We need companions to dog sit who enjoy farm life in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 353 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    10/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    95.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi! Our names are Patrick & Valencia and we have recently closed our farm business down to the general public, but we still have a few animals left as company and for our own meat. We are organic and practice no-till, regenerative methods with a focus on building topsoil and planting native species for the birds and bees. Our farm is 160 acres of fields, forest, marsh and natural springs. We allow wildlife to build homes here and coexist with us. We have had fox kits born on the farm, and are always adding more bird houses, owl and bat houses, and more flowers and shrubs for food sources. We selective cut lumber to build with, and mill it right here on the farm. Our footprint is smaller than conventional farms but we still have a ways to go yet, like putting in water catchment's this summer on the barns, and adding solar power for our air bnb cabins we will be building this year with our own wood and second hand furnishings. You can check out our social media account - ask us for the link

    In the past 2 years we have hosted over 50 volunteers from around the world of all ages, genders and races. We try to make everyone feel like they are welcome and have built lasting friendships with our workaways. We hope to meet more people and learn new things over the winter if you choose us as your host.

    Over the winter we are both working outside of the farm, and it would be wonderful to have someone to act like a house sitter/dog walker and be here while we are away during the day, or when Valencia is sleeping after working a night shift. We have 5 dogs, big to little, that love people but love walks more. With us both gone so much we need someone to take them out everyday and be here to keep them company. They are our children. So you have to love dogs to be the right person.

    We aren't asking for much right now. You will have your own room with a double bed and wardrobe. Internet, Netflix, and access to craft supplies and paints.

    We want you to do the basic animal chores twice a day, which means watering & feeding the 15 laying chickens, 2 goats, 2 pigs and turning the hose on for the cattle and running it for 40 mins. It takes about 1.5 hour per day for everything (combined morning and night). Once a week we lay down more bedding for the cows and chickens. We practice deep pack bedding so there is no cleaning out of the stalls or barns. We just keep adding over the winter and it starts to decompose on its own. We use it for gardening and to add nutrients to the soil.

    We ask that you bring firewood inside, keep the fire going, walk the dogs once a day or in bad weather just let them out. Some housework like sweep the floors, wipe down the bathroom. And maybe chop some veggies, stuff like that. You can relax in the afternoon, watch TV, read, paint, or go for a walk. We have lots of trails through the forest and snowshoes you can borrow. We have a great hill for sledding on!. It's about 4 hours a day we ask. That leaves lots of time to explore the area.

    In the past we would train people on driving tractors, cutting wood, building etc. If you want to learn these things we are happy to teach you, but the main job is the feeding/watering, walking dogs and keeping things tidy. We aren't perfectionists and often the house is messy, and in winter the floors get dirty from firewood and wet dog feet lol so we need help with that.

    We think our reviews speak for themselves. In the last 2 years we have had some helpers stay for a week, some for 6 Months. We have made incredible friends. And even though we enjoy our privacy and quiet, we miss having that extra person here to keep the dogs company and pitch in. It's hard running a farm and working fulltime in town. You are welcome to hang out with us in the evenings, we won't send you to your room after dinner!

    We can let you use a vehicle on the days Valencia is home (which is half the month). Just pay for some gas.

    We cover all your food and laundry. We eat very healthy but still enjoy a treat or 2. We eat very little starches. Mostly meat and vegetables and try to be gluten free as much as possible. We cook big meals a few times a week to cut back on time spent cooking. Leftovers are great.

    We would love to meet you! Send us a message and we can see if we fit!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Vegetarians can come and learn about ethical and humane meat production to give them an idea of what really happens on a small pasture-based operation- see that we are not cruel heartless killers who truly do love our animals. We want you to experience the joy of raising livestock for food and how the earth can actually benefit and heal from eating food right in your backyard. Help reduce your food footprint by eating food raised right here on the farm!! It doesn't get more local than that!

    We offer the chance to see the famous Land 'O Lakes region, and enjoy everything it has to offer for outdoor activities. We offer bicycles, a vehicle for touring the area and a canoe too!

    We hope to learn much from you, and will be asking you questions about your other workaway jobs, and listening to your stories about other countries and farms you've been to. You can suggest new ideas or ways to do things and we will listen and put them into practice if they make sense, giving you the chance to teach us and show off your skills!

    We live in an area full of conventional farms and cash crop operations. We are trying to lead by example and show others that there is a way to farm ethically that improves the soil and creates more biodiversity.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Basic animal chores : feed & water 2 goats, 15 chickens, 2 pigs, water cows.

    Dogs: let dogs out, walk dogs for 20-30mins

    Housework: sweep floors, clean bathroom once per week.

    Meals: if you can cook and want to great! If not, chop veggies.

    Firewood: carry inside from garage, keep fire burning in stove.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Bedroom inside house with double bed, large wardrobe and windows.

    Access to internet, laundry, kitchen, bathroom and anywhere in the house or outside

    Electric Plug in for mobile camper or rv

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are more than happy to pick you up in Napanee (preferred), Kingston or Belleville. The bus can be taken to these cities.

    There is plenty to see and do less than 1 hour from the farm and you can get mostly everything you need in Napanee. Special items can be purchased on weekends when we go to the city or during your day off.

    We like to relax in the evening and watch some tv after working all day, but Valencia enjoys playing games too and we have a few good ones. We also enjoy evening CATWALKS, but you will see what that means when you get here. We hope you like animals lol

    Smoking is allowed everywhere outside EXCEPT the barns/sheds. CIGARETTE BUTTS and BEER CAPS are to be kept OFF the ground. Marijuana and minor alcohol consumption is allowed during your time off. No heavy drinkers. No smoking pot while driving equipment or operating machinery. Anyone not following these rules will be asked to leave immediately.

    We hope to host you soon! Thanks for reading.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have power for you.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Only friendly dogs allowed. Cats are not allowed inside the house due to allergies.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    20 hrs per week as help vary by season

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.9)






























Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 679323237241