Spectacular mountain views while helping in our garden in Arganil, Portugal




Favorito 37 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias


 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

  • Descrição


    URGENT UPDATE: Written by Linda - Geoff's wife

    We have been lucky having a couple of WorkAways staying with us during the majority of the pandemic.
    We are, therefore, looking for replacements to commence from 1 June.

    We have a trip booked to Dubai in October to visit Geoff's daughter, husband and our two granddaughters. We also have a grandson who lives in the UK.

    Geoff was diagnosed with Parkinson's a few years ago and he is not able to do the majority of heavy tasks anymore. In addition he had an operation on his spinal column in January from which he is still recuperating.

    Unfortunately, our two dogs died in July 2021 and we now have an English Bull Terrier who will be one year old in June.

    So our new helpers will be looking after dog, helping with veg plot and garden and terraces I would also like someone to take over the cooking. We have been eating vegan/vegetarian food for a few years now. We don't really eat meat anymore and would prefer vegetarian cooking if possible.

    We would also like the new helpers to do the food shopping.

    If you are interested, Geoff can teach you to ride a motorbike, teach building, plumbing and electric techniques.

    I also have a quad (with trailer) which is available to use on the land and off road tracks around the villa

    The villa is listed as an Alojamento Local. Geoff has nearly finished his latest project which is a campsite.

    We have a nice caravan for your accommodation

    We have a rowing boat moored on the water and we also have a sailing boat moored at a local marine. Sailing lessons can be provided

    We also have a Portuguese car available

    Hello my name is Geoff. I am 68 years of age and my wife Linda is 65. We bought our land in Central Portugal in 1990 and until 2004 spent winters here and summers in the UK to earn money to invest in our project of building a villa with a pool. We now have an Alojamento Local (Local Lodgings) and enjoy having people visit us from all over the world. We have 8 acres of lakeside land mostly terraces and we are in a conservation area and in summer we have a rowing boat moored at the bottom of our land. Unfortunately, I had a fall some 3 weeks ago and I broke 4 ribs. Although we have talked about getting someone in to help (and play) alongside of us, it is now definitely time we did just that as Linda is struggling to cope and we will need that someone during the autumn and winter as well. That will be the time that we need help in brush cutting and pruning trees. We only have a small vegetable plot but if someone cares to make this larger and tend to the watering and weeding, we certainly have no problem with that. We have two dogs... Bobi who is 16 years of age, large and hairy, kind and loving. Cleo is smaller, less hairy, loving and friendly. We have 3 chickens - we know that's not many but if you get 3 eggs per day you begin to realise that you don't need any more!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Companhia para idosos
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Meet local people in the cafes. Majority of local people do not speak English so we can help you with basic Portuguese to make it easier when shopping, etc. The Portuguese are very kind and helpful even if you can't speak much Portuguese and have a wicked sense of humour

  • Ajuda


    WANTED enthusiastic honest person capable of assisting in various gardening (mostly brush cutting and pruning large trees) including weeding flower beds. To help with normal domestic chores including feeding and watering our last chicken (Mabel) and our dog (Rubi). Also helping with walking Rubi in the morning and sometimes during the afternoon depending on how hot it is. We are able to walk directly into the forest with lots of different tracks and go swimming in the lake.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Intermediário

  • Acomodação


    We are currently landscaping an area to provide a 6 man tent in a private meadow with proper sanitary conditions, ie. toilet and shower so that you can have your own private space.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Would prefer someone who can drive as the local bus service is quite limited. In Portugal the car is insured and not the person as in the UK. In addition to the villa holidays we also provide motorcycle holidays and Geoff has taught a lot of people how to ride a motorbike. Arganil town is only 15 minutes away and we have cafes/bars within 2km. It is a good fishing area - a licence is required but costs pennies.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    If you are travelling in campervans, we have plenty of land for parking - we own 8 acres of land

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 565784884322