new host  

Join a French family and help with our permaculture projects in Olhão, South Portugal

  • Favorito 5 vezes
  • Última atividade: 15 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a French family of four living in South Portugal. At the Quinta do Timon, we are trying to implement a life logic agriculture project with as much biodiversity as possible. Our 2.6 ha/6 1/4 acre plot is composed of citrus, carob, olive, fig, almond and other fruit trees, half acre vegetables, three dogs and two cats roaming free and fish in the tank. We are focusing on the farm inhabitants food autonomy, the surplus would be offered.

    My wife Cécile and I, Laurent, have had a organic farm project since we met 24 years ago. We have begun to realize it here in Algarve for 8 years now. We invite you to discover what we are trying to implement. The main idea behind it is to ape organic life by growing as many different a plant as possible, to plant trees in the dry lands to shelter the soil from the harsh summer sun. We've rejuvenated our orange plantation with grapefruits, limes and tangerines. We are also renovating the hundred-year-old house.

    We are practicing a mix of permaculture, organic, biodynamic farming working these principles around with the harsh Algarve climate. We work by hand as much as possible but still we use two small tractors to shred wood branches and scar the soil twice a year to keep it moist longer. We also mow with the tractor but with a little help we like to use scythes to do it as we did the first summer we were here.

     We need help in the field as well as in the house. Laurent has built a 50-sqm shed, our 100-year old house needs restauration and improvements, we'd like to build another yurt-shaped shed, two dry toilet shacks, a new doghouse, a solar panel structure, we'd like to fence the orange plantation to secure the chicks inside, to plant more trees in the dry non-irrigated areas of our plot.

    Help is needed for daily activities too like cooking, animal feeding, pruning trees, yielding fruits and veggies, watering, etc.

     Hence the farm offers a wide variety of tasks for the younger to the older, from the stronger to the wiser : François has heart problems, he cooked for us and crushed almond shells every day. Marie-Claire was raised in the city, she is a hair dresser, she did prune the trees. Mamadu is strong and willing, he mounted double glassed windows, dug holes for tree planting. Anne is a music teacher with a special milk and gluten free diet, she cooked for us to be certain it would fit her diet and taught music to the children. We are sure that you will find a way to help us with your own skill and will.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We speak Portuguese, French and English. Apart from farming experience, My wife is an creative potter, she teaches a new moulding technique called Touroulage. I used to be a professional skipper and a yachtmaster instructor. I’m knowledgeable in old building restauration and passiv haus conception.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are curently building a wooden carport as may 2024. We plan to clear our vegetable plot, build wooden shades for caravans, finish tiling the farm roof, make a new terrace in front of the house. I have also a special side project : I’m building an outrigger canoe which I wish to finish before the summer.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Português: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    There are two 2/3-people trailers to host you. We share our bathroom. We do not smoke, we do not do drugs hence we would prefer to host non-smoking guests.
    A day's work begins with the sunrise, in the summer we work until 1pm in the afternoon with a break for breakfast around 9-10 am, and work another hour at dusk to water the plants and feed the animals. We rest in the afternoon or go to the beach to cool down when it is too hot. Afternoons and Sundays are off. We eat together during working days except on saturday night and Sunday.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is a good train service along the South coast of Algarve from Vila Real de São António to Lagos. There are ferries to the Islands of Ria Formosa and back country trails to explore.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have hosted wwoofers with small campervans as our driveway is a narrow dirt track.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 693382494591

Fotos

Comentário

Wood work and forest maintenance with a National Geographic photographer in Arrabida Nature Park near Lisbon.
Experience rural lifestyle at a watermill in Ponte de Lima, Portugal