Handy people for Home based projects in a small oceanside town in Port Hardy, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 18 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    17/11/2021

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a young couple that lives with our two dogs in Port Hardy, BC, Canada which is on the very north tip of Vancouver Island. There is the public beach on the Pacific Ocean just a 30 sec walk down the street.

    Our home is located perfectly, so that you can walk to every amenity in town. It is a 5 minute walk to all the downtown shops and Sunday Market. Absolutely beautiful views from the sea walk starting just outside the home. Close to restaurants, grocery store, pickle ball/tennis courts, and an abundance of parks and trails.

    There is a private hot tub in the backyard with peekaboo ocean views. As well as 2 kayaks you can use to explore the ocean or nearby lakes with.

    Port Hardy is the gateway to an authentic, unspoiled, nature-driven adventure. This small town sits at the very edge of the coastal wilderness where you can hike rugged trails, walk along sandy beaches, or paddle along the rocky shores, no matter what you choose you will find that exploring Port Hardy connects you with nature in ways you didn’t anticipate.

    As for us, I am 26 and a Physical and Health Education Teacher at the local high school, and my fiancé is 33 and works at the local car dealership. We have two pups aged 3 and a half and 1 and a half. Our older dog is Lucy and she is a 30lb sheltie, our younger pup is Theo and is a 50lb boxer. We love to spend our weekends adventuring and travelling the globe every chance we get.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Port Hardy is located within the traditional territory of the Kwakiutl First Nations on the northern-most tip of Vancouver Island. In addition to being the home of the Kwakiutl, the area is also home to two neighbouring First Nations bands — the Quatsino and Gwa’sala-‘Nakwaxda’xw. Approximately 35% of the local population is of First Nations descent.

    Travellers can also learn about the process of Sister Cities as Port Hardy & Numata Japan are considered "town twins". The modern concept of town twinning, conceived after the Second World War in 1947, was intended to foster friendship and understanding between different cultures and between former foes as an act of peace and reconciliation and to encourage trade and tourism. The Sister Cities program is designed as means for cultural exchange. A community decides to join with a community in another nation to learn more about one another. The relationship is usually a broad-based, officially approved, long-term partnership between communities. Generally sister city partnerships share similar demographics and town size. Partnerships may arise from business connections, travel, and similar industries or shared history.

    Our town and area has many museums and places you can go to that history has been preserved. You will get the chance to interact and meet many Canadians, understand our current ways of life, be able to participate or attend a variety of local sports, hobbies, and festivals.

    Port Hardy is a special place as it really gives you a chance to slow down and connect with nature and your surroundings.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are ideally looking for someone that can help us with construction around the house.

    - We are building a separate suite in our basement
    - Adding in a bathroom/laundry room
    - Building garden and a fence
    - Building a deck
    - Laying concrete

    If you have skills in carpentry, trades, dry walling, concrete, landscaping please message us.

    In exchange for your help we can offer free breakfast and accommodation for you.

    It would be a total of 3-5 hours work Monday - Friday.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    My fiancé is French (Quebecois), so I’m always interested in learning more French or having French people come stay.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a 5 bedroom 2 bathroom home, with a large oversized yard, just steps away from the Pacific ocean. You will have your own Private bedroom with double bed and all linens will be provided. We have a downstairs games/tv room with pool table, fooseball/air hockey table, and upstairs we have a large open concept main living room, with kitchen and dining room that all have views of the ocean. Bathroom will be shared.

    We will provide breakfast foods for you, however other meals will be at your expense.

    **Internet access available, however, you cannot use our computers sorry, you must bring your own device!
    Moderate drinking is fine, however, we do not tolerate drugs!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is so much to do here in your time, off, don't let a 4,000-person town fool you with its size: it is the gateway to all things outdoors and adventurous on the Island. Plus, it’s the largest community in the North Island. Fantastic hiking, camping, fishing and wildlife safaris wait, and there are some great amenities in town to enjoy during your down-time. Aside from the ocean adventures, Port Hardy has a beautiful harbour walkway with a Japanese garden and sits along the Queen Charlotte Strait.

    There are buses in town that go down-island, to surrounding areas and even up to the Mount Cain for skiing/snowboarding in the winter.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    My fiancé lived in a Van and travelled around for years this way, so nomadic vanlifers are always welcome!

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Not willing to accept cats, as I am highly allergic. But friendly trained dogs or other animals are welcome.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 493113385247