Help to restore the indigenous forest of the Serra da Estrela National Park, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favorito 50 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    23/04/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Helping with our new farm house from 1850 and national park.

    I’m Tom and my partner name’s Hayley from England and fell in love with the village of Sandomil and whole the Natural Park that is in the highest and most beautiful mountain of continental Portugal, the Serra da Estrela.
    We recently bought the Quinta and other piece of land that we call “O Vale” (The valley). Surprised by a house full of history built in 1850 and the beautiful National Park.

    The family has now grown to include Catarina and João, two portuguese who have been compelled with our projects and of course, Sandomil, Nuno our eccentric and all around permaculture guru as our head of permaculture and Sebastiann, a very charismatic and dedicated Dutchman, who works on the national park projects.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    During your stay you will have the opportunity to interact with so many different cultures and traditions from Portugal and the local communities as well as the influences our family have from England, Holland, France. The project will give you experience in the following areas;

    National Park Woodland Management
    Permaculture
    Wood Work
    Creative Event Production
    Events Management
    Tourism
    Wild Foods and Harvesting

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    2020/21 Winter Project - National Park Re-Wilding and a Wooden Area Build

    Our Challenge:

    4 years ago in Portugal over 60% of the country burned and our home in the Serra da Estrela Mountains was no exception. Both O Vale and the Quinta were both affected by the fires and now like a lot of the national park efforts are required to restore the indigenous trees which have been taken over by faster growing Mimosas in the last 4 years all the while making the most use out of the Mimosas as possible.

    Mimosas are very fast growing, in abundance and we need to reduce their footprint on the land to allow for other tree growth, they are flexible when young and green but become brittle when dried, so we have come up with a host of uses they will be great for and if treated properly and kept relatively dry last for 4-5 seasons.

    Our Plan:

    Mimosas of all sizes are needed, as areas are completely cleared over 1000 harvested seeds from autumn will be planted. The Mimosas then need processing by striping small branches and splitting them up into categories.

    We will then be building the following from the materials and storing them in our storage space, for future use at our both lands.

    150 meters plus of weaved screens (2 meter by 3 meter panels)

    elaborate entrance way

    100 plus upright posts for screens and lighting poles

    small decorative structures & enclosures

    Dreamcatchers of multiple sizes

    Other ideas are welcome


    Secondary Work:

    The Farm Garden and Food Harvesting/Preparation
    Old furniture repair/restoration
    It seems this is not much, but being just few hands with the amount of work we have right now sharing time for business management and/or rebuilding century-old house and starting a poly-tunnel garden, we must say some help would be perfect.
    This kind of work will take us years until it’s complete, but step by step we will get there.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Português: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will be staying in either a private room in the main farmhouse where you will have access to the bathroom, kitchen, living room with fireplace and all the space of the farmhouse to explore. We provide the necessities for the bed, such as sheets, pillows and blankets, towels.

    We ask for a 5 hours a day , 5 days a week.
    We provide accomodation, 1 cooked meal a day, and provisions for the rest of the main meals.

    We also have plenty of places to camp and park vans, but if that's your preference you will have to bring your own tent. you will still be able to use the kitchen and bathrooms, and we can still provide necessities for the bed.
    The kitchen will be at your disposal whenever you need, there you will find everything you need to store or cook. During your stay, we will provide a cooked meal, but we will always have supplies so you can cook the other meals.
    Our diet is varied, we are vegetarian and not vegetarian, so there will be options for both.

    We want and will provide a culture exchange in the kitchen with you. So there will be days when you will be cooking.
    And don’t forget that you will be in one of the most diverse gastronomies in the world.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Sandomil nearests towns, Oliveira do Hospital and Seia are 15 /20 minutes away by car, where larger super markets are located, but for small things, there is a small grocery shop in the middle of the village. There are bus stations where you can take the bus to Coimbra, Guarda or Viseu, the nearest big cities, around 1 hour by bus or car.
    If you want to stay closer to the village, you will have a good time also. Usually at the weekends we go visit some place, or light up the barbecue and put some music on the event site or in the farm, spend some time at the local river open bar all together.

    Helpers will be in a place surrounded by nature and tracks to explore and rivers to see.

    It is a magic place.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Any type of campervan can park at our place. The bathroom and kitchen still will be available for use, or any other kind of necessity.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 338161482578