Help with the non-profit restoration project of a castle and its grounds in Thuringia, Germany

  • Alemanha
  • Favorito 531 vezes
  • Última atividade: 2 out. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas



  • Descrição


    In 2007 a small group of enthusiastic people founded a non-profit organization at a castle in the East German countryside. They gave the place a new meaning by reviving it with art, theater, and musical performances while simultaneously renovating the castle and reshaping the surrounding grounds.

    We are looking for ambitious and curious people who enjoy building and gardening. You can gain a lot of experience with construction methods. Work in the beautiful garden and harvest fresh vegetables and fruits to cook in the evening (we also have chickens for fresh eggs). There is also plenty of time for hikes and other excursions, but it is important to us that the focus is on working together.

    We prefer individuals who are around mid-20’s or older, for it is a place with a loose structure that requires self-sufficiency and independent work.

    If you are open-minded, like to meet new people, enjoy accomplishing something for the greater good, and want to help with various projects with the inhabitants of the castle, then you are in the right place!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will definitely learn a lot, but it will also depend on your own curiosity and asking questions - knowing German is helpful but not a requirement. We consider self-organization, cooperation, and exchange in group dynamics the most important and enriching forms of increasing your own skills to unexpected levels.

    You will learn something about different handcrafts and regional plants and find out about the joy of creating art in exchange with other people. There will be several different artists that come to visit or perform, from music to theater, to art exhibitions. In your free time, we encourage you to create your own art; any kind that inspires you!

  • Ajuda


    The tasks can be physically demanding, and you have to care for yourself. Nevertheless, we can ensure that you will have a great time at the castle not only during your time off but also during the tasks carried out together.

    GARDEN PROJECT: We need help with weeding and planting in our garden, designed according to historical plans dating back to the 16th century. One of our castle members is very knowledgeable on medicinal herbs and will lead tours and workshops May-October - this is where we need your support in setting up and maintaining the garden. There are also other regular volunteers who are happy to share their knowledge about plants with you.

    CONSTRUCTION PROJECT: The main construction project is for the to-be visitors' center of the historic garden. The project is done with 100% manual tasks and requires no previous knowledge. We surround the walls of the building with layers of compressed concrete dyed with different colored pigments to create a wavy design. Depending on the funding for other projects, you could also be helping with the restoration of the rooms inside the castle.

    The castle lives through its inhabitants and its visitors. It is a cultural point of reference in the region. We invite you to join us and spread the word about our activities in the region and beyond.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Inglês: Intermediário

  • Acomodação


    **Minimum stay is two weeks**

    You will be accommodated in one of the rooms at the Castle. Depending on the time you will join us, you will have a room of your own, or you will have to share it with other volunteers. It is a castle under renovation with three cats roaming around, so if you are allergic to dust and/or cats, this is not the place to be.

    We have two kitchens and cook for each other for a nice evening together. Vegan and Glunten-free diets are challenging to accommodate since we cook for a large group and have found in the past that it is difficult to prepare separate meals; plus we do eat a lot of cheese and bread.

    On most nights we do cook a vegetarian alternative, however, at times it could be that you have to prepare it yourself.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The nearest airport is Halle/Leipzig or Erfurt; you can then reach us by train. The train station is 7 km away from our village, located in the northern part of Thuringia, but there will always be someone to pick you up :-)

    At the castle, some bikes are available, so you can quickly go around by yourself. The village itself has a small bakery and a river that runs along. More shops are nearby in the next town, reachable by bike or foot.

    On your time off you can enjoy yourself by staying at the castle (there is always something going on) or you can take time to have an excursion to some of the many interesting places and sites around - some excursions are planned collectively as a group depending on the day and how many volunteers are there.

    In this area of Thuringia, there are a lot of old castle ruins and lovely hills with roads for daylong hiking. In a village nearby you can also go for a swim. If you need some days out of the countryside, you can reach the city of Erfurt (the regional capital) by train in an hour.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 511993567112

Comentário (20)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (4.9)

Help with my dogs, gardening andrenovating the barn at Karstädt between Berlin and Hamburg in Prignitz, Germany
Discover newfound independence whilst helping at our school in Haubinda, Thuringia, Germany