Quiet olive grove homestead on Thassos Island, Greece




Favorito 363 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

  • Descrição


    Hi everyone! Welcome to my beautiful island homestead!

    My name is Alex, I'm 33 years old guy from Greece. I am a dreamer, and a doer, I like good food and good wine. I love the sense of freedom, and I love to be creative. I love reading, studying, and learning new things, to enjoy the small pleasures of a simple life close to nature. I have travelled around Europe (32 countries) and participated in Erasmus and Erasmus+ in the Czech Republic. I love ecology and the idea of a self-sustainable life close to nature.

    That's why in 2018, I quit an ordinary office job in the city to move to the beautiful island of Thassos, in our abandoned family country house, and try to make a living in this beautiful place. I live now by being a photographer. I usually photograph couples and weddings on the beach. The rest of the time, I am editing photos and videos, and I occupy myself with manual labour around the house and my dream project of making an eco-friendly glamping site close to the house. I really love my new lifestyle.

    Demand for photography is quite seasonal (June-September), as is mostly for tourists, while the rest of the months is pretty calm and quiet, really enjoyable to spend in peace and solitude, close to nature. When I have more time, I would love to join you in any outdoor activities and show you around, swim with you, and hike with you. I love meeting new, interesting people, that can help me with anything in my life, teach me something new, exchange ideas, and have fun.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    🍃Being one with life in nature, gardening, learning about plants and trees, eco-farming, permaculture.

    📷 Photography, Videography, Photo & Video Edit

    🇬🇷 Learning the Greek language and Greek cuisine. Here you can learn how to make some delicious Greek food like tzatziki.

    🚙 As I have worked as a tour guide before, I can show you around, help you learn about local culture and history, explore the most unknown sides of the beautiful island of Thassos in an original way. As one workawayer said: "Thassos is Greece put in the size of one island".

    Relaxing in a stress-free environment. Discover and connect with your inner self.

  • Ajuda


    🏡 This is a family homestead, and what we are producing is for our own consumption.

    Help is needed with maintaining the estate, such as taking care of the plants and trees, pruning the trees, collecting fruits when they are ripe and making various recipes with them, planting and taking care of the vegetable garden, cutting and collecting wood for the winter, and inside the home usually, such as cooking, cleaning, etc.

    🔨 I have a new project coming up which will be setting up a fantastic glamping tent in the estate!!! I will be doing some woodwork myself. Other than that there is always work to do around the house and garden - improvements that make life better, or just things that break down from time to time unexpectedly.

    Pruning of Olive Trees

    New Glamping Project (Woodwork, fabrics, carpentry)
    Setting up an eco dry toilet system
    Small renovation inside the house - painting the walls
    Working the soil and planting vegetables (April and May)
    Harvest berries (beginning of June)
    Running the new glamping project

    Photo & Video Edit
    Harvest figs (end of July and August)
    Harvest grapes (end of September)

    Harvest Olives (November)
    Harvest Wood
    Home Projects

    ❤ I love organized, low-maintenance people, who can be good company to pass the working time outside or chat during the afternoon next to the fire. People that have skills relevant to my projects will be greatly appreciated as well. Generally, expect to spend many hours outside, doing not-so-demanding physical labour. I also love individuals who are good at housework - I love a well-maintained home, although I am not by any means so great at housework myself.

    🕰️ You have two days off per week, we'll take regular breaks from any manual work, exchanging it with lighter work and creative projects. You can ask for additional days off if you want to travel around for some days on your own. Generally, work in the estate is done during the day, and it depends on the weather. Waking up super early is not necessary either - in spring/autumn we usually start around 9.00-9.30, as the sun takes some time to shine over and warm the valley. We have a lunch break from 12.00-12.30 for an hour and then finish with a few more hours of work.

    🧑‍🌾Monday is the day that the farmer's market takes place in Prinos village, close to the port. We're going for supplies and food and other duties in town once per week, every Monday. Therefore, Monday is the day that: 1) you can usually have a day off 2) you can supply yourselves with additional snacks or alcohol, buy something special that you might need (hygiene products, clothing, souvenirs, whatever you might want) 3) I can pick you up or leave you directly at the port as you arrive or leave from/to Kavala 3) Make a guided tour of the island with me 4) Visit Thassos town, the capital of Thassos, with its ancient sites, temples, and port.

  • Idiomas

    Greek: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    The house is located in the middle of a quiet valley, part of a tiny village of a few inhabitants. It is surrounded by the olive grove and high mountains which are all beautiful for hiking. It has a view of the sea and can walk down to the sea for a swim every day. Moreover, there is a beautiful creek just minutes away from the property, which is beautiful to hike.

    It is very quiet and calm, and you can hear the birds, the sheep bells, the water running in the creek nearby, or the sea waves when there is a south wind. At night, you can watch the stars and the constellations. If you like calmness and like being away from "civilization", this is the place for you. The closest supermarket is a 20 minutes drive - there is a mini-market at 10km. We provision once or twice per week when we go to the city, and the farmers' market every Monday.

    The house is built on two levels, on the hillside, making every level have an independent ground level access. The upper-level consists of a living room that has two couches and a dining room with a fireplace, a well-equipped kitchen with an oven, the host's bedroom, and one toilet. On the upper level, there is also the large veranda where we sometimes eat or chill all together.

    The lower level is a studio room that has its own small kitchen and independent toilet and shower, and two single beds that can be merged into a double bed (for couples). However, the studio room right now is in bad condition due to humidity. With your help, the walls will be scraped and repainted, rendering this room comfortable and habitable from July 2022.

    Inside the olive grove, there is a spacious tent with a regular comfy mattress that can house 1-2 people. It's really nice for summer as it is airy. There is a big natural shower in the backyard, a laundry machine, area to take sunbaths and barbeque.

    It's always nice to bring your own warm sleeping bag but if you don't have one, don't worry, I'll provide you with bedding.

    Breakfast you can have till 09.30 (I'm not eating breakfast, only tea). Lunch break is between around 12.30 to 13.30 and we all have lunch together. And when the day finishes we have dinner together, which is usually the largest meal of the day. I love to cook for you and me, I consider myself to be a good cook, with knowledge of Greek, Italian, Mediterranean, and international cuisine. Sometimes you can cook something too, especially if you are a good cook, and I would love to learn from your country's traditional cuisine. When I cook, I do expect the other people to help with cleaning the dishes and utensils and make and pick up the dining table.

    In the summer months, many of the vegetables come directly from our own organic garden, as do the olives and the olive oil. I also like to bake my own bread or make homemade pizzas. From time to time we make barbeques of fish or souvlaki grilled on the fire.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    🚌 The homestead is located in a pretty remote area, without any public transport except summer (but still pretty rare). If I am going somewhere I can drop you off, at least once a week. I'll help you with transport as much as I can. I can show you around and drive you around.

    📱 The internet and phone signal are pretty bad. Thus, you'll have the opportunity to recharge your soul batteries and connect with people, animals, nature, your inner soul. Sometimes e-mails arrive, which is nice. Internet connection needed for photos, video calls, etc. there is a spot around 5 km away from the property with good signal or the beach bar on the beach.

    🌴 Walking distance to some of the most beautiful beaches of Thassos island - Aliki Beach.

    📜 Ancient quarry, ancient tower, ancient ruins in walking distance. I like history, I can teach you.

    🥾 Hiking mountains and the creek, swimming in the sea, nature

    📚 Relaxing, reading books and watching movies, creative projects and philosophical discussions.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    If you are a digital nomad, when you need to work, you have to walk a dirt road 5km from the house to the beach bar, where it has WiFi and some tables where you can use your phone or laptop, while enjoying an iced coffee or beverage (2.5-4€). There is also a spot not far from the property (around 100-150 meters) where there you can have some decent signal to use your mobile data to check some messages and chat.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Dogs are okay to stay outside of the house as long as they are not aggressive towards cats (there are a few cats in the village I like to take care of) and they keep mostly quiet (I hope no barking). A cat can be inside the house as long as she is in good health and doesn't climb tables to eat food.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (3.5)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.0)

Comunicação: (4.3)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 548221318685