Come and stay on a beautiful New Zealand island and help show our garden some much needed love 💗

Country

Nova Zelândia

Favorito 79 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    08/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a couple of travel junkies who live on Kawau Island, just north of Auckland in the beautiful Hauraki Gulf.

    We love the island for its peace and serenity, the great bush walks, the seas surrounding, the native bird life and small community feel.

    We tend to get distracted easily so weekends that were planned for sorting out the garden often end up being spent lazing about on the deck with a good book and a glass of wine.

    So...we need help with our garden, mainly weeding, pruning and more weeding. Nothing too onerous. Ok maybe making pizza on the BBQ or fresh pasta as we like to cook. We also have a small sleepout that needs to be painted

    Please note Kawau Island is close to Auckland (about an hour by car and then it takes around twenty minutes in our boat or on a water taxi). However, it does not have much in the way of infrastructure which is why we like it so much. There are no shops, banks, or anything very much except lots of nature, beaches and sea and some very nice locals.

    About ten minutes in a canoe or small inflatable boat across the bay from our wharf will bring you to the Kawau Boat Club; a lovely bar and bistro restaurant (their Kawau Burgers are legendary!)

    We can accommodate one person or a couple and would love to hear from you if you like the sound of our wee island.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    If you love nature, birdlife and living in a small community on an island then Kawau Island is for you. It is only an hour's drive from Auckland and then a short boat trip.
    You will have the use of a canoe or small inflatable dinghy if you want to explore the island from the sea and there are some excellent walking tracks right at our door. We can take you fishing if you want.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Anyone who enjoys gardening in a beautiful environment. Most of the work is weeding, trimming trees or bushes and basically tidying up our section. If it is the end of Summer we will arm you with a chainsaw so you can help get our Winter firewood in!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Italiano: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Small but cute indendent cottage behind our house, with a simple kitchen or you can use the BBQ (with views over the Bay) or our larger kitchen.

    If we are there we will provide meals or leave you with enough food for the week. We usually have fresh salad greens growing for you to help yourself to.

    You can also canoe or row across the small bay to the Boat Club where there is an excellent bar and bistro and very friendly locals.

    If you want to hang out with us whilst we are there that is great and we would welcome the opportunity to show you the island. However if you just want to chill on your own then that is fine too. This was a weekend house for us until covid came along and after the first lockdown here, we decided to make it our permanent home.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is plenty to do on Kawau Island from walks, to canoeing around the various bays or visiting the Kawau Boat Club just a short trip across the bay by canoe, about ten minutes.
    The water taxis run regularly if you want to got the mainland and we have fishing gear if you want to try your hand at catching your dinner.
    There are some lovely beaches close to us for swimming also.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We work from home - me full time and Pippa part time. We have satellite internet to ensure reliability.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 453684711632