Help out on our permaculture homestead located in the Southern Oregon Coast Range, USA

Country

EUA

Favorito 376 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    04/12/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    332

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are Dan and Micha and are the latest stewards of our farm and land, a 27 acre homestead located in the Southern Oregon Coast Range. A clean and clear mountain creek runs the length of the property. We practice permaculture techniques with an eye towards sustainability. We care for goats, pigs, chickens, ducks, bees, dogs, and cats. There is an orchard with a variety of fruit trees including apples, pears, plumbs, cherries, kiwi, and figs. There are perennial grapes and berries. Our veggie garden houses multitudes of foods that last us throughout the year; fresh, dried, canned, fermented, and frozen.

    We are a couple in our late 30s who love to work, laugh, create, and sing. We believe that empathy and compassion are the key to transforming the world into a better place. Our journey to steward such a piece of land was born out of love for nature and the understanding that we, as a civilization, have lost touch with the food we eat, the resources we consume, and the impacts of our collective decision-making. Our intention is to be the change we wish to see.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    There is a lot to learn on a homestead as diverse as our farm. There is also a platform to share. We not only seek those who wish to learn, but more so, those that wish to collaborate. This farm has lasting imprints from multitudes of volunteers over the years. It's a canvas we can all respectfully add to.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Workawayers are expected to help 5 days a week, 5 hours a day. Task ranges from daily chores like milking goats, feeding animals, and helping in meal prep, to garden/orchard, to larger group projects like building hugelkultur beds, to specialized jobs that interest the volunteers. For example, if one was interested in bee keeping, fermentation, and compost building, we can cater hours towards learning those skills as long as it fits within the framework of what we do. Weekends are off and free to explore the the stunning forests and waters that populate our bioregion.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    All food is provided. We appreciate diets that can be mostly met with what our farm produces. Omnivore, vegetarian, vegan are all welcome.

    The volunteer quarters is a renovated room in the barn. It sleeps one or two and has both plumbing and electricity. A private flushing vermicompost outhouse is a short distance from the room, as is the outdoor shower.

    Internet is free to use, but absolutely no illegal downloads. Starlink is pretty fast internet, but heavy usage should be avoided in peak times when the internet slows.

    Our land is full of beauty and exploration opportunities. You can hike into the forest or soak in our cool, clear stream on a hot day.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Weekends are free to explore. Weekends may not necessarily be on Saturday and Sunday, but will always be two days in a row. Sometimes we take work-traders on group trips up to the old growth, swimming holes throughout the forest, scenic drives to waterfalls, wild edible mushroom foraging locations, etc.

    Our main criteria for volunteers is that they are compassionate, kind, conscientious, hard-working, honest, respectful, and drama-free. We hold ourselves to these same standards, and if any of these traits is lacking a stay will not work out.

    We ask that volunteers be at least 21. Our preference is 25 or older, but we are willing to make exceptions based on our interaction. We also ask for a month minimum stay as has been our experience to be an ideal amount of time for host and volunteer alike. If a volunteer does not have any reviews from previous workaway experience, we may ask contact info for previous employer or host reference.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Yes, high-speed internet available throughout property.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25 hours maximum











Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 726166167743