Help with a number of outstanding projects around our place in Polis Chrysochous, Cyprus



Favorito 172 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    82.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

  • Descrição


    Despite of being one of the older profiles all is pretty much still valid as of today 18.May 2022

    65 years of world travelling with a German PP & now living in sunny Cyprus close to Polis Chrysochous (about 7km away from the coast) at the northwestern part of this beautiful island. The area is best described as rural but the " European Cultural Capital of 2017 " Paphos is only a 33-minute bus drive away.
    There is also a car & the odd bike available for those competent to operate heavy machinery ;-)

    Please carefully read below where GARDENING is mentioned !!! I noticed that gardening is pretty much on anybody's "skill" list but now I need someone who actually enjoys "working" in the garden and has an interest in planting stuff.
    So please do mention in your initial message that you are actually in tune with nature and will be able to maintain the garden mostly on your own initiative (!)
    Those who are challenged to work in the garden should bring something else to the party....... if you have woodworking and or technical skills then those skills are most welcome as well. Also there still is the Land Rover Defender (1990 with 300 Tdi engine) "project" in need of rewiring . So if you are a car mechanic then I so much appreciate your valuable input :-))

    There are 2 dogs living with me and I have tried to teach them how to feed the chicken & look after the irrigation
    B U T that was only with very limited success ;)
    Therefore the ideal volunteer should be able to handle Lilly (female Staffie) & Lino (English Springer) and also survive on her/his own for a day or two if needed.

    The nearest International Airport is located close to Paphos (our District) but there are far more flights to Lanarca Int. Airport. I can arrange to pick you up from Paphos but would ask any potential visitor to take the Airport shuttle from Larnaca to Paphos if needed.

    I don´t usually drink alcohol but do n o t care if someone enjoys the occasional glass of wine or beer.
    I just don´t accept intoxicated people and must please insist on a strictly "Non-Smoking Policy " in and near to the house. Thank You for your kind understanding.

    I mostly eat pretty irregularly with no set meal times throughout the day.
    Also, I'm not strictly vegetarian but most of the time I enjoy a fruit-based breakfast and have salad & veggies during the day. I'm almost completely off meat & fish but have chicken who deliver eggs at times :)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The more philosophical approach " ... in a world deluged by irrelevant information , clarity is power. In theory, anybody can join the debate about the future of humanity, but it is so hard to maintain a clear vision .
    Frequently, we don't even notice that a debate is going on , or what the key questions are.
    Billions of us can hardly afford the luxury of investigating, because we have more pressing things to do:
    we have to go to work, take care of the kids or look after elderly parents.
    Unfortunately , history gives no discounts.
    IF the future of humanity is decided in you absence, because you are too busy working & consuming you will not be exempt from the consequences !!! "
    So if this almost quote from Yuval Noah Harari " speaks " to you then we can can have hours of fruitful discussions on how we all can contribute to make this fu world a bit better in little steps and day by day ......
    Well, U are here and so there is hope :-)

    The more practical approach ..........
    There is a lot to learn with a number of outstanding projects including general maintenance , organic gardening, Irrigation systems plus bike & car service

  • Ajuda


    Gardening !!! By that, I mean that you should be happy to work in the garden with an eye for what is an edible plant and what one might call weeds ;-) Independent work with an actual interest in planting and caring would be highly appreciated !!! There is an irrigation " system " which needs to be optimized, to say the least ........

    If gardening is really not your thing then, please think this offer over as it would be frustrating for both sides. HOWEVER,
    as mentioned above Housekeeping ,woodworking, building maintenance , painting and/or other technical skills are appreciated as well!

    Then there are the dogs ...... really fine creatures but in need of a firm hand as they take advantage of any weakness and clear your plate before you can ;-) No, they have their own quarters in the yard but need a walk of course. So it's playtime in the morning (as it's way to hot during the day) and usually a walk in the evening.

    Lastly, it's worth mentioning that I might need to travel at times so the ideal candidate should be able (and happy) to stay here on her / his own for a couple of days. Of course, this would only happen after a familiarization period and ONLY if you are absolutely OK with it !!!

    So after reading all the above and some serious consideration at your end please feel free to contact me B U T please be kinda specific in what you see yourself doing here ;-0)
    Please do not just write " like your profile " be just a bit more precise and we will answer within 22 hours 17 Minutes the latest..........

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Greek: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    1 (one) bedroom with same level toilet & outside shower. There is an "outside" kitchen but well sheltered from the elements.
    There is a small but well equipped gym and as latest addition a wood stove fired sauna for the colder month.
    There is unlimited (but at times unstable) I-net access throughout the property.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The sea is not at our doorstep but near by. Diving and snorkeling gear is available for anyone qualified and of course there is a chance to learn diving as well. Motor & push bikes are available. The Akamas peninsula is truly one of the nicest areas in Cyprus & cycling or off-road biking is much fun at any time during the year.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Fast reliable 24/7 WiFi

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 326523433298