Experience Brooklyn and help around the house with a native New Yorker



Favorito 578 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Medalhas

    Super Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

  • Descrição


    Native NYer living within 1 mile of the Greenpoint/Williamsburg food and cultural scene (possibly the best thing about NYC these days). I live in a charming railroad apartment in an older building. About 35 minutes via public transportation into Manhattan. I m very active in the outdoors and would be happy to take visitors camping, hiking etc with me. I also have access to some great discounted show tickets to enjoy the NYC cultural scene (jazz, off-broadway, concerts etc).

    PLEASE - only hosting 28 years old and above. Sorry - it's just a better cultural exchange for me as life experience/life-stage are more in sync (has nothing to do with maturity or how wonderful you are - I assume everyone taking part in this experiment is interesting, brave and good-hearted). My preference is for stays over 3 weeks and not shorter term travelers.

    Also, note that you will need to provide your own food/meals. I have a fairly well-equipped kitchen and there are supermarkets nearby. I've found myself not cooking much anymore and surviving on leftovers from eating out. I will likely make a meal or two but you will be on your own for most things. I'll try to stock some basics (pastas, rice, beans etc). Breakfast items (cereal, toast, milk, coffee, tea) will always be available.

    Actual carpentry/handyperson expertise/experience a big plus. Please read the apartment details carefully to ensure this is right for you.

    Note - as I work and am away often on weekends, you MUST be able to start at 7am at least once a week so that we can discuss plans, projects etc. The rest of the work is usually fairly independent and flexible but really need time together to explain the activity/project and maybe work together.

    This is a fully non-smoking apartment - smoking a few blocks away is fine but not out the window/in backyard. As it's a small residential building, respect for the neighbors is important.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Native NYer of immigrant background so think you'll be exposed to what it is to really be living in this amazing city. I am a member of various museums, gardens and love to show people around.

  • Ajuda


    Spring cleaning and gardening time! Lots of project work to get my and my parent's garden ready for the spring/summer. Work will be a bit dirty, some of it heavy. Deep-cleaning of apartment, building gardening beds and self-watering containers, redoing furniture in apartment - picking up furniture from craigslisters etc.

    Ah, there's never enough time to get things done! Currently, looking for help with carpentry/handyperson type projects (help putting up shelves, some heavy lifting). I have some housework and some make-work items but I'm really looking for skilled help. If you've got a special skill that might be useful/interesting, please do let me know.

    Examples of projects:
    -- Adding hooks/shelves to kitchen and bathroom
    -- Deep-deep cleaning and organizing of apartment
    -- Help with elderly parents: gardening, organizing, companionship, running errands like grocery shopping, painting

    Some personal goals I'd love help with also
    -- practice swimming (I'm a beginner)
    -- practice bike riding
    -- Latin dancing, some kind of craft - learning in general

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    This is a railroad apartment, a peculiarly urban creation: one room leads to another. There are 2 entrances but the only way to get around the apartment is to walk through each other's space. I've had roommates before and this can be done with grace and respect quite easily. The bed is an airbed(s) and will be in the middle area of the apartment. There is visual privacy (via a very tall screen) but no sound privacy as the area is right next to the living area. That said, I'm the only one in apartment so retire to my room for evenings and mornings.

    I can host 2 people easily, more with a little juggling of airbeds and space. The front room sleeps two on twin airbeds that are raised off of the floor. It's a decent sized room for NYC and a privacy screen is available if needed. There is a clothing rack to hang clothes and we can put in a desk/shelves if needed.

    Notes: I do not have air conditioning and the apartment is an older NY building and all that entails. We are a fairly far distance from the nearest train station (3/4ths of a mile) but it's a pretty walk.

    Please note that I do not provide meals/food as I rarely eat at home. Please be prepared to fund/cook all of your meals, transportation and activities. I'll always have breakfast items stocked (coffee, toast,spreads, eggs, milk) and would be great to have one shared meal a week (I'm a reasonable non-veg cook and always leftovers for lunch next day). If it's spring, the garden should be producing some nice herbs and hopefully lettuces. The kitchen is fully stocked with oils, spices etc.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Have wifi, a big wifi-enabled tv (but no cable), stocked kitchen with basics. There is a bus that stops right in front of the apartment. The nearest train station is a .7 mile walk/5 minute bus ride. I'm near 2 lovely parks (McCarren and McGolrick). Plenty of parking within a 2 block radius (quite rare for NYC). It's a 40 commute to pretty much anywhere - Manhattan, Long Island City. Please remember you will be responsible for your own food and meals. I'll have the basics (coffee, bread, oil, spices) but not too much more.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 25 hours/week (flexible days)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 438795985791