup in Powell River or Lund.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    My internet is reliable but on windy days might fluctuate. My data is limited but we can arrange to make the plan bigger if needed. Cell coverage is good so if you have data you will be fine. The trailer has power and comfy, it has a dinning table that can be used as desk.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 794258963141