Country Living, help around our little piece of heaven with a variety of home owner tasks, Washington State, USA



Favorito 278 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 28 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

  • Descrição



    My husband and I live on 5 beautiful acres of wooded land in the great northwest.
    We share this wonderful maritime area with bald eagles, pileated woodpeckers, hawks, barred owls, great blue heron and a variety of seasonal birds. Bats and dragonflies hunt over the pond, where frogs sing by night from early spring to late summer.

    Over the past 34 years of raising our family here, we've integrated into an exceptional community where we continue to build our home and dreams.

    My husband splits his time between managing an online business that sells world class tools for technical analysis of financial markets to individuals. He is an experienced journeyman carpenter who has built many of the large homes on the island and is now is working on projects at our place. But his real gift and passion is music. He is an exceptionally talented musician, playing a wide range of percussion instruments as well as keyboards. His primary instrument is the vibraphone, around which he organizes bands, providing great local music for various occasions like weddings, anniversaries, house warmings, gallery openings, funerals and fundraisers. At one time he spoke Mandarin Chinese and some Dutch, a smattering of Portuguese and German. Its been a LONG time so her pretty rusty but still willing to try and recapture that basics. He is always looking for carpentry/handyman help and any technical support available.

    I am a case manager and caregiver who works privately with people in our community to bring personal care and hospice care into their homes. My creative work is in soft textiles and color mechanics. I knit some with a major focus on cloth quilts and wooden barn quilts. I also tend the yard and gardens on our property. While I give many of my quilts away, I also have an ETSY shop to sell my hand made products. I need help on the technical side to market my textiles on the internet: web design, social media marketing, etc.

    Our two sons are grown and living in Seattle, WA and Austin, Tx. We joined WorkAway in 2016 as a way to meet people from different areas and cultures, bring new energy and perspectives into our lives and home and have extra hands for projects. In addition to technical and physical help, we seek help with regular household management tasks. We have had many wonderful people come into our lives through this organization and look forward to more new friends each year.

    We are a very busy household with a variety of projects in the yard and garden along with some small construction needs. If you are good at self starting, have good time management skills, have a strong work ethic with good follow through, communicate well, want to see some pretty country and meet nice people, come join us for a memorable visit to this haven.

    Due to the nature of my work with medically at risk elders, we ask that all visitors be fully vaccinated. We need to take every precaution to protect our clients and ourselves.

    We are a smoke free home with one dog and a small tortoise. We are having fun as hosts: meeting new people, sharing in new experiences and we appreciate the help with our projects. We value family, good friends, hard work and a job well done.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I am a textile artist with material for quilting and knitting...happy to teach and share. I have a good understanding about gardening as well as the plant and animal life of the island. End of life care is my life's work and I am happy to share all I know in that realm.

    My husband is a top notch musician who loves to share his talents, a poet and a skilled carpenter.

    Our property is bordered my county park land with walking trails and easy access to the beach. We are a 15 minute bike ride from the ferry which is the gateway to three other islands, each with their own individual personality....we encourage you to explore the area.

    We are connected with many amazing and skilled people on the island and in the area who are eager to share their knowledge and experience with travelers. We are happy to connect you to our friends to engender greater learning and sharing of common ideas. The island offers a visitor the experience of participating in traditional smelt fishing, a juvenile salmon monitoring program, visiting a state of the art recycle center, local Farmers Market, pay per entry music events and yard or beach parties with our friends during the summer months.

    Our home is representative of our values: step lightly on the earth, be kind and helpful, be resourceful and sustainable, have fun. Although we are both busy with full time work, we feel that one of our biggest offerings is a safe comfortable spot for a visitor to see into a small slice of America, meet new people, explore your own thoughts and see a beautiful part of the US.

    We embrace intentional living and personal responsibility as well as the arts and music. We have learned to live creativity and use these skills to improve the quality of our lives and the sustainability of our home and community.

  • Ajuda


    Our place is a small homestead that is well established but needing the usual maintenance both inside and out.

    The garden requires typical annual upkeep and care: weeding, mulching and pruning. I would like help with a good irrigation system that draws from the pond. My garden is a beautiful respite from the cares of the world and I am happy to share my plant knowledge with you.

    Our wildlife pond needs an aeration system, so someone with experience in this area is VERY welcome.

    In the yard, there is always firewood collection, grass cutting, weed eating and general yard care. Eventually the house needs to be re-stained.

    Bigger projects include enclosing part of the porch to enlarge the main room a bit, building simple box cupboards on the outside porch for neat storage and a pantry to house the fridge and freezer, a sauna, a new outhouse.

    Smaller miscellaneous are stripping and refinishing two solid wood dressers, painting house trim, window washing, weed eating.

    On the technology front, we both need technical support for our artist endeavors: social media exposure for my textiles: web sites for us both, a You tube channel for me. I am learning Instagram but I know that I am hopelessly behind in the cyber world!

    I would like to learn clothing construction. My husband would like voice lessons.

    In return for your help, along with room, board and friendship, we will gather you into our life on island and introduce you to a world of adventure meeting new people so you can experience the richness of our island life. I will teach you quilting, knitting and gardening. My husband can share his carpentry and music knowledge with you.

    People with a strong work ethic, willing to try a variety of tasks who have an attention to detail and good follow through will be a good match. In particular, anyone with some experience in building, plumbing, tech, painting and garden skills will be a good match. Because my husband and I work full time and keep busy in community events, our ideal guests will have good self management skills, be able to occupy themselves alone at times and be willing to jump into family life and join the island vibe.

    Although Covid has changed much of life here, summer is typically a very busy time on the island and we are social people with a very diverse and talented group of friends. We believe in community and like to share the experience with our visitors so you will have plenty of social opportunities to see what island life is really like. We have a bicycle in good working order for your use and encourage you to see our island as well other nearby islands. Island life is a unique ecosystem and culture!!

    We look forward to getting to know people from other places, sharing our culture, our common ideas and our home while getting projects completed.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    Accommodations include a comfortable single bed in a private room in the house or glamping in tents in the yard...your choice. Due to size, we only accept one visitor at a time unless you choose to glamp or have a vehicle for sleeping. We have all the amenities of modern living EXCEPT an indoor toilet...there's an outhouse for that.
    Our home is omnivorous and we have a friendly dog and very low key tortoise.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live in a stunningly beautiful area which is a destination spot for year round vacationers who love the outdoors for hikes and beach combing. We have a top star rated library, wonderful food options, a small museum of local history, an art gallery, a small fabric store and a summertime Farmers' Market. There are pay per class yoga classes and summer workshops for sailing and creative adventures. If you bring a car you can go anywhere. If not, we have a bike to loan.
    Currently, we have room for one person at a time. In future, we hope to be able to invite larger groups as well.
    We are a drug and smoke free home with minimal drinking. Due to my work, we ask that all visitors be FULLY vaccinated against the Covid-19 virus.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a small clearing that accommodates a full sized pick up. We do not have dump facilities for black water.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We can have one dog visitor provided they are well behaved and quiet: a little barking, no digging, no running. We have deer and raccoons come through the property regularly so no chasing or running. There is a leash law on Lopez and a law that allows farmers the right to shoot any dog found running loose on their property. Its not nice but it has happened.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours daily 5 days per week.

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 586383163454