Looking for help on our organic off-grid Quinta in Central Portugal - on the way to become self sufficient

Country

Portugal

Favorito 257 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    24/04/2022

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a family living in a paradise land in Central Portugal : Marie (Belgian), Gabor (Hungarian) and our little boy Elouan (3 years old). We are also living with two dogs (Guanche and Kizu), a cat (Fluffy), a pig (Specky), a rooster (Hey Hey) and three chicken.

    Gabor and me met in Canaries Islands, where we lived during two years (including one year in a beautiful community). We also lived together in Belgium, where we welcomed our little one, and where Gabor spent one year and a half working in organic agriculture and forest management. About two years ago, we left everything we had behind us to realize our most beautiful dream : find our true home, where we could live in real harmony with Nature, and create an abundant Heaven to be self sufficient.

    This is now our second year on the land, a magical place of 2.3 hectares. We are completely off-grid, with our own water and solar powered electricity. We are very lucky to have more than a hundred fruit trees of all kinds : olive, apple, peer, peach, figs, lemon, orange, tangerin, apricot, vines, almond, chesnut,… and many more ! There is here an amazing biodiversity and thriving ecosystem already into place, including an incredible variety of plants and trees but also insects, birds and various animals.
    This is a perfect base to begin ! Still, as we are just starting our project, there is really much to do. So, we are looking for motivated helpers, open minded people who love to work and are interested to experience and develop with us an healthy and sustainable lifestyle.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Here is a perfect place to (re)connect deeply with nature and with yourself.
    With us, you can experience and learn about self sufficient and off-grid life style. Because it is the beginning of our project, this is a great opportunity to be involved in the design process and to discover practically how to put into place some of the most interesting systems and techniques on which we will rely for the years to come. As we are developing and learning a lot too, you might also have a glimpse at the kind of questions and challenges this way of life can confront. And at how to find and put into place solutions !
    For us, being self sufficient and live in harmony with our ecosystem and the Planet is also a constant search for consciousness and coherency. Thus, if your are open for it, you might learn to thing further than usual about your personal responsibility and impact into this world.

    The most interesting to learn here, according to us, will be about gardening : permaculture but also bio intensive, ecologic gardening and food forest designs and techniques (specially those adapted to warm and dry environment). Vegetables and fruit trees, seeds. Water saving systems and natural fire breaks. As well as food transformation and conservation.
    There will be building skills to learn as well. As work with lime mortar and lime painting, and wood.

    On the side of that, we are getting very engaged into a « zero waste » process. Still far from the zero, but we will happily share with you all the tips and recipes we know.
    Gabor and me also have experience about life in community, and we will enjoy to share about it with you if you want to.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    *** We are reaching the end of the house renovation, and we really need some help to clean the building site and give back to the land its former beauty ! ***

    There will also be other missions as :
    - Gardening (integrating permaculture but also bio intensive, ecologic gardening and food forest techniques) : preparing the soil for new vegetable beds, seeding, weeding, watering, mulching, composting, harvesting, making our own seeds…
    - Food conservation (some techniques will be our first time so we will experiment, but we want to put a serious focus on this) : jams, dry fruits and herbs, making conserve, fermentation…
    - Work on the land : pruning the fruit trees, clearing the land (cutting brambles and bushes), creating natural fire breaks against wildfire, establish different water collecting and saving systems, prepare firewood.

    But the after building cleaning will definitely be the main focus. That means the work is gonna be quite physical.

    We will of course take into account your personal interests and skills. However what we will do together will depend first on the season and on what is needed at the time.

    We are expecting you to help us 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Furthermore, we also ask you to share with us the daily life tasks (cooking and dishes).
    Please, note that the summer weather can be very warm, so we will probably want to adapt our working time around this.

    (Please, take into account that most of the labour we will do here is going to be physical. Farm life and autonomy are exciting and a great opportunity to learn what we believe are the most valuable knowledge and skills. But it also involves a fair amount of hard work ! If you have any reservation about this, please do not apply! )

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Hungarian: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The accomodation here is, at the moment, very basic and we do not have the usual modern comfort.
    Depending the avancement of the house renovation, and were we will be sleeping ourselves at the moment, you might sleep in tent. There is plenty of very beautiful spot to camp. You can bring your own tent, or we can provide a small one (with mattress, blankets and pillow).
    We also have a very good and comfortable caravan with electricity and a little kitchen. When we will not need it for ourselves (during some phases of the the house renovation), it will be for you !
    If you are travelling by van or camper, we have a very nice, flat and shaded spot for you to instal yourself.

    We have solar powered electricity. So you can charge your phone, computer, camera… By choice, we are living without fridge or freezer.
    We have a compost toilet and an outside shower with cold water. During the warm and sunny days, the water is warmed up by the sun.
    We will provide for you three meals a day : breakfast (porridge, fruits…) , lunch (sandwiches) and dinner (cooked food). The food is vegetarian and, as much as possible organic. We gonna eat seasonal fruits and vegetables of course. And we will probably be playing a lot, to find new ways to prepare the vegetables and fruits that we will harvest in abundance. Most of the time, we bake our own bread.
    (We do not provide snacks).
    Depending how we organize ourselves, we might not eat our breakfast at the same moment. But we will eat the lunch together. And cook the dinner together (our take turns). The dinner is usually the moment for us to exchange about our day, and to plan what will be done on the next day.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    With no neighbor in sight and its abundant trees and flourishing nature, the land offers plenty of privacy. During your time off, you can enjoy its peace and ressource yourself in the soft shade of the trees. Practice yoga, meditation, observe the birds… or just read a book in the hammock.
    Even if it feels isolated, we are only ten minutes walk from the village. There you can find bars, nice pastry with free wifi. We are about 15 minutes drive from Tabua and Oliveira do Hospital, and about 40 minutes from Serra da Estrella. The nature around us is magnificent and there is plenty of walk to do. The Mondeigo river is very close and there is possibility to make Kayak. We also have many very beautiful river beaches around, where you can refresh in the cold water.
    The alternative life is very active in our area ! There is plenty of projects in the same spirit than ours to discover, and as many interesting people. Many workshops are organised. And there is several free hippie markets every month. You can also find yoga courses. And of course some partys from time to time.
    The locals are very welcoming and open hearted, and the local markets and festas are a very good opportunity to discover about the rural Portuguese culture.

    A bit further, we are about 1h from Coimbra, 1h30 from Figueira da Foz and Porto. And about 3h from Lisbon. There is a train station close by and we can drive you/ pick you there if you need.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.8)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (4.5)









Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 631376724279