Quiet lifestyle, living off the land in Laupahoehoe, Hawaii, USA

  • EUA
  • Favorito 151 vezes
  • Última atividade: 29 mar. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    Hello! I am working with the land in this valley to help it keep producing Ulu, Avocados, Kalo, Moringa, Coconuts and Citrus that have been planted long before I arrived.
    I Love this place, and live more or less with the weather patterns, fishing when I can, usually on a kayak. I am planting more gardens, and can use help with this!
    I usually go to a weekend farmers market.

    I do not sell any of my harvest yet but some day i might!
    Trade is my favorite.

    I have a fairly quiet lifestyle, i do not drink and do not host people that need alchohol on a regular basis.
    The natural world and a sustainable lifestyle are it for me, i cook local foods in simple styles most of the time, which for me is mostly raw if its from the Ocean.
    I try hard to disconnect from phones and the digital world, and appreciate when others do this as well!
    I have fires on the beach and like to be by the ocean at any hour.
    I host within a camping area, with a 4 burner stove and hot water, and a composting toilet.
    I work with you most of the time!

    To Apply;
    Please answer the following questions in your application.

    Where are you coming from.
    What are your motivations to travel.
    What kinds of food do you eat.
    Why did you choose my project.
    What do you do for fun.

    I am looking exclusively for people who are interested in learning about trade and eating from the land. Only here to party and sightsee? please apply elsewhere.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    This part matters to me. I truly want people who are serious about getting away from the "normal" ways of civilization and to take a breath and be somewhere real.
    I am always up for cooking traditional Hawaiian foods, and living as simply as possible.
    The act of giving is a great feeling for me, and we have much that rots away unless it is picked and shared.
    I trade for as much of my diet as i can that i do not produce myself, and am working to fill that gap.
    Currently building a Duckhouse!
    I have been enjoying hosting people from cultures that are different from what i know, and am happy to learn new dishes from your world!

  • Ajuda


    The help is relatively straightforward and will include pulling invasive vines off of food trees, and bagging so we can remove them from the area.
    Digging new garden beds, or cleaning a garden area and spreading mulch is another common thing. Depending on how much of this there is to do, we might have another project, like building new things in the camping area to enjoy.
    I am working towards a treehouse....
    You will break a sweat but not your back. If something is too heavy, etc, i will get it!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Im learning Portuguese i am happy to study together and to help with English skills!

  • Acomodação


    I have a campsite, with a few tents in greenhouse style plastic hoophouses. Inside the tent is a mattress with clean sheets!
    This is very close to true camping, and is life very close to nature. I have an on demand hot water heater for hot showers and dishes and a composting toilet.
    I have solar panels for simple electric, and to charge things.

    There are flush toilets, and cold showers at the beachpark which is about 2 minutes away walking.

    As for food, i enjoy making meals with people, and usually am up for cooking together.
    I can provide a few food products all the time, fish and pork, hopefully soon eggs. Avocados and breadfruit and citrus are seasonal and when in season we have as much as we can eat. I go weekly to the farmers market and trade if i have something to trade, otherwise i will buy some vegetables i dont grow yet and eggs.

    Other things from the store i ask that you get what you need for dry goods, as i really dont eat much beans/rice/bread... Oils i have some Coconut oil and Olive oil usually.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I live by the ocean, directly above the beach park. This is the place i spend most of my time.
    I can take you hiking, kayaking and diving off of this beautiful coast! The water gets deep quickly here and is very good fishing and diving. I travel to other parts of the island usually at least once a week, and can take you with me or drop you off somewhere to explore and pick you up when I return.
    Also, a bus comes a few times a day and i can pick up and drop off from the stopping place. I can give you my best ideas about what is a good place to visit.
    As an addition, i truly am into getting away from technology and usually ask that people turn their phones off when they can in my car... When possible.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Let me know what your pet is and if its somewhat friendly... ;)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    15 hours weekly

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 772662721625

Comentário (1)


Come help build and operate a wildlife and wetlands retreat with us in the Catskills, NY USA
House sitter to look after my adorable kitties in Columbus, USA