A magical place in the Asturias hills, Nava, Spain - small projects indoors and outside

Country

Espanha

atualizado  

Favorito 78 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    11/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2020 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 semana ou menos

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    UPDATE *** no availability in July *** Currently help needed with: collecting wood, vegetable garden installment and maintenance, building of a shed and outdoor furniture, placing gutters. End of summer: painting wood outdoors (windows, balcony, roof). Please don't offer help with children and animals - I don't have them ;)

    After traveling and living as a global nomad for 15 years, I've found a little Piece of Paradise in a Spanish nature reserve in Asturias. I've been a Workaway volunteer myself and really enjoyed the concept; now it's my turn to invite volunteers and offer an unforgettable place to stay, in exchange for some straightforward easy and rewarding help to make this a unique place. This is a healthy place; NO smokers please and NO drugs (also not outside).

    My rehabilitated mountain cabin with the most magnificent views and encounters with unspoiled nature. It's too nice to keep to myself! I want to create a place where people can meet each other and themselves, to stay for a while and to add their bit of specialty to it. I'm a down-to-earth, honest, straightforward, uncomplicated person, respectful towards others and myself; I hope to meet volunteers with those same values.

    It is off-grid, using solar panels for energy and a natural water source; a normal indoors toilet, bathroom, toilet, and kitchen. I'm heating on wood and if necessary gas heaters to chase out the crispy morning cold in winter. Beware: the water may be off at times - you may need to skip a shower now and then! Accommodation will be in a private bedroom, or tent with queens' quality double mattress - depending on how many people we are at the time of your visit.

    The location is remote with the nearest town (Nava) 7 km down the hill (20 minutes by car). It would be best to have your own wheels. There are several other cabanas around; cows and horses mow the grass and are true musicians with their bells. You can expect visits from lizards warming up in the sun, vultures soaring around, deer and donkeys passing by at diner time, bats at sunset. The area is well-known among hikers who are kindly offered a coffee once they got lost past the 'private road' sign; you can see the Picos de Europa as well as the sea.

    I'd be very happy to practice my Spanish - to which I haven't dedicated enough time, but I can manage normal conversation... Spanish speakers most welcome! As well as Dutch, English, German, French speakers. Pets are surely welcome, as long as they are well trained and good company. I don't have pets myself, since I'm often away from home.


    Please mention in your message the dates you'd like to stay. Thanks!

  • Tipo de ajuda

    Tipo de ajuda

    Jardinagem
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Praticar idiomas

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You'll experience freedom here; unspoiled and true nature; and if you're interested I have some stories to share from all around the world. I'd be surely happy to hear and learn a bit about your life, where you're coming from and where you're at. You'll experience the off grid life which is in this case very comfortable - but consciousness of use of resources is expected.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Indoors: constructing simple kitchen shelves and desk, creating some decorative things from locally harvested wood, etc.

    Outdoors, depending on the weather: wood cutting, sawing, trimming bushes, clearing a part of land and creating levels for vegetable garden, building a sitting area and outdoor kitchen.

    If you have experience with adobe building, cob and especially tadelakt: please find your way to me! I'd like to do some indoor adjustment (in bathroom and living room) and build an outdoor oven, but I need an experienced guide. I'll make you an apple pie in the traditional Asturian oven!!!

  • Idiomas

    German: Fluente
    English: Fluente
    Spanish: Fluente
    French: Fluente
    Dutch: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Off grid, fully equipped mountain cabana. Shared bathroom, kitchen, living room - be aware: it's a small space when bad weather forces us to be indoors. One bedroom available for workawayers, so if you're alone it'll all be yours and if there are 2 volunteers you'll share the room or we put up a tent. There's also a sleeping couch in the living room.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Mother nature determines the schedule: when the sun is out, we'll take advantage of it with outdoor jobs and when it's raining there's stuff to do indoors. I'm not living with the clock but you can expect to be busy for about 2-3 hrs in the morning and 2 hrs in the afternoon... more or less. Weekends are off - whichever 2 days you decide to be weekend. On the days that we're 'working' I provide food and drinks - I'm happy to take reasonable dietary wishes into account and I'd be happy to share the kitchen: you're welcome to show off with your chef's special recipes or join in experimental cooking dishes with local products.
    On days and other time off there're endless footpaths/mountainbike/motorbike trails straight from the doorstep meandering through the area. The coast is about 30' drive and Picos de Europa appr. 1 hr drive (Pongo closer by); in winter small ski resorts at appr. 1 hr drive. Nava (village down the hill) has several local bars, restaurants, shops, the weekly market as well as a cider museum for which the area is famous (lot's of places to taste and buy as well). Asturias is mostly known for it's unspoiled nature, rough coastline, empty beaches, green hills and wildlife. Plenty of outdoor activities i.e. wildwater rafting close by.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 446629696955