Come to the heartland of America and enjoy a cultural exchange in Ohio, USA

Country

EUA

atualizado  

Favorito 123 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    26/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Come to the Heartland of America and enjoy a cultural exchange in Columbus, Ohio.

    In 2019, I spent 3 months in Europe as a Workaway volunteer and loved every minute! Now I’m home and want to offer a cultural exchange to international visitors. In addition, Americans exploring different regions of our country are welcome.

    I live in a quiet, pleasant neighborhood that is centrally located in the Columbus metropolitan area, with tree-lined streets, grass yards, and pretty gardens.

    Within a few steps of my home, there are cafés, restaurants, pizza shops, and various stores. The Ohio State University is within two miles.

    I have a bicycle available for visitors. There are some super greenways to explore. There are also some large parks for hiking, and I can provide transportation to those locations.

    A city bus comes within four blocks of my house. Columbus isn’t tops with regard to mass transit, but there are bikes and Ubers readily available to explore the city.

    Columbus is served by the John Glenn Columbus International Airport and by the Greyhound inter-city bus line as well as FlixBus and Miller Transportation

    The nearest train service is in Cincinnati, Cleveland, and Toledo, Ohio. There is a train that runs from New York City to Chicago, stopping in Cincinnati. Also, a train between Washington DC snd Chicago stops in Cleveland and Toledo. (All of these cities are about 2 hours away from Columbus by car, and you can take a bus from there.)

    At present, most museums are open. The Franklin Park Conservatory has been popular with Workaway visitors. When I know more about your interests, I can help design some cultural experiences for you.

    My background?
    I was a high school teacher for a number of years, and then I went to law school. As an attorney, I worked for state and federal courts and a large law firm. Now I’m retired.

    Currently I work as a writing coach for local college students, helping them write papers and dissertations. I also did free-lance work as a private cook before the pandemic.

    I have a garden and grow vegetables and flowers, and have apple trees — so there’s lots of outdoor work from March through October, when the weather is warm.

    The winter weather, I’m sorry to say, often involves grey skies and cold rain, and we also have snowy days.

    I look forward to discussing the possibilities with you!

    What about Covid:?
    I have received my COVID vaccine and 2 boosters. All Workaway volunteers must establish full vaccination.

    If I request a Covid test, I will pay for it.

    As of October 2022, a few public places are requiring masks, but it is voluntary at most places.

    Note: Before making an offer to host you, I would need to see a copy of your passport and vaccination certificate.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Close to my home is The Ohio State University, one of the 3 largest universities in the U.S. The University offers music events and cultural events.

    There are many cafés, bistros, art galleries, sports venues, theaters, and museums, as well as venues for contemporary and classical music.

    I am a tour guide at the Ohio Supreme Court and would enjoy showing it to you and explaining about our government and law, and the art in the building, if that would interest you.

    I can help you with learning English. I work part-time as an ESL teacher and writing coach for university students.

    In addition, Columbus is close to Native American landmarks, such as The Great Serpent Mound, which has been designated a National Historic Landmark. There are other Native American sites if you are interested.

    Two Workawayers have visited Hocking Hills and enjoyed hiking to Old Man’s Cave, Cedar Falls, and Ash Cave.

    Three have requested the Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Gardens.

    Two volunteers were very interested in shopping for shoes, Levi’s jeans, and designer handbags at Easton Town Center and at the outlet malls.

    Two volunteers in 2022 enjoyed baseball games — cheering for the Columbus Clippers. Their first ever American baseball game!

    Let me know what kinds of things interest you 😎

    Note: I’ll provide transportation and costs for 1 cultural activity every week — museum, park, music performance, trip to factory outlet, restaurant, and so forth. But you can explore the local area fully during your free hours!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I would love to have help with things such as

    (1) Gardening and yard work

    (2) Household help such as sweeping, doing dishes, and laundry.

    (3) Clerical work, such as sorting and scanning documents.

    * * The typical day is usually like this:

    Breakfast at about 8:30 a.m.

    Then help tidy the kitchen, including emptying the dishwasher, loading it again, sweeping, etc.

    9:30 a.m. - To the gym for about an hour (not every day). My membership allows me to bring one guest free. You’ll need to show ID.
    [Or work on a project at the house.]

    11:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. - Work on a project in the garden or house.

    Lunch

    1:00 to 2:30 pm. Finish project.

    About 2:30 pm to end of day:
    Free time.

    (If you are here for dinner, then you’ll help prepare dinner and clean up after dinner.)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I’m an expert in English, having taught English literature, published papers in journals, and edited journals. I’m working to learn more French, and I have learned a few phrases in Italian, Spanish, and Korean! One of my Workaway volunteers started to teach me Spanish. 😀

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    A private room and private bath on
    the second floor (the “first” floor in Europe).

    I’ll provide food for 3 meals a day but will let you prepare your own breakfast and lunch.

    For breakfast, I’ll provide foods such as bread, butter, jam, eggs, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, milk, juice, and cereals, for you to prepare your own meal. As for lunch, there will be bread, cheese, sandwich fillings, soup ingredients, pasta, rice, fruits, etc.
    A recent volunteer liked avocados, tomatoes and ham for breakfast or lunch, so I bought those items for her.

    With regard to dinner, we’ll both participate in preparing it. If you like to cook, you can take charge of some dinners!

    Food Restrictions: I can accommodate some food preferences but not all.

    For example, if you need a specific product such as non-dairy milk, tofu, or wheat-free bread, there is a store within one block where you can purchase these items.

    Recently, I hosted a vegan visitor who also refrains from gluten and all sugars. Although my meals are plant-forward and I use very little sugar, this was a challenge. In the future, I recommend that visitors with similar dietary preferences should probably focus on other hosts.

    The wi-fi in the house is usually good, and if we are in the car, I can usually create a “hot spot” on my phone for you to access wi-fi. You are welcome to use the subscriptions to Prime Video, Netflix, and Rakuten Viki.

    🌸

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    (This is a no-smoking location. Smoking is not permitted anywhere on the property.)

    While here, it may be required to wear a mask in some settings. Restrictions have changed and are not strict at present (Oct. 2022). But it’s always required to wash hands properly when cooking, emptying the dishwasher and so forth.

    NOTE: I almost never invite volunteers who have no reviews on this site from previous hosts. But it happened once — Virginie from Strasbourg. For a no-reviews volunteer to be considered, I would need to have reliable background information and references.

    Also, it is difficult to host 2 volunteers at the same time.
    Providing work, materials, and supervision for 1 volunteer for 5 hours per day takes a lot of planning and attention. I’m not sure I can provide 10 hours of work per day — except in April or May in the garden.

    But I am open to two visitors at the same time. We can figure something out. 😎

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I replaced the modem and router in 2021, so the wi-fi should be good.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 25 per week, average 5 hours per day. Two consecutive full days off, free. If you prepare your own meals separately from supplies I provide, that time is not part of your volunteer hours. But if we prepare a meal together, we will count that time.

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (5.0)









Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 349345239263