1 / 4

Natural building, gardening and permaculture projects in Occitane, France

  • Favorito 6 vezes
  • Última atividade: 24 mar. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    British guy living in the heart of the beautiful Quercy Blanc region. The property consists of 3 buildings and land on the western edge of a high plateau. Buildings include a 200 year old farm built from local white stone. A long, south facing structure with an open porch at one end and west facing terrace at the other. Facing east is a self contained 1st floor gite with its own terrace (ideal for yoga at sunrise). There is also a barn, a small ruin plus 2.5 hectairs of pasture and hilly woods- great for a morning or eveing walk. There are also interesting local walks and cycling to nearby villages. Castelnau-montratier is about 4 km and has shops, bar/resturants and a summer swimming pool. From June- August it hosts a weekly food festival in the main square with live music. Locally, there are also many swiming lakes, walks and interesting hill towns to exploire such as Lauzert and Montcuq. I am 25 mintutes drive to Caussade and 30 to Cahors or Montauban. I also worked as a WorkAwayer for about 2 years on various building projects in France.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Learning new skills in natural/tradtional renovation, contruction, gardening and permaculture. I am starting a 'pierres apparents' project on the north wall of the house involing mixing lime mortar and pointing the stone walls. I am also using permaculture techniques to repair the and maintain the land. I will also be rebuilding a small stone ruin and repairing the barn at some point.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Anyone who is fit and able to work on a variety of projects. Ideal for one person/ couple or two friends. From renovating the buildings, reorganising the barn to gardening. One particular project this spring is to repoint the north facing stone wall using traditional lime mortar. (I have a cement mixer). Training will be given as I will work alongside you. Ideally, we will have breakfast around 7.30 then start work around 8.30 and work for about 5 hours a day. I will also prepare lunch and an evening meal. I am flexible about how we break up the work and use the time and it also depends on how hot it gets as we might find it easier to work in the cooler parts of the day!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I am learning French, would appreciate any help and happy to teach English

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation will be in the attached gite which has a new, king sized bed (a single bed is also available if separate beds are required) with its own bathroom and terrace (sunrise views across the plateau). Meals include breakfast, lunch and dinner. Vegetarian or vegan food can be accomodated.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I am based about 4 km to the nearest village (Castelnau-montratier) with shops/resturant/bar and summer outdoor swimming. Around the farm there are great walks and cycling. By car I am about 30 minutes to Cahors or Montabaun and 20 minutes to Caussade (nearest Railway station)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There is space for a van and the gite bathroom can be used

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 533583733538

Fotos

Comentário