Help with construction and animal care at a secluded off-grid farm in the forest near Pokupsko, Croatia

  • Croácia
  • Favorito 117 vezes
  • Última atividade: 04/11/2022

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    ABOUT US:

    We are two women who have settled on 5 hectares in the middle of Croatian forest, 50 km south-west from the capital Zagreb. We are totally off-grid with solar cells and well-water. We are working towards becoming self-sufficient, but as many know, it is a long process. We have goats, horses, dog and cats. Chickens 🐔 will be added when a chicken coop that can keep the fox away has been built 🦊

    We build exclusively eco-structures. That means, we work with the materials we have around. Electricity is minimal, water has value like gold and must be used responsibly, toilet visits are a hole you dig in the forest, bath is in a wash bowl.

    If you have the courage to really test your "survival" skills, however with some modern amenities, feel free to visit us when you come for a trip to Croatia ✈️🚌

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are not Croatians ourselves so, unfortunately, we can't give you an insight into the Croatian culture per se, but this is a great place to have some "you-time" in nature. You'll get the opportunity to work with different projects and try your hand at many things, depending on how long you stay 😊

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Daily work and tasks may vary, depending on needs, the weather, and how many people we are. But we have several projects to work on, which you can participate in, depending on when you come and how long you stay.

    Construction projects:

    * Green roof on the horse shed
    * Green roof over the caravan
    * Toilet/washroom building
    * Assemble metal shed
    * Total renovation of the caravan

    Animal care includes:

    * Cleaning the paddock
    * Cleaning the goat pen
    * Fixing and improving the enclosures
    * Fencing the property
    * Loving the animals :)

    Garden projects:

    * Finding and clearing around fruit trees to give them air and light, and painting them with chalk.
    * Making raised beds & adding what's needed
    * Making small "greenhouses" for the tires & crawling stands for other plants

    We try to work with natural materials to keep the costs down, so you need to think outside the box.

    Appreciated skills are:

    * Hard working, not afraid of getting dirty and ready to give a helping hand with what's needed.
    * Carpenter experience
    * Construction experience
    * Overall handy
    * Ability to work independently


    It is important that you are aware that it gets hot here in the summer, so we get up early and do the work, to avoid working in the heat.

  • Idiomas

    Danish: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Alemão: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    For the adventures type, we have 2 well-equipped hiking-quality hammocks, with mosquito net, tarp and extra winter blanket underneath. If you are more people, please don't hesitate to contact us. We have tent space that can be cleared if need be.

    You are also welcome to camp in your own tent, as there's plenty of space for that.

    For toilet you can choose to go to the forest or get a chemical camping toilet that needs emptying and cleaning every few days. This is your choice. For shower, it's old fashioned with a bucket of water - and we ask that you only use natural soap as all water is reused, and a shower does not require more than one bucket of water.

    For food, we do not have set meal times, but generally eat 1 hot meal and 2 cold meal a day. If you want snacks during the day, you need to provide those yourself.

    The forest is also full of food, so there is plenty of opportunity to test your knowledge and collect for lunch 🌿🌰🍎

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    If you would like to come and join us for a minimum of 5 days, please send a personal message with a few details about you and your travel dates.

    There's a beautiful beach at the river Kupa not far from us (15km). A great place to cool down after a hot summer day. There's also a bar at the beach front for a refreshing drink :-)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a parking spot where you can park a smaller van.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 756875593632

Fotos

Comentário

Off-grid living, gardening and drystone wall building on sunny Croatian island
Help with reviving our old family estate and a mill in the forest in Slunj, Croatia