Finish house improvements, gardening, and yard work, Arkansas, USA



Favorito 66 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Medalhas

  • Descrição


    Jeff and Nancy have been living in this house since 1996 and have been trying to fix it up and finish it ever since. Beginning as a small log cabin, it now consists of 2700 sf, much is finished, but much still needs to be completed, mostly the little annoying jobs, like painting, putting on baseboards, refinishing some floors, organizing the garage and making it more useful, etc.

    We have 8 raised beds outside where we are experimenting with Organic square-foot gardening, learning as we go. We appreciate any help with them from others who know more than we do. I also manage a 3000 sf garden at our church where we grow food for our soup kitchen. We always need help with that. It's a wonderful place to be and so full of lovely flowers.

    We are practicing Seventh-day Adventists with a love for the Lord and serve Him in all that we do and how we relate to others. We keep the seventh day as the Bible Sabbath from sundown Friday to sundown Saturday and do not work during those hours. We welcome people of all faiths into our home and do not expect anyone to believe as we do, but are more than willing to share information, as we love to learn of other peoples' faiths.

    Nancy is a Certified Health Coach focusing on prevention of and reversal of the diseases of Prime Timers (those in the second half of their lives). Jeff and Nancy are both certified Raw/Vegan Chefs, in health ministry reaching out to others through teaching a plant based lifestyle and natural remedies to prevent and reverse modern day diseases. We used to travel throughout the US putting on cooking schools, and have taught in other countries, also. Since we believe in staying as healthy as possible, we do not smoke or drink or do drugs. Because Jeff contracted MRSA in 2014 in his lower back, he is partially paralyzed and remains in a wheelchair, but he is able to do many things that he's taught himself to do while in the chair. He loves working in his woodshop, creating many items out of wood, and loves to share that love with others. He needs help with the tedious tasks around the house now as he is limited with his chair.

    We just finished renovating the front porch and decks, and will be painting the outside of the house, and fixing several projects that need another strong person to help him with. We have recently opened our upstairs to the online rental concept and have already been receiving guests.

    We have a very friendly Airdoodle dog, Shadow and another white and yellow lab mix, Sparky, who stay outside and love to walk around the mountain with me when I walk. It's a beautiful 3 mile walk with varying scenery, breathtaking in spots, and life enhancing with the fresh mountain air.

    Jeff and Nancy love being here and sharing their home with others. We want to complete all the unfinished jobs in our house to make it more saleable. We have a lot to offer with the house - 3 acres, a 10,000 gallon Koi pond, 180 degree view of beautiful Beaver Lake, quiet, secluded, tranquil, a dream getaway in a secluded area, yet close enough to nearby small cities to acquire our needs.

    We both want and need to learn more Spanish, so if you speak Spanish, we will enjoy learning from you.

    So contact us and come and share your life with ours. We love learning from others from various countries.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are willing to teach and share what we know in the line of health, cooking, food prep, gardening, community service, and lifestyle change information to anyone who is willing to learn.
    When you come to stay with us, you are our guest until the first meal, . . . then you are a part of our family and will be treated as such.

  • Ajuda


    Paint inside some rooms
    Outside trim work
    Install a ceiling under the back porch.
    Put up gutters
    Organize shop and garage
    Do some landscaping, especially around the pond area

  • Idiomas

    English: Fluente
    Spanish: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    We have 2 extra bedrooms upstairs - one with a queen bed, the other with a twin.
    There is a private bath with a shower upstairs for our guests.
    Guests would have access to our kitchen and laundry room.
    Since we prefer a plant-based lifestyle, we ask that no meat or dairy products be brought into the home.
    There is a hot tub available on the front deck with access to the moon and stars at night.
    We have quiet sitting areas on a bench by the koi pond and a swing on the front porch.
    There is a 3 mile walk around the mountain that is quite enjoyable.
    There is unlimited cable internet service.
    We also request no smoking, drugs or alcohol.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Volunteers who come will become part of our family and will be welcomed to come and go with us wherever we go. In your free time, there is much to do, depending on your likes. We are in an area close to many amazing State parks, hiking trails, bicycling paths an amazing American Museum of Indian Culture, and one of American art. Living on Beaver Lake opens the outdoors to swimming, skiing, boating, scuba diving and other water sports.

    Eureka Springs is 30 minutes away; Branson is 1 1/2 hrs away. There are caves to explore within a couple of hours, as well as ziplining in nearby areas, 1/2 -2 hours away. We have a bicycle that can be used for local rides. We will be glad to transport you to nearby stores or places as time allows.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    approximately 25

A resting place is at our 10,000 gallon Koi pond. So peaceful and relaxing to sit and watch the fish.
We are blessed to enjoy this sunset from our front porch often.
This is our home as you first see it coming up the drive
Family Room with large screen HDMI TV. Extra bedroom is behind door to left. The Garage is behind the back door.
Our Active Kitchen looking into the Front Entrance of the house
This is our Dining Room
This is our house in Winter. We don't get much snow normally but when we do, it's lovely and cozy
50 gallon fish tank built in the wall between the Family Room and the Laundry Room
Master Bath downstairs with dual shower head
Our very comfy Living Room
Our very active Kitchen
Some scenery around Beaver Lake

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 399124835889