1 / 5

Help with our hobby horse farm and enjoy rural Amherst, USA

  • Favorito 110 vezes
  • Última atividade: 21 fev. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi,
    I'm Maria, and I live on a family run hobby farm in the middle of Virginia horse country.
    I am a retired educator, and enjoy our quiet farm life tremendously!

    Our farm used to be a commercial horse farm, be we run it just for us and our own animals.
    It has all the fixtures a large farm would have... large barns with stalls, outdoor and indoor riding rings, jumps and trails.

    A visit here would be pretty relaxed. We have things running fairly smoothly so the daily rhythm is repetitive but fun.
    On a normal day, I wake up early and feed the chickens, dogs and horses, usually around 8am. Then we do regular farm chores like weeding the garden, fixing fences, tidying the barns, or whatever needs to be done. That takes a couple of hours at most. Then, just before dark, we feed and do animal checks again.

    For fun I like to hike with the dogs, go birdwatching/photographing, kayaking on the James River or horseback riding. We are in a rural area, so there are lots of outdoor things to do. A guest would be welcomed to join us in our adventures, or head out on their own.

    I am looking for someone enthusiastic and animal friendly.
    I prefer a non smoker and experience with dogs and horses would be great.

    I have a small, but cute, apartment in the barn that can accommodate 1 person, or 2 really close people (it's a queen size bed).

    If you're interested don't hesitate to contact me for more information.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I am a retired educator and my partner is retired forest service. We live in a rural area of Virginia. Horseback riding, hiking and birdwatching are available on the property. The James river is nearby and we have kayaks and a SUP available.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We would like help with the animals and the farm, but mostly we enjoy meeting people from other areas.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I would love to learn Spanish.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Small, cute, one bedroom apartment with kitchenette is available. The bedroom has a queen size bed.

    Workawayers are welcome to join us for all meals. We try to eat healthy with locally sourced foods as much as possible. We are able to eat eggs from our own chickens and vegetables from our garden. We are not vegetarians.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are 3 hours drive from Washington, DC for those wishing to explore the city. Also, about 3 hours drive from Virginia beach for seaside exploring. The Blue Ridge Mountains and the Appalachian Trail are about 20 miles away. We are in a very rural area with many outdoor and horse riding activities.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We do not have cable wired internet, but cell phone access is excellent so we use that and have wifi in the house.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We live on a 50 acre farm and have plenty of space, plus bathroom facilities in the barn.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Only on a case by case basis. We have 4 dogs who are well socialized.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 778219958466

Comentário (2)


Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)




Help me with many projects around the house in Queens, New York
Join our family at our homestead near Asheville North Carolina, USA