Permaculture cheese & goat farm in the Serra of Monchique, Portugal

  • Favorito 461 vezes
  • Última atividade: 25 fev. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Located in the beautiful Serra de Monchique, we run our farm along Permaculture and self-sustainable lines.

    We are: Tom and Monique; Oxford our dog, 11 chickens, the goats & our buck Boris and their kids.

    At the moment we are building up a small scale goat dairy business on our homestead. We are looking for people that can help us run our self-sustainable farm and help us with construction works.
    There’s a wide range of things to do:
    Taking care of goats and chickens,
    Helping in the vegetable garden,
    Cooking and cleaning,
    Cutting fire wood,
    Land clearing & fencing,
    Learning how to milk goats (min. Stay 3 weeks).
    For the really long stayers: making cheese.
    Some experience in one or two of these jobs are required.

    We will ask you to be dedicated to the job and fully engaged in our farms live. You can experience what it is like to live on a small scale, more or less self-sufficient farm in the countryside.

    It will be an ideal opportunity for those who want to start their own small scale farm.

    Please read everything first before you apply. And let us know what motivates you to want to come to our farm. Please be honest with us and we will be honest with you so we’ll become a match :)

    An excellent physical condition is a must. The farm is located on a steep slope which you will have to walk up and down.

    A good working spirit and a sense of humor is important to us. The work is well organised and thought and lived through. The jobs will be clearly explained. Taking our explanation to your heart, taking initiative and being responsible for the job is important to us so you will be able to do the job by yourself.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are two Dutch people that moved into the Serra de Monchique some 11 years ago. It would be very interesting to hear from you where you come from and what your adventures in life are. We like a chat and exchange experiences.

    There is a lot to learn on the farm just by doing things and being here. We'll instruct you well.

    How much and what you will learn depend on the experience that you already have & what you would like to learn. You are welcome to join us and enjoy your time here with us.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Additionally to the tasks you will be asked to cook a meal by turn, so we all contribute to the household tasks like cleaning up.

    We ask you to help for 25 hours spread over 6 days.

    The serra is a beautiful spot to volunteer. Your day off can be spend in the mountains and at the sea. However we will ask you not to come here for just that but be sure you will be able to enjoy the hard work on the farm in the first place.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Português: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We will offer you a nice and reliable place to stay. Living in the farmhouse as part of the family during the working hours. For you we have a strawbale house to stay in. Blankets, sheets and towels are provided. There is a roofed semi outdoor bathroom with WC, sink and a shower with hot and cold water. There is a wood stove that keeps you warm.

    The farm house will be open from 8.00 until after dinner during workdays, we will kindly ask you to respect our privacy during the hours that the house is not open.

    We will have breakfast, lunch and have supper together. The main meal will be at lunchtime. For supper we mostly have soup and bread or leftovers from the lunch.

    For us it's no problem to cook vegetarian, but vegan is not in our range since we do dairy and eggs and we prefer to use them in our meals instead of bought products that are not local. Meals are simple and cooked with what we have or is available in the season. Nevertheless the meals are very tasty and satisfying.

    There will always be plenty of tea, water cordial to drink, you can serve yourselfs. There might be someone who makes a cake, and maybe that's you, but there is no guarantee . For the rest of the snacks, drinks etc. you have to take care yourself.

    We have only a very limited internet available through a very expensive satellite connection. Since we need this for the farm and the farm business we would kindly ask you to use your own internet. There is no connection available in the strawbale house, but there is a G4 connection on the top of our land. For some providers there is a connection near the farmhouse.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We do not have a mobile phone reception but you can contact us through Whatsapp and Telegram.

    From our site there is a free bus to Monchique three times a week. From there it is possible to go anywhere. Hitch hiking seems to work as well. There is a lot to visit in the Algarve. Besides beaches there a cultural events in the summer.
    The serra de Monchique is famous for its footpath. You do not need to go anywhere for a good walk, you can just start at our site.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a space for campervans at the top of our land. It has a beautiful view over the mountains. Water has to be taken there from the valley with our car. There is no electricity. Just a beautiful quiet place with a nice view.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25 hours maximum a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 748999847833

Comentário (14)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicação: (5.0)

















Help use create biodiversity in our area in the Beira Alta region, Portugal
Help us with our non-profit reforestation project in Monchique, Portugal