Helping with daily life and keeping our garden clean and tidy on the Isle of Wight, UK

Country

Reino Unido

Favorito 402 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    02/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    238

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a pretty busy island family who enjoy socialising and spending time with travellers from other countries, learning from them and showing them all about the Isle of Wight and England life when we have time to stop, like in the evening or during the weekend. We will treat you as one of the family and will help you feel at home. We used to do home exchanges then progressed to becoming fans of short term rentals, becoming hosts and guests and have now had over 250 guests staying with us from the Americas, Africa, Europe, Asia and Australasia. We have also enjoyed home exchanges in France, Holland, Iceland and the US. Nowadays our days are filled with home educating our boys, doing family tree and house history research (Graham) and seeing therapy clients for (past life and between life) regression therapy (Ellemiek) and maintaining the house and the garden.

    For autumn/winter 2021, we would love someone to help us keep the house and/or garden clean and tidy as both Graham and I have got a few very busy months ahead of us, workwise. We would love more mature workawayers who can see what needs doing and who can work independently. Although we will be around most of the time, we are unlikely to be able to help all the time.

    We tend to get our own breakfast and lunch as we all have different schedules but we eat dinner together as a family and we love to socialise with our Workawayers in the evening and play board games or watch tv or play table football or cards some evenings.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will have plenty of time to explore the Isle of Wight - which is frequently visited by people from mainland UK as a chance to unwind and get away from it all. There are plenty of tourist attractions such as Osbourne House, queen Victoria's residence, Carisbrooke Castle where king Charles I of England was imprisoned in the 1600s, a 2,000 year old Roman villa, there is an internationally renowned Botanic Garden near to the house, several secluded beaches nearby and fantastic nature and cliff top walks, places to find unique dinosaur footprints and the island is a fossil mecca, and of course many English pubs some of which are 500 years old where you can relax with locally brewed beer and listen the the nightly entertainment, and places for traditional English afternoon tea, some of which are 500 years old.
    Graham (half English and half Canadian) is passionate about history (he wrote a book about a relative who was a WW2 naval aviation hero), genealogy and plants and animals (he lived and studied monkeys for 2 years in North Africa). Graham is well traveled as he used to be involved in international nature conservation projects. He is now busy doing family tree and house history research and can help you explore your own family tree too. Ellemiek (originally from Holland) enjoys cooking and baking (she used to bake for the local Country Market cooperative in town, producing cakes, cookies, savories and jams and is happy to teach you how to make these) and is passionate about her therapy work (ask her for a session if you are interested). Our boys, Roy and Christopher, like computer and board games, animals, drawing, fencing (the 'en garde' kind with a foil, like sword fighting), local history, metal detecting, fossil hunting and archeology. They are studying maths, English, Business Studies and Photography and attend boys scouts and sometimes need a little help with their homework too.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for workawayers who can help with the following:

    Garden maintenance: weeding, pruning, garden restoration.

    Help in the house: help cleaning and tidying, help deep cleaning house.

    Help with video-editing and/or website maintenance.

    In addition we ask all workawayers to take turns, along with the family, to keep the communal areas clean and tidy. We also ask that you keep your own bedroom clean during your stay with us and that you clean it before you leave.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Alemão: Iniciante
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    If you stay with us over summer you will use a bedroom upstairs with a single bed and chest of drawers, and have access to shared bathroom. There are no cooking facilities in your bed room but there is fast wifi.

    If you stay with us between October and March, you are likely to be able to stay in our downstairs room that is often used for paying guests during the summer months. This is a large bedroom in our home with tv, sofa, double bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers, kettle and table. You can enjoy badger watching from your bedroom every evening. You will have your own shower room and toilet, adjacent to your room.

    The family kitchen, with washing machine and dryer too, is just across the corridor from the downstairs bedroom. If you are a keen camper and the weather is good, you could also camp in our wild garden.

    We tend to eat breakfast and lunch as and when and not always all at the same time, so it would probably work best if you help yourself to these, either in your room or in the family kitchen and you'd be very welcome to join us for family dinner every evening and of course help yourself to snacks.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live about 20 minutes walk or a mile (2 km) from the somewhat quirky village of Ventnor (population about 5,000) which has a few small supermarkets, several antique and Thrift (charity) shops for bargain hunting and numerous local cafes and restaurants with international and local cuisine. Museums, theatres, and cinemas are easily accessible, as are opportunities to join local sports clubs or try out sailing, surfing, hang or paragliding etc. You can get around the island by public bus or train, but busses that stop close to us are not that frequent (like once an hour), but we are happy to give you a lift if you want to explore places of the island that we are driving to anyway that day (we go to Newport, the island's capital twice a week , and to the other main towns Cowes and Freshwater most weeks too), or we can pick you up from the bus stop in Ventnor which does have frequent services. There are several beaches in walking distance and fantastic walks too in the immediate area, as well as the round the island coastal path of over 10 km.
    We look forward to making many more friends from around the world and getting stuff done around the house at the same time.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We are happy to host digital nomads and our internet connection is usually OK. However, it's not 100% reliable all the time for heavy use.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week











Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 524661769585