Come help me with gardening and small building projects in Clonbur, Ireland

  • Favorito 66 vezes
  • Última atividade: 16 mai. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi, my name is Stephen and I'm looking for some help getting my garden under control and also some help with some building projects. I have a lovely home overlooking Lough Corrib and would love to get the gardens into shape and ready for a couple of building projects while I have some time off from work. I work in the film industry as a prop maker and so have periods when I'm away a lot on a film and then down time when I'm at home. I have an acre site on a slope with mature trees and lots of overgrown rhododendron and fuscia. I'm completely new to gardening and am now realising how much work is involved just clearing the site for planting and building. I'd love to take a holistic approach incorporating some permaculture and as few chemicals as possible. I'd like chickens, and maybe a goat or sheep to keep the grass and weeds down. I'd like to grow some food and plant some nice flowers and just generally get it looking good. Once the land has been cleared I'd like to build a sauna, hot tub, cabin, tool shed and various planters and other garden stuff.
    The house and area is beautiful and just far enough away but not too far, being 5 kms from the lovely town of Clonbur and 9kms from Cong. There are lots of outdoor activities with amazing walks, wild swimming , cycles, camping, foraging, fishing, boating, sailing, horse riding, hiking all on the doorstep. I have a spare room with 2 single beds which I'd love to get some helpers in. I have lots of books and films and love to fish, hunt, cook, hike...anything outdoors and I'm happy. There are lovely pubs and restaurants in Clonbur and Cong and lots of tourists pass through these towns every day. I'd love to meet people who have good gardening experience, growers, self builders, makers... with a good attitude and motivated. I'd be looking for 5 hours help each day in exchange for all meals and board in the spare room. I like to cook and it would be great to alternate the cooking with my guests. I've lived all over, in the US, Spain, Australia, UK and have pretty good Spanish(or had anyway). I'm very much looking forward to this new experience where I'm hosting as I did something similar as a guest when I travelled and met some amazing people. I'm 43, Irish , eat everything, including vegan and veggie cooking as well as trout and birds that I hunt myself. I have a girlfriend who doesn't live at the property but will come over every week or so or I'll visit her at her place. I'm pretty handy due to the variety in my job and have a full tool kit for pretty much everything from welding to woodworking .Hope that covers everything...if not just ask! Thanks

    Just an add-on to my blurb...it's mid August now and I've just got back from 6 months away so the first jobs I'd really like some help with is deep cleaning the house, getting the gardens under control and painting and freshening up the place. Thank you

    - Stephen

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    So I guess travellers could learn as I do when we start on projects. I've read Walter Segal books on community self building and it's this energy that gets me fired up and what I've been missing. When I work with my job in film it's the group effort which always amazes me....the mega mind, the exchange of ideas, problem solving etc. I can also teach anyone who's interested how to fly fish, boat, weld, woodwork, hike hidden areas, camp on islands and whatever else I can offer.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Gardening/growing
    Permaculture
    Building
    Animal rearing

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Espanhol: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I'd like to keep up my Spanish and happy to practice with any Spanish speakers.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    My house has 2 good sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a good shower. It's spacey and feels homey with lots of lake views and areas to sit out and enjoy a warm day or sit inside and enjoy a book or film by the open fire. The spare room has 2 single beds which would suit two friends or a couple or two strangers. There's also lots of room to pitch a tent if you'd prefer that and more accommodation will become available as we complete projects. You'll have access to all the food in the kitchen and I'd like to alternate a cooked meal with my guests 5 nights a week.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    My house is 50 mins drive from Galway city and there's a bus service from Cong a couple of times a day. 5 kms to Clonbur, 9kms to Cong, 3kms to Cornamona...lovely cycles to both so bring a bike if you have one. It's a tourist area so there's lots to do if you like the outdoors.
    I'm chilled out and open minded but keep my place tidy and would like my guests to feel the same. I'm new to workaway but hosted some guests when I lived in galway and that was a positive experience making many new friends. I also did some couch surfing when I travelled around the world several years ago, which was great.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I'd happily host digital nomads as long as they're willing to get stuck in on some manual labour.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    I have a space down at the front of the house across the road from the lake where workawayers could park their van. Soon I'll have a space up at the back of the house where it will be quieter(off road) but thats not available yet.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    I'd allow well behaved dogs on the property, in fact would welcome them so no problems there. lots of space around for walks and doggy swims in the lake.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 737679273923

Comentário (2)


Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)




Minding boys and helping with daily life in Kenmare ,Co Kerry, Ireland
Welcoming help in our home along the Wild Atlantic way, Kerry, Ireland