Like minded helpers welcome to make our place sustainable in Bostic, North Carolina, USA

  • Favorito 91 vezes
  • Última atividade: 18 jul. 2024



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas



  • Descrição


    When my husband Chris and I (David) decided fifteen years ago to escape the madness that Florida has become, we bought a 10.9 acre piece of land in Western NC. We secured a land-use contract on 20 acres attached. We're not in "the mountains" but the views are OK. The more we learned about where our food comes from in the US, the more disgusted we got. We moved here to be as self-sufficient as possible. We have nearly accomplished that and want to progress to providing healthy food to the community in exchange for the things we can't produce (cheddar cheese, potato chips, wine, gasoline, electricity, cell phones).

    We're looking for like minded folks who are able to devote time into making our place sustainable to feed all of us. We've done a great job with dairy, beef, pork, goats, & chickens, as well as swans, exotic birds, rabbits & guinea pigs sold as pets. We own the only pet supply store in Rutherford County, North Carolina. That is our income. The farm so far does not bring in any revenue--it is our means to produce the food all residents share.

    We hosted a few helpers in '22 and another dozen or so last year. We found that some were coming to learn and help and others are seeking a cheap place to live as they explore the Carolinas. We can accommodate both, but the sooner we figure out which you are, the better your stay will be.

    As a gay couple in a fairly conservative region, we've experienced less homophobic aggression than we did in Florida or Michigan before that. We own the only Pet Supply store in Rutherford County and the subset of locals that "ain't gonna buy dog food from queers" is much smaller that we'd anticipated.

    There are two barns built in the 1950's that house the goats and cows now. One of the fist workers to come here did most of the work to complete a nice woodshop for working on projects. Last year we built a large aviary for the swans, macaws, cockatiels and bunnies we raise. The hoop tunnel up by the main house is covered with corrugated fiberglass and has a grey water stream to the upper pond that is in the process of being reconstructed. The tractor is a '75 John Deere with a passable front loader.

    We have a dairy cow named Maybelle, and her daughter Hallie Belle and great granddaughter Lunabelle. A bull and two steers are currently growing for beef. We have four goat moms, and one-horned billy goat named Oreo is daddy. Ten American guinea hogs are growing for meat. We also have a flock of chickens producing eggs and meat, but we want to change our approach to chickens this year.

    A lovely family of five stayed in our single-wide for several months at the beginning of last year. Dad led in the creation of a very nice 1/2 acre garden, set up watering infrastructure and planted tons of vegetables and herbs. The family jumped at a much better opportunity just as harvest was starting, but the rest of us very much enjoyed the fruits of their labor. We gets lots of berries, but of the eight or nine fruit trees we planted, we’ve only been successful with pears.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We would love to share whatever knowledge and skills that we can with others, and hope to also learn a few things ourselves! We get into a few other activities here such as pressure canning, making cheese/yogurt, and occasionally baking. The property we're on also has a lot of interesting history.

    The land we now call the farm has been farmed since the 1800's by John Braddy, his son Charley Braddy, and then in the 1920's through early 80's by grandson Claude Braddy. The property fell into serious disrepair as Claude's widow Alda aged. She died about a year before we found the property. We've been told how Claude was famous for miles around for sweet potato starts and watermelon. He kept cattle on the back 20 acres that is now a pine forest. Their only living daughter shared pictures of the last in a long succession of mules used to create the prolific terraces and innumerable other tasks. She says the very poor family never really had to buy any food because everything they ate came from working the land. Several Braddy's are buried in the cemetery directly across the "highway".

    Abraham Lincoln's mother, Nancy Hanks, was an indentured servant to Abraham Enloe just up the road from our farm in Bostic when Tom Lincoln took her away in 1807 to Kentucky. There is compelling evidence you'll see at a local museum, that Abe may have already been born before they left. It is certainly worth the two hours it takes to digest the story.

  • Ajuda


    We've got plenty to do around the house and gardens. You will be expected to put in about five hours a day f days a week. The rest of the time is yours. Morning chores include milking (a second milking is also done in the evening), feeding pigs and cows, taking care of swans, and feeding the adorable pet store animals we raise on the farm. This time may also include other farm work such as barn mucking, unloading hay etc. Once morning chores are done the rest of your working time can go towards one of the many projects we currently have going on the farm.

    - Build a woodworking shop ✔️
    - Set up a new milking parlor
    - Pan and layout Irrigation system for garden✔️
    - Reconstruct the back end of the greenhouse
    - Set up the second greenhouse near the pavilion.
    - Replace the rope on the rope swing
    - Muck out last years hyacinth from the lower pond
    -Get the pool up and running early this year
    - Relocating the aviary
    - Constructing new pig feeding system
    - Erecting fence around a few more pastures

    We have our sights set on starting a farmers market area in our retail store to sell dairy products, but that plan is still in our heads.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Sign language (American): Iniciante
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Italiano: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    Our farm is the last property up Bostic-Sunshine Highway before you enter the town of Bostic. We have just over 30 acres in all and five separate living spaces (as well as spaces to camp)

    A few years ago we started building a 16'x16' cabin with a sleeping loft. It has a functional tub/shower & toilet installed and a nice southern facing window in the kitchen area. The kitchen was completed last year, but the stairs to the loft need to be built soon. It is a very peaceful and quiet space.
    The bathroom was designed with a separate entrance in order that it be shared with other workers are staying on property with limited shower abilities.

    We also have a two bedroom single wide mobile home. It has a fully working kitchen and single bathroom with a tub/shower. The availability of this space may vary depending on when you come. This space would be great for a family, a couple & a single workawayer, or for two single workawayers to share if they are comfortable.

    We have two RV trailers, each with a full size bed. One has a small twin in the rear, the other a much larger bathroom. These spaces also have functioning kitchens

    As another option, we also own a pretty riverfront property cut off from roads or electricity by the railroad that would be suitable for someone looking to camp off-grid. The compensation we ask for from primitive campers is to complete projects out there that make the space more usable. You can bring your ideas or we can brainstorm together, but final decisions on which projects to do will be ours to make.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Halfway from Charlotte to Asheville, this region grew up as the last place to stay before you get into the mountains on your way Out West. Both cities are must-see locations in North Carolina.
    It is a beautiful 50 mile drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and all it's majesty.
    Lake Lure, where Dirty Dancing and parts of Last of the Mohegans were filmed is a half hour away.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    The internet speed here can be slower than in urban areas.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We can accommodate any size camper or RV.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Depending on how many workers are already on property, we may or may not have a safe space for worker's pets. Ask in your first correspondence if you plan to bring a pet.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Basic chores take 2-4 man hours per day. That gets split evenly among workers and hosts. Beyond the chores there are many projects. We expect all workers to be involved somewhere around 5 hours each of five days.

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 646996987421

Comentário (1)


Homesteading in Southern Oregon, USA
Join our laid-back queer commune and enjoy the vibe in New Jersey, USA