Come and help us put in a small wildlife pond and share our love of music in Alton, Hampshire, UK

Country

Reino Unido

Favorito 120 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    29/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 8 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Come and help us in our "wild" garden, in Alton, in lovely Hampshire. We are a very active retired couple, with lots of interests. We have one dog, a Welsh Springer called Percy.

    We are involved with various charities locally. Joyce has a bric a brac shop in the garage, selling bits donated for local charity. Music is a big part of our lives, Tony plays the organ, piano and trumpet. He is in the local orchestra playing his trumpet, and in the Alton band, playing the trumpet. He is Director of Music in the local church, and we have a very good church choir. We seem to have a concert near by almost every week. There is always music playing in the house, from pop, jazz, to classical, religious, we love most music.

    We are very chatty, lots of debate on lots of issues. We laugh a lot, and house has a happy atmosphere. Tony was born in Derry Northern Ireland, but has spent most of his life in UK, and Joyce was born in Co Kildare Southern Ireland but has been in UK most of her life. We have both also lived overseas, Germany, and Hong Kong. We have travelled a lot, Europe, Caribbean and Far East. We have just bought an apartment in Cornwall, so we are now "in love" with Cornwall.

    Tony also enjoys windsurfing, and we have a small dinghy based at a sailing club on the south coast, about 30 minutes away. Also a lot of interest in techie stuff, computers, wifi, stereo equipment. Cars also take up a lot of our time., we have 3 including a yellow Honda S2000.

    Joyce likes cooking from scratch, and trying lots of different food. I like swimming, pilates, dog walking and I do most of the garden, Tony does the grass cutting.

    The garden is a bit wild, we have lots of birds, pheasants, wood peckers, and this year some gold finches, and gold crests.

    We would like some help in the garden. We are having a small wildlife pond put in in March. We have an area of woodland at the top of the drive, and we want to tidy it up and it would be nice to have someone to do tasks alongside us.

    We would really like someone who has had their Covid Vaccine jab.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    They would gain some gardening experience, we are just putting in a small wildlife pond, so we will be learning about how to look after a natural pond. They could gain some skills in cooking, if interested. We cook from scratch, so lots to learn in that area. There are a lot of amateur concerts in the area, and of a very high standard. They could benefit from the music scene, understanding the organ and how it works, wonderful instrument. Likewise, an understanding and a play on the trumpet or the piano, or singing lesson. Chawton, where Jane Austen's House Museum is located, it is a 17th century house where she spend the last 8 years of her life. The Winchester is only half an hour away, lots of history there, including the cathedral.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We would love some help in the garden. Maybe the odd dog walk, or house chores. Pruning back trees. Spreading compost on plants. Sweeping terrace. Generally I see it as us doing tasks together, so lots of chat, and laughter. We have logs that need splitting, and moved nearer house. we do have a ride on tractor mower, and trailer to move logs.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    En-suite bedroom, with very comfy double bed.

    We enjoy our food, meal times flexible, very happy to fit in with helper. Hopefully he or she can gives us some tips on their type of food, and maybe help us one evening to try cooking from their country.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are a 10 minute walk from Alton town centre. Direct train to London takes 1 hour 15 minutes. Buses to Farnham and Winchester, both about half an hour away. Jane Austin village Chawton is just a few miles away.
    Alton has a steam train The Watercress Line. South coast about 35 mins by car. We would be happy to help with transport if we are free, and show off some of the local areas.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.8)










Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 745128191639