Learn about plants and animals, permaculture, sustainability and local history in a stunning rural part of South West Wales

Country

Reino Unido

atualizado  

Favorito 348 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    29/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Update: From October to April we will only be able to host someone staying in their own campervan or caravan.

    We are a mother and daughter team living in a stunning, rural part of south west Wales near the Brechfa Forest and moorland in Carmarthenshire. We have an extended family of pets including horses, ponies, cats, dogs and ducks mostly rescued.

    Two years ago we moved into a neglected 18 acre smallholding. We are looking for help to support us doing things like: gardening, decorating, repairing out buildings, clearing overgrown areas, field fencing, caring for and expanding our vegetable garden, building work, generally setting up and bringing back to life a smallholding. We would love help with any of these. If you have some experience great but if not we will happily teach willing helpers.


    There is plenty of opportunity to enjoy the copious wildlife. We often watch red kites and buzzards hovering above the fields. We can see foxes, badgers and sometimes glimpse a deer, or see the many rabbits close up. There are plenty of bats around too in the evenings. We love looking after animals and gardening, preferring a wildlife friendly garden approach.

    Future projects include constructing a cordwood wall from our own timber, putting up a greenhouse, lots of new fencing and mending existing fences, planting hedges, planting up veg/fruit garden, constructing a blockwork wall and paths, creating new veg beds and building a little shower room. Any help would be greatly appreciated. In return we aim to offer a place to stay that benefits from a lovely location, share our meals with you and support you to enjoy the local area. We are vegetarian so meals are veggie based.

    The smallholding is amongst mature trees and hedges with wildflowers all around. There are good views as well as sheltered, private areas to enjoy, a pretty natural area of ferns, trees and flowers surrounding the house and stables area, many fields to explore including a wildflower meadow. There are beautiful walks to enjoy in the local forest or adjoining 200 acres of SSSI ( Site of special scientific interest) moorland. Mountain bike trails are close by too as are castles, botanical gardens, etc

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I am happy to help with learning to speak English and enjoy meeting new people and chatting about a variety of subjects. Pleased to share my knowledge of plants and animals, local history and customs.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Ideally help is for 4 to 5 hours 5 days a week but can be flexible as to when. Looking for anyone who is good at DIY and odd jobs eg. new fencing and mending existing fences/hedges, making and fixing gates, doors (carpentry skills most welcome), building, gardening, decorating. However there are plenty of less skilled tasks to be done such as, digging, making paths and steps, painting, weeding, clearing and reorganizing sheds and planting etc. There is plenty of general smallholding work such as helping with ducks, ponies and horses.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We currently have camping facilities available for workawayers. We have constructed an eco compost loo in a little wooden shed. There is also a gas heated shower and second compost loo in a pretty woodland setting. A small van which works well as a sleeping area ideal for one person along with an undercover seating area, tucked away under an old oak tree and fairly secluded amongst bushes. There is an adapted stable with electric point. kettle. fridge, microwave, coffee maker, chairs etc.
    There is wifi signal just outside the house, but it doesn't reach the tent. Phone signal can be patchy here but we generally get one or two bars signal in various places about the property with a fair few providers.
    Three good meals a day are provided but breakfast is provided but we ask you to prepare it yourself.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are on the edge of the beautiful Brechfa Forest with many hiking paths and mountain bike trails to explore. There is a 200 acre SSSI site next to us where wildlife abounds. There are a number of gardens to visit in the locality including the Welsh national botanical gardens , Norwood and Aberglasney. Castles are another fascinating feature. If you do not have your own transport it would be good to be aware that we are a mile and a half from the nearest bus route. and approximately 6 miles from a train station. We do go out several times a week and could give a lift then but our life is centered around home. Although we enjoy company and getting to know new people we also need times of privacy and respect yours so there will be plenty of time for you to enjoy the lovely surroundings.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We would love to host travellers with their own vans too. We have a carpark with space for 2 vans up to long wheel base size or luton.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Can possibly accept pets if good with other dogs, ducks, cats and horses etc.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4 to 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (25hrs max)

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.8)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicação: (5.0)






















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 732753996236