Single dad looking for help in Victoria, BC

  • Canadá
  • Favorito 611 vezes
  • Última atividade: 29 nov. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo



  • Descrição


    Recently separated dad of intelligent, creative and kind 7 and 8 year old boys. We live in a Tudor style house in a lovely setting right beside the ocean. I am primarily a traveller and adventurer who has spent time in over 50 countries. I’ve stayed with and hosted hundreds of travellers over the past 20 years both through Workaway, HelpX and the Couchsurfing websites. Currently running a development company assembling and leading multidisciplinary design and construction teams. I’m passionate about sustainable construction practices and always have a few projects on the go. My boys alternate half week on, half week off between their mum and me so there would be lots of quiet times to enjoy the garden, read, hike, swim or sightsee.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We hope you'll learn lots about a young, growing family...we are still constantly learning to adapt to our new lifestyle in a positive way. I have plenty of knowledge to share from travelling the world, as well as many areas of interest. The boys are pretty awesome and very inquisitive. They can teach you how to play a multitude of board games and how to use the tv remote controls lol. We have an extensive library and you are welcome to read any of the books while you’re here.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    ***UPDATE SEPTEMBER 2023***

    Currently, I’m looking for help with home maintenance, gardening, painting, and housework, etc. There’s lots to stay busy as fall approaches and we like to spend as much time outside as possible. We do lots of fun activities like hiking, climbing, canoeing, camping, baseball / basketball and helpers are welcome to join along.

    With the boys, it would be a balance between taking them on walks to beaches and forest nearby, chilling out at home playing games, supervising school work or art projects and a little tv for balance. They are super fun dudes and love interacting with adults!

    Unfortunately, we have had a mixed bag of helpers this past year with multiple people committing but then not showing up. A couple guests never left the bedroom except to work and eat. And there have been several people my boys have started calling “helpers that don’t help”.

    That said, we have had absolutely lovely people stay with us over the years and it has definitely been such a rewarding experience for the boys. We participate in this community in good faith and would like to host people that are positive, social, mature, capable and wish to participate as part of our family while they stay in our home.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    We live in a spacious, country house in a gorgeous, quiet area of Victoria one block from the ocean. You will have your own private bedroom with queen sized bed, in a quiet area of the house. There’s a hot-tub on the back deck which you are welcome to use. It's great! There are lots of places inside and out to find privacy.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are a 10 minute drive from downtown or a 20 minute bus ride (bus stop located one block away). There are several beach access points to swim, paddle or relax, all within a few minutes walk. There are plenty of gorgeous hikes nearby as well as lakes to visit, bike trails, kayak/paddle board areas and lovely shopping areas & historical buildings downtown.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have very fast fiber at the house. There is a desk in the guestroom or lots of places to find privacy around the property.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    General help; pitch in, do what’s needed to be part of our household.

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 453491315833

Comentário (14)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (4.7)

Help this older gentleman and experience the beauty of nature in this area, Marmora, Ontario, Canada
Come and help us with sled dogs in Northern Quebec, Canada