1 / 5

Help with childminding of our two young boys in a stunning mountain location in Nelson, BC, Canada

  • Canadá
  • Favorito 14 vezes
  • Última atividade: 15 out. 2022



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas



  • Descrição


    Dear future Workawayer,

    We are a family of 4 - Mom Heather, Dad John and our 2 year old toddler Theo and 2 month old son Remy (born March 2021). We are looking for an au pair ideally for July, September and October 2021. We are flexible and would be open to someone wanting to start earlier or stay on longer. We will be away in August and a house sitting / garden sitting option might be possible for the right au pair. We had an au pair for a few months prior to Covid and LOVED the experience.

    We are originally from eastern Canada (Montreal and Toronto) and for the past few years have been living in beautiful Nelson, British Columbia. It is a small "city" of about 15,000 people located on Kootenay Lake in a mountain setting. Nelson has all the amenities one needs and is known for its art and cultural scene, as well being an outdoor adventure destination.

    We are an active family that loves being outdoors. In the winter we enjoy nordic (cross country) skiing, which we can do out our front door. We also downhill and backcountry ski, ice skate and play hockey. In the summers we love to mountain bike and road cycle, as well as hike, kayak, canoe, play tennis and swim! We are looking for an au pair who wants to join us on family adventures and help entertain our boys.

    When public health recommendations allow, we also enjoy travelling (often times with our bicycles!) and there may be an opportunity for the right au pair to join us on such an adventure.

    We enjoy living a balanced lifestyle between work and play, and making the most of being in the mountains. We are a laid back couple that enjoys cooking at home, fine coffee, reading and socializing with friends (when public health recommendations allow) and being active. Although we have a TV, we don't often use it, and prefer listening to music. Our food tastes range from vegetarian to BBQ and various cuisines, and homemade soups and baked goods.

    Heather works at the nearby hospital, and is "on call" 24 hours a day several days a month. John runs his own cycling business and works at the local college part time.

    We generally speak English at home. Heather also speaks French and speaks to Theo and Remy in French whenever possible. Pouvoir parler francais serait un atout mais pas obligatoire.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We can offer you the opportunity to live in a unique mountain town and life a mountain lifestyle with our family.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We are looking for an au pair who is keen to live a mountain lifestyle and open to a flexible schedule. You must feel comfortable taking care of an infant and be responsible and reliable.

    Tasks include:
    - Looking after Theo (toddler) when he is not in morning day care and during afternoons and the occasional evening and weekend, especially on the days Heather is on call
    - Looking after Remy (infant) during the days when John and Heather are working
    - We would expect you to help out with the various tasks that we do on a regular basis as well including: helping to prepare meals a few times each week, helping in our garden where we grow vegetables and fruits and helping with dishes, laundry and general tidying around the house

    As working hours and times would change weekly we would create weekly schedules. You may work more on some days (when Heather is on call and John is working) and less on other days. An average a week of work would not exceed 25 hours and you would have two days off a week, although they might not always be weekend days. On your days off your time will be yours . We are looking for someone to be around and watch Theo and Remy when we cannot but also fully encourage you to partake in your own interests and activities during the days and evenings when you're free. More than anything we want you to feel comfortable in our home.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Heather is fluent in English and French, my partner is fluent in English and is working on improving his French. We try to speak to our boys in French as much as possible and would love to have more French spoken with them! I (Heather) would be happy to improve my Spanish or learn the basics of any language!

  • Acomodação


    We can offer room and board as well as some spending money. You would have your own large private bedroom with queen size bed and a private bathroom in our welcoming suite in the basement. The space looks out to the garden and surrounding mountains. Our home is 8 blocks uphill from the main street of downtown Nelson (about 150m up!). The suite has a kitchenette as well. You are welcome to join us for meals but can also feel that you have your space.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are lots of outdoor activities to enjoy in Nelson and the surrounding area. If you have any questions, just ask! Note that Nelson is fairly remote, about halfway between Vancouver and Calgary, and with limited transportation (no bus, train or nearby airport). Travel is restricted to cars and ride shares. It can be a challenge to get to and from Nelson (although we would help you do so for your stay with us) so expect that, unless you have your own car, travelling beyond Nelson is difficult.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We do have on street parking available. The street is quite steep however!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Variable hours, no more than 25 hours per week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 348387512997